We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Angelina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Angelina to your Saves list
Casa Angelina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via G Capriglione 147, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Casa Angelina's location is pretty unbeatable - there is a low house in between the hotel and the cliff drop but this doesn't spoil the view of the coastline. The hotel is modern and as other reviewers have pointed out very white (there are even 'paint men' who patrol the building in case a smudge appears on a wall!) The pool is relatively small but thankfully this is one of those hotels where the clientele don't feel the need to 'claim' sun loungers by leaving their books to sun bathe (I'm always tempted to cover the books in sun screen in case they start to burn). So there was always space for everyone.

We had a 'romantic room' facing the sea and a room with a terrace. Some of the rooms were facing the side which might be a little disappointing, so if your budget stretches I'd going for a sea view.

Rooms aren't huge but modern and spotlessly clean, with a very comfortable bed. Nice bathroom. If I had to split hairs, the balcony room didn't have a coffee machine - waiting for room service meant a slightly grumpy start to the day, being a caffeine-addict. Room service was, however, very quick.

The restaurant on the top floor was fabulous, though be warned it is quite expensive (as are a lot of the high end restaurants in the area). We ate on the pool terrace when we wanted something more casual and also at the great restaurant virtually opposite the entrance to the hotel (ask for a terrace table).

Stair warning: stairs up to the village - maybe 60-70. Stairs down to the beach - 200. Feels like 2000. Well I guess that was our exercise for the week! The stairs wind so it's not as bad as it sounds.

The shuttle into Positano was a nice service and we hired a hotel boat to Capri. Really recommend you do this as it was a beautiful trip along the coast. Our captain (Rocko?) was great - unobtrusive but attentive and ensured we didn't go flying when we transferred from the boat to the beach club boat in Capri. Lunch at Il Riccio - fantastic seafood. The tables are in the shade so easy to avoid the sun. Arriving by boat is fun, but you do need to climb onto land and up some slightly slippy stairs.

The staff were superb - attentive without hovering, nothing too much trouble, friendly and helpful. A big thank you to the team for a wonderful stay.

We enjoyed relaxing in the hotel so much we didn't see as much of the coast as we planned. So there's our excuse to go back!

Room Tip: Try for a room where you get to see the sunset if your budget allows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    87
    16
    7
    2
See reviews for
25
410
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Just returned from a 5 night stay at Casa Angelina. The hotel is stunning and in a breathtaking location. Unlike other reviewers, we found the staff extremely helpful and accommodating. We got to know a number of them and they were always warm and solicitous. There are some drawbacks - the internet is slow and the soundproofing is not good. The pool is small but I think that is likely to be true of all the hotels in this area as the hotels and pools are built into the cliffs. While we were there everyone managed to find a spot to sit and the staff went to great lengths to make that happen. Overall, this was a truly unique experience because of the modern beauty of the hotel in its stunning setting and the quality of service that the staff provided. I would highly recommend it as a very special hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Just returning back from a wonderful three days in Casa Angelina. Words can barely describe how great this place is... It is a pity that there are not 6/5 ratings to give them one. The service excellence starts from the moment that you arrive at the reception and it continues throughout the experience. For once EVERY suggestion made by a hotel's "concierge" has been right on spot without any drawback. Side note: there is no real "concierge" in this place because ALL staff members are knowledgeable about almost all aspects of the overall experience. Well done Casa Angelina... We shall return!:-)

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The hotel itself is beautiful. In a fantastic location, and so white and pristine. The array of Murano glasses incredible.

Plus points.
Breakfast - the most amazing food and choices and quality I have ever had.
Staff - friendly and polite and attentive.
location - amazing views
Food - in general the food was amazing
Extras - order a drink and you get a meal of extras of olives, crisps, nuts etc. lovely sorbets during the day.
Shuttle to Positano

minus points;
Third floor room - hear people walking in the restaurant until late at night and vey early in the morning. Bad sound proofing.
Wifi - is so slow it takes an age to download a mail, and you cat watch anything on your computer.
TV - only English channels are BBC World, and Sky News, and strangely Japanese news !!
No Movies or any lifestyle programs. Better to learn German !

Overall a lovely place, but a few adjustments could make it outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had a fabulous meal at Casa Angelina.The food was excellent and the views ,just perfect.Very quiet and you felt as if you were a world away.The waitress was rushing us and we felt hurried as she was going off her shift for the afternoon.Very cold and not welcoming at all.The service needs to be improved dramatically.

Room Tip: We only had lunch at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel has some fantastic attributes - the setting, the refurbishment - and the beach bar is great - really enjoyed going there - and using this as a base to take trips to Capri and Positano. The shuttle bus into Positano is also a real plus.

Other reviewers have commented on the service - which is impersonal and a bit sterile - the staff seem to be afraid of striking up anything approaching a personal relationship with a guest - very odd - and this gives it a private school or health clinic feel.

It's also true the hotel has some great assets in terms of space and rooms - which seem pemanently empty.

This is by no means a cheap hotel - so I would look around carefully - but at the right price and knowing what to expect - this would not be a bad place - this side of the coast much better than the other side / Sorrento.

Room Tip: We had a relaxing sea view room - rather small with a balcony - it was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Very impressive hotel, white modern furnishings, and fantastic views overlooking Capri and positano. This was our honeymoon so we more more prepared than usual to pay these extreme prices, although this is definitely over priced for what you get. Small pool, beds rammed in touching the beds next to you, breakfast you are watched for each thing you pick up and it's itemised ie. a croissant is noted once you collect from the buffet which costs you €5 as does an egg, as does a box of cereal. To avoid this you can have all you want for €25 but it just creates a stressful breakfast experience, on top of what you are paying already! Staff are also lovely but they don't need to try so hard- it comes across as a bit false when they serve you and it would just be nice if they were a bit more down to earth. Also walls are like paper, terrible nights sleep and heard peoples conversation in next room!!! Beach is also not a beach it's concrete and 200 steps away.
So no we don't regret staying here as we were allowed to be wasteful on our honeymoon, but normal circumstances we won't be staying here ever again- you get more for your money elsewhere! Wonderful stay, which you would expect as you are paying extortionate prices, but Avoid and stay somewhere else if you want to get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Angelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Angelina

Address: Via G Capriglione 147, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#11 Family Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Angelina 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Luxury on Italy's Amalfi Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Casa Angelina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Angelina Hotel Praiano
Casa Angelina Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Hotel Casa Angelina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Angelina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.