We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sul Sentiero degli Dei

Sul Sentiero degli Dei
84010 Praiano, Italy
39 339-1718194
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 Attractions in Praiano
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Hiking Trails, Trails, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Historic Walking Areas, Nature & Parks, Outdoor Activities, Sightseeing Tours, Sights & Landmarks
Attraction details
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We walked from Praiano to Positano? Everyone talks about the 1,000 steps up to the church. Tjey were not too hard as the were fairly evenly spaced. The walks around the hillsides were spectacular with fresh figs and grapes to graze on as you went.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    28
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved this hike!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hike was fantastic! We started in Bomerano and then when we reached nocelle we took the stairs down to positano. If you take the stairs, once you reach the bottom you will have to walk on the very narrow road to get to positano. It was a little nerve racking because I just wasn't expecting that. I guess there's a bus in nocelle that can take you to positano.

When you start the hike there is a tiny dirt turn off that winds up to a little bridge and that is actually where the hike starts. Luckily we ran into some nice Australians who had a great guide book or my friend and I might still lost in the mountains :-) Beautiful views the whole way. I highly recommend this hike...especially after eating gelato after lunch and dinner everyday :-)

It took us just a little over 3hrs but we also stopped a ton to take pics!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Best hiking ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I have walked many many miles but this is the best track so far. We made the true walk from Bomerano to Positano and loved every feet... Amazing and breathtaking views all the way!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The walk is certainly not for the unfit, there are thousands of steps to get the top of the track, where you begin the walk to Positano. You move along the ridges at between 500 and 600 mtrs altitude. Take food and water with you, my wife and I took 4 litres of water and some snack food. It is hot and sweaty work along parts of the climbs especially.You see some traditional farm workers along the way, and may be lucky enough to hear some goats and their bells, even further up the cliffs. You will eventually get to a little town called Nocelle, where apparently there is a cafe. From here you can walk down the steps to the road leading to Positano, 1700 steps, or a bus if you are worn out. If you walk from Praiano and go all the way to Positano on foot I think the distance is around 10klm according to my GPS. Easy to get bus back to Praiano from there. It is a hard walk ( at times ) but the view is worth it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
147 attraction reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
368 helpful votes 368 helpful votes
“Amazing Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Sentiero degli Dei is one of the most beautiful hikes I've been on - the views are simply sensational, it's almost overwhelming.
If you choose to do the entire thing (between Positano and Agerola), it is about 12 km, and usually takes about 4-5 hours, but there is also ways to do only parts of the trail if you don't want to do the entire thing. I will describe below the two ways of doing the full hike and one way of doing part of the hike. We are a couple in our early 30s and don't work our on a regular basis, and this hike was fairly easy for us (aside from climbing all the steps, but if you go slowly enough, it's not a big deal)

1. Starting in Agerola (Bomerano) and ending in Positano (Nocelle)
This seems to be the preferred way of doing the entire hike because you avoid the 2000 steps climb required if starting from Positano or Praiano (for the half), and because you're walking in the opposite direction, it's mostly downhill. This is the way we were going to do the hike, and had planned to take the bus to Amalfi and then a different one to Agerola (we were staying in Praiano), but we didn't realize how much of a hassle it would have been to do this. It would have taken us 2 hours to get to Agerola from Praiano by bus. A taxi would have cost at least 40 euros, and even though we had a car, we still would have had to come back by bus to get the car. The lady at our hotel told us that the part of the hike between Agerola and Praiano is mostly mountainous and that the best views are on the part of the hike between Praiano and Positano.
She suggested that it is also possible to walk from Positano to Agerola, by taking all the stairs up and then taking the trail to Agerola and then back to Positano, which would have made the trek double in time. So, we decided to only do the part between Praiano and Positano (described below). I cannot comment on the state/difficulty of the trail between Praiano and Agerola aside from what we were told at the hotel.

2. Starting in Nocelle and ending in Bomerano
This is the usual way of starting the hike, and it's mostly uphill in this direction, although there are parts where the path goes up and down. Starting in Nocelle requires that you climb the 2000 steps up to the start of the hike in Nocelle, or it is apparently possible to take the bus from Positano.

3. Starting in Positano and ending in Praiano/Nocelle
This stretch of the hike is about 6km long, but it requires that you climb up from Positano to reach the trail (about 2000 steps). Since we were staying in Praiano, and for the reasons described above, we decided to do this one. The nice thing about starting in Praiano is that the initial part of the climb is people-free and very quiet. At about 1500 steps, there is a convent - Santuorio Santo Domingo. Here, it is possible to stop and rest, have a lemon juice from the convent's lemon groves, and some fresh figs. We didn't expect to stop here, but the nice man from the convent invited us in, and served us the most delicious lemon juice and the sweetest figs. Not to mention the views were incredible. Although the lemon juice cost 2.5 euro, he didn't have change for our 50, so we ended up only paying 1.5 euro in the change we had, and he was ok with that.
From the convent, it's only another 10 min climb up to the trail itself. Once on the trail, head left toward Positano. The trail is fairly easy, mostly gravel with some rocky parts and mostly going down hill, aside from a few valleys. Small parts of the trail on this side go through a forest, which was a nice welcome to take some shade from the sun.
On the way you'll see wild rosemary and dill, and all sorts of wild flowers and abandoned houses. The views are spectacular.
Once you reach Nocelle, you can walk about a bit - it's a tiny place. If you're hungry, there is a really nice restaurant Santa Croce. From Nocelle, apparently it's possible to take the bus down to Positano, but we couldn't find the bus station, so we just started the descent down 2000 steps to the main road. This was a bit hard on the knees so we took a few breaks. Once you get to the main road, you are now about 15 min walk from Positano centre where you can buy a refreshment or a bus ticket to take you back to your hotel. In retrospect, we should have bought our bus tickets before, so we didn't have to walk to Positano to get them, and could have just waited along the road at one of the bus stops for a bus back to Praiano. One other thing we thought of after the fact was bringing our bathing suits and just going for a dip in Positano right after the hike! The water looked so inviting after all that walking and sweating.
From the first step in Positano to the last step down to Praiano, with 2 rests, it took us about 4 hours.
Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sul Sentiero degli Dei also viewed

 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Sul Sentiero degli Dei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sul Sentiero degli Dei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.