We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but that was it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alfonso a Mare

Save Saved
You added Hotel Alfonso a Mare to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Alfonso a Mare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Marina di Praia 6 | Spiaggia della Praia, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 20 hotels in Praiano
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location but that was it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Poor value for money but quiet, clean and right on the water. Disappointed at first that we did not have a room near the front of the hotel with a view or balcony but thankful later as there were big outdoor renovations going on with concrete cutters etc (obviously they don't warn you of this when you book - can't they do the renovations in winter when there are fewer guests?).

The room was ok but we expected more for the price.

Although the service was great, we were pretty disappointed with the food at the restaurant - Pepe does his best but we think Pepe would benefit from some training as the food was a bit tasteless and way overpriced for the quality (although we did not try the seafood that other reviewers have raved about because we were put off by our first meal and dined elsewhere the rest of our stay).

Buffet breakfast was poor - no fresh fruit, I think the orange juice was actually cordial, no cereal on offer and when we asked for some they got imitation cornflakes which were awful and we ended up buying our own. Croissants were freshly baked, though, and very delicious (although by this time we were so sick of and fat from croissants we just wanted nutritious food).
Most disappointing, because I didn't think the Italians could possibly get it wrong, was the coffee they served with breakfast.

But, if you are looking for somewhere close to the water and quiet then this is it - you should just dine at the other restaurants in the area and don't expect anything fancy from the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    16
    7
    6
    6
See reviews for
9
28
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights in Amalfi prior and the reason for booking te next two nights at alfonso a mare was because of the quiet location in between positano and Amalfi.
With a small beach just seconds away from the room. You really don't need anything else. The bus picks you up on top of a very steep driveway and will take you both directions to Amalfi or Sorrento and positano. We walked to praiano to see what was there and to be honest don't waste your time because its just a Main Street and the restaurant opposite the hotel is beautiful (petit bare mare). Catch the bus to positano if you want it's beautiful.
You can walk around the cliff face to a few more restaurants that have the best view. And it's good to watch the boats come in as the small dock is just outside the hotel.
I'm only 20 years old so it's for young people looking to relax before we head to Ibiza .
The best thing is that it's a family owned business and the rooms are immaculate and spacious, bed very comfy and good water pressure from the shower, rooms have aircon as well.
Only down side is that it was time to leave :(
If you get the bus to the hotel make sure you get off just before praiano.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This is not what we expected for the steep 207 euro's a night after travelling staying in hotels and b&b's half the price for nearly a month. The sea view from the room is very good and Sophia, the big guy serving breakfast and the mother tried but the overall service was patchy at best.
When for instance we asked for some fresh fruit (the breakfast is very basic, the girl at reception referred to it as an 'Italian breakfast' and the hotel being '3star' when we addressed this) or anything else it is a mystery what will show up on your final bill. In any other place you are asked to sign the 'conto' to avoid misunderstandings or worse when the final bill arrives. Furthermore we had to ask for clean bed linen and towels and when we asked if there was a laundry service we were given a vegetable tray from the kitchen to do some laundry instead of a bucket. It was a big contrast with any of the other places we've stayed before and the view really didn't make up for it. The first night we tried the restaurant but the food was quite disappointing and the rest of our stay we had dinner in neighbouring restaurants (there are some nice ones around). We don't expect everyone to smile the whole time, but the foul moods of the owner (6 days in row!), the blond girl at reception and the 'salvataggio' were impossible to ignore. A simple 'Bon giorno' in the morning goes a long way, especially with these room rates. Had we known all this we definitely wouldn't have booked six nights here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

After a lot of searching for the perfect hotel in a picturesque location we found hotel alfonso a mare, we read a couple of okish reviews on t/a and a couple of negative ones but we thought we would take a chance and book it anyway and thank goodness we did, we stay in a lot of hotels with work and we are always on the go, so we arrived at the hotel in need of a relaxing break, it certainly did not disappoint. The locations is absolutely fabulous with the beach just outside the door, the staff were friendly and professional and nothing was too much trouble, they even packed us a breakfast as we left early for our flight. The seafood in the restaraunt is fantastic and fresh and comes in very large portions! The rooms are spacious, very clean and well maintained. If you are looking for the perfect hotel in an amazing location make sure you book this hotel! Brilliant!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

It was a pleasure each night and morning to enjoy a little of the Amalfi as it must have once been. Fishing boats coming and going into a glorious little cove with stunningly clear sea. The hotel is simply furnished and all the better for it. The family who run it get on with their own lives and are there to help but do not pander which I liked-it had a genuine feel. The price was very reasonable and our particular rooms very good. If you want to be fawned over and be with the pack go elsewhere-but if you want to be charmed by a glimpse of an earlier , more simple era in a stunning location then this is the spot.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I booked last second this hotel and honestly I did not expect looking to the website to find such a nice place. The location is simply amazing if you are looking for something sorrounded by the nature, simple and quite authentic. The hotel is at sea level, the restaurant hall is basically on the beach and from the rooms you can hear the waves. The building itself is nothing special but the location is superb. On top the restaurant is outstandig (Pls try scialatielli and paccheri with tuna).

Room Tip: Ask for a front room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was a last minute reservation and about the last hotel on the Amalfi coast in our budget but boy did we hit the jackpot.
Joseph our waiter/guest relations man greeted us on arrival and helped us with our ridiculous quantities of luggage (2 girls on a 6 week trip have these issues). We then proceeded to the restaurant for a well earnt vino bianco after our extremely stressful drive along the Amalfi coast.... definitely not for the faint hearted. We enjoyed some delicious mussels and breads with out wine then headed for a mid dinner swim. On our return we had our mains and Joseph made us some delicious Strawberry daiquiris. A brilliant start to our stay, the private beach is gorgeous day and night but be aware if you want to sunbath hit the beach early as the hotel is in a wee cove which looses the sun quite early in the afternoon. That evening Joseph was our trusty guide and took us to Africans the cave bar just a short walk from the hotel. We had a brilliant night partying in this wicked spot. During the day the Sophia organised us a trip to the Isle of Capri after we searched high and low because all of the trips were booked out (the joys of travelling Italy in August). During our second day we ventured down the Positano for the evening, the bus was a tiny bit late but thats understandable when you see the roads on the Amalfi Coast and it was a great way to see some different sights along the way, beware when in Positano that the food in the beach front restaurants is well over priced, but definitely a gorgeous place to visit. On our third night we wanted to venture out and try a different restaurant so we were sent across a wee bridge to Salvadors.... and it was an absolute culinary delight. We loved this spot in Praiano sooooooo much that we stayed an extra night, unfortunately we only made it to breakfast once but it was delicious with lots of variety. The rooms had brilliant air conditioning and were quite spacious and clean, our room did lack a view but we were only in our room to sleep so it didn't bother us at all.
Overall an amazing experience with fantastic hospitality! Hope I get back there one day :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Alfonso a Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alfonso a Mare

Also Known As:
Alfonso a Mare Praiano
Hotel Alfonso a Mare Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Address: Via Marina di Praia 6 | Spiaggia della Praia, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#15 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alfonso a Mare 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel "Alfonso a Mare" is situated in Praiano in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, one of the most beautiful and characteristic small bays of the area, the picturesque beach of "Praia", an ancient fishing village. Just 7 km from Amalfi and Positano, a few steps from the crystal clear sea. The hotel's spacious, light-filled bedrooms are all stylishly furnished in typical Mediterranean fashion and feature the area's beautiful majolica floor tiles. A number of rooms lead out on to a small terrace overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Alfonso a Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alfonso a Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.