We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hike, wonderful views.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sul Sentiero degli Dei

Sul Sentiero degli Dei
84010 Praiano, Italy
39 339-1718194
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Attractions in Praiano
Type: Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Hiking Trails, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Trails, Tours, Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Attraction Details
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hike, wonderful views.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We hiked this trail from Praiano. Yes we climbed the 1,900+ stairs to reach the path. But what took us about 1 and half hours to hike would have been spent on the bus to Bomerano if we chose to start there. We hired a guide named Maurizio who was fantastic at talking about the area, wild flowers, the Church/monastery. His explanations and talking kept our minds off of the challenge ahead of us, hiking the stairs and trail that follows. Once we reached the Sentiero degli dei (Path of the Gods), the trail was relatively easy. We were glad we chose the challenge to hike the stairs. We were a little reluctant at first since we're in our mid 50's and in average shape, but it all worked out.

At the end of the hike in Nocelle, we had a pasta lunch in a nice little cafe with a great view.

We took the local bus to Positano center and changed to the Praiano bus there to get back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    26
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING, JUST DO IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Am always surprised as the sometimes misleading reviews on trip adviser, the way some people were carrying on about the walk really had my girlfriend worried as she only had a pair of Doc Martin boots and some of the reviews will lead you to think you'd fall off the cliff and die if you don't have the right gear.

I wouldn't say there is anything particularly dangerous about the walk, people who are grossly overweight or unfit should probably steer clear but aside from that it is fine.

I myself am not in the best shape, and whilst I was certainly out of breath at times, it really wasn't that much of a challenge and I would do it again in a heartbeat.

I probably wouldn't recommend this to anyone who has vertigo, a fear of heights or who suffers from asthma or any kind of heart condition.

We saw lots of people who appeared in there 50's and 60's, but again, I would only recommend it for that age group if you're relatively fit.

The walk itself is absolutely stunning, probably the best thing we've done so far in our 7 days in Italy.

You will see unrivalled views of the Amalfi coastline and mountains and also see some amazing history with the churches built up in the mountains with frescoes dating back 900 odd years.

Our guide Maurizio also was the main reason we had such a wonderful day, he walked at a fantastic pace, always stopping to point out certain plants, buildings or things of significance and has a wonderful knowledge of the area considering he grew up here and obviously still lives in the region.

He stayed with us for basically the entire day, took us to a wonderful restaurant and we were also lucky enough to meet his wonderful Father.

We also got to try local figs and grapes which were a delight.

You may also see some goats on the trek which was quite cool.

Again, don't be put off by some of the reviews making this out to be terrifying and super challenging.

I understand everyone has different limits and opinions but I would say anyone from ages 13-60 could do this if they are in the right condition and want to see some of the most spectacular views around.

Don't stress about shoes like my girlfriend did, I wore my casual sneakers (just average skateboard shoes) and after doing the walk my girlfriend mentioned that she probably could have done the walk in just her flats that she was scared about wearing in the first place.

10/10 experience.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“WOW!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

You wont find many paths with views better than these, not just in the Amalfi coast but all around the world, they are breathtaking!
Like written before you set out from Praiano escalating through numerous steps ( about one hour of climbing) through amazing hillside scenery and one local church ( with an amzing balcony viewing the coast) until you pick up the main trail that leads to Nocelle.
The walk is along the cliffs with 100% panoramic views all of the way ( don't change the camera to off mode- its a waste of time) so I would advise to set out on a sunny day as the sun reflects beautifuly on the Mediterranean sea.
Once reaching Nocelle don't make the mistake of walking down the stairs ( through their local church) towards the shore. instead keep straight on the path that crosses Nocelle ( passing by a small restaurant) towards the next town Montepertuso. Soon enough the trail unites with a paved road as you decline towards Montepertuso.
After you cross most of the town just before reaching a small garage on your right there is a small stairway leading al the way down to Positano ( try not to miss it, if you do you will have to walk along the paved road all the way down, which is a longer and less scenic route )
The stair path down to Positano is surely one of the highlights of this daily path because of the amazing scenery on Postiano and its bay
To round things up, This is a PERFECT way to have a "taste" of what the Amalfi coast is all about, truly a must!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkby Lonsdale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Do the dingly dell walk!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This walk is everything it is cracked up to be. Outstanding views and a great day out. Go from Bomerano to Positano if you want but a more challenging variation is from Praiano via the Santa Maria Convent (the guardian can provide drinks and snacks for a donation) and picking up the main trail at Col de Serra (go all the way up to the Col and take the higher path, not the lower variation). If your knees can make it, it is then worth walking all the way down into Positano although opt outs are possible using local buses at Nocello or Montepertuso.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We walked from Praiano to Positano? Everyone talks about the 1,000 steps up to the church. Tjey were not too hard as the were fairly evenly spaced. The walks around the hillsides were spectacular with fresh figs and grapes to graze on as you went.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sul Sentiero degli Dei also viewed

 

Been to Sul Sentiero degli Dei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sul Sentiero degli Dei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.