We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling senior management - turned a manageable issue to a scene” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Angelina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Angelina to your Saves list
Casa Angelina
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via G Capriglione 147, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Appalling senior management - turned a manageable issue to a scene”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I was debating as to whether I should write this review as it was not in my nature to do so. I didn't even have a tripadvisor account prior to this day. I have decided that I should. In summary, I have the most unnecessary and outrageous treatment by the General Manager and have decided to go for another hotel in Positano as walk-in, which by the way, turns out to be lovely (so convenient and immaculate views and service).

This subject General Manager in Casa A had failed to address an issue on the description and had simply resorted to aggressive behaviour, shouting in my face and staring at me in most part of the conversations. I was the one to steer them (including the director) from plain rudeness to a resolution mode by asking them on how they were proposing to resolve this. There was a 180 degree change of attitude after I said that I would change hotels and it was like a 10 second changeover. To be honest, he had switched to speaking gently but I feel that he's suppressing his attitude for the sake of it. They were worried about the reviews as they kept on talking about how customers are their paramount concern and reviews were always good. How it was only this occasion that has a problem. Well, failure to deal with booking issue in a polite and constructive manner is itself a big no no. Not to mention that it was dealt with by aggressive behaviour and coming from the General Manager.

The full story started with me booking a room rate that includes a one way transfer transport. The exact wording is for example, eur xxx per night, "included 1 night accommodation, welcome drink upon arrival, one way transfer to/from airport/train station with 10% discount ...". This rate is about eur 100 more than "the room only (without transfer)" rate. Given that my stay would be rather short which means that I need at least 2 one way trips, the location of Priano being far from naples where people may want to have a transfer to the naples and the existence of a much cheaper rate without the transfer, I had booked this higher price rate for 3 nights, thinking that I would have the transfer every day. I did wonder whether this is so at the time of booking, but concluded that it should be right given that (1) there was a eur100 price difference with the room only rate, (2) if they had meant for the one way transfer to be for the first night, it would have said so, (3) if I replace the one way transfer item language with 'breakfast', it would have been odd to interpret that such item to apply on the first night.

After the booking, I emailed the hotel and query whether it means that I have one complementary transfer everyday and the hotel staff reiterates the transfer terms and in her exact words, "...That does mean that you will have a one way transfer every day."

So, I arrived only to found out that the rate only includes one way transfer on the first day upon check in. The senior management, including the management basically didn't listen or re-read their description and emails properly in the first 20 mins. I was really annoyed on their failure to even appreciate what the problem is and there is no sign of resolving the matter. The general manager started to become aggressive and rude- starting shouting and staring at me. I was shocked and despaired when I learned that he was in fact the General Manager- what more can you expect if he himself behaves that way. I refused to talk to him (while he's in his aggressive mode) and asked the director on how they are going to resolve this. Surprising as to how we need to engage in a this row for so long before we can start to be constructive. They offered a more expensive rate per night without the transfer which I didn't find reasonable. If I were to book for room (without transfer), I would have benefited a much lower rate at the time of booking. Then the General Manager started shouting at me 'WHEN, When.." Repeatedly. I made the booking only a month before arrival. His point is that the offer is gone and its my problem but hey, the problem is that your hotel mis-sold! On the customer service level, I think he's unspeakable. On the legal compensation side, I am entitled to a compensation on what I have suffered.

At that point, I just thought that I should not be staying there and said that I would change hotel. And I went to the place for the Internet access for network. Their attitude changed 180 degrees. I demanded for an apology and I got it. They restated so many times how customer is the first and their reviews are so good. . Action more than words and I experience the actions full-on. They offered a slightly lower rate now(in the hope of "resolving" the matter). The aggressive behaviour and shouting previously was so bad that I found it hard to stay in this hotel or even talk to these people. The sharp change of attitude was also hard to digest given the extreme behaviour.

The General Manager 'waived' the transfer fee on arrival and agreed that I should not be charged for cancellation as the cancellation was due to misleading description.As one could imagine, I would be suffering from a high rate with the other hotel as I was a walk-in in the evening. Casa Angelina is lucky that I didn't go after them with the difference.

Plainly shocking customer service from the boss! Harm was done to the extent that whatever remedies he tried to pull at the time would not have justified his behaviour or remedy how it had ruined my holiday. Thanks to Le Serenuse which manages to salvage my impression of Positano.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    98
    18
    7
    3
See reviews for
30
461
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We traveled to the Amalfi Coast in August of 2012 and spent three nights in this gorgeous hotel. We had a beautiful room on the top floor with a balcony that was bigger than our room. I loved the lounge chairs and lemon trees right outside our door and the 360 degree views. I was captivated by the coast line's beauty and felt so lucky and blessed to be able to experience such an exquisite place. The service was impeccable as well with someone always right there to assist if needed. I took advantage of the offered assistance of unpacking and repacking my suit case so that we could truly enjoy every moment we spent in Praiano and surrounding towns. Though modern, the hotel is very comfortable, has a great breakfast on the rooftop restaurant and is spotless. It's a gem of a place and you won't be disappointed. Make sure to walk down to the water from the hotel. There's a great little beach club there.

Room Tip: The rooms are pretty small. I would try to get the room we had though. Top floor! Very, very private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

No doubt that this hotel is beautiful but the rooms are extremely small and if your looking to go to the beach than you take an elevator down and them continue walking down 150 steps . This hotel is located on a cliff but the water view is obstructed by a private home , that's right their is a home directly in between the hotel and the would be so amazing view. It is not walking distance to anywhere, Positano is about a 20 minute drive as is Amalfi, Sorrento is a 45 minute drive! There is absolutely nothing to do in Priano itself ! The breakfast buffet was amazing they had everything you can think off ! And the roof top restaurant food was delicious ! The gym is also very small ! Not my favorite at all

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in September as part of a 2-week trip to Italy. This was our splurge hotel. If you are on a budget, this is not the place for you.

The restaurant (which for some reason does not have its own trip advisor page) gets top billing in our review. It is on par with the top restaurants in Chicago, both in terms of service and quality of food. We say that having been to Alinea, Spiaggia, etc. We would not be surprised if the restaurant had a Michelin star. One of our trip goals was to try as many different restaurants as possible, but we liked the restaurant so much we ate there twice. We each had a tasting menu the first night (which were both outstanding), and the second night we had the lamb chops. The lamb chops were in the running for best meal of the trip. Simply outstanding and now the standard by which all future lamb chops will be compared. Also, the service is extremely professional and formal. More like what you'd expect dining at a nice restaurant in the US rather than your typical Italian dining experience).

Other items of note:

-At the restaurant and bar they will give females menus without prices, and males the menus with prices. Some people found this offensive. We found it amusing.
-Do order drinks at the bar and watch the sun set. They bring you a nice tray of snacks when you order a drink.
-There is a free hotel shuttle to Positano (which you have a great view of from the hotel). Once you're on the coast for 5 minutes you'll realize the shuttle is a much better idea than walking.
-Be sure to get breakfast included in your package. It was the best breakfast spread we had during our two weeks in Italy. Try the pancakes with the wildberry sauce.
-The staff was very friendly and helpful in finding things to do in the area, helping us with logistics, etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed at Casa Angelina for two nights with my girlfriend in October 2013. This is the first time I've felt compelled to write a review and it's as a result of the quality of my stay - in short, it was fantastic.

We were upgraded to a romantic room with a sea view and we thought the room was great. Not huge but didn't feel cramped and the view was the best we've ever enjoyed.

However, while the room was great what really blew us away was the service. At the end of two weeks in Italy it's very clear this is just not a country that gets the type of service you take for granted elsewhere - even when paying a premium.

Casa Angelina was the one exception on our whole trip. They were simply lovely. They've obviously given a great deal of consideration as to what will make visitors enjoy their stay and the whole experience was fantastic. Hotel is beautiful.

Quick highlights: rose pedal bath sounds cheesy but was really fun. Dinner was frankly delicious! Best of the trip. Should have a Michelin Star, incredible food, great wine, half a dozen complimentary dishes and breath taking views coupled with competent service. Breakfast was great as well, I was apprehensive at first at the price ($25E) but well worth it. Had eggs that were prepared fresh, pastries, 3 coffees and 2 champagnes. In the end, great value but if you just want toast/something quick obviously go elsewhere. No kids! And did I me toon the view - out of control.

We didn't go to the beach (lazy, but we just didn't want to leave the hotel) so can't comment and if I had to think of a criticism it would be that we booked a bottle of champagne before we arrived and when we turned up it was only a half bottle. Not major and we got upgraded so all good.

In the end I would highly recommend. We'll definitely head back and it was the highlight of our trip.

One last point, we drove from Rome and, while fun, the Amalfi stretch is pretty hair raising so bear that in mind if you're not a confident driver.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at this great boutique hotel for four nights while on our first trip to the Amalfi Coast. It has a crisp, almost all-white contemporary interior punctuated with colorful, whimsical contemporary artwork. The hotel is situated part-way down the side of a cliff overlooking the Med, with Positano off to the right (nice views of Positano day and night) and the Isle of Capri off on the horizon.

The staff was delightful, helpful and polite. The best-kept secret of this hotel is the rooftop restaurant and terrace. The view is stunning, as are the views from (most of) the rooms. Morning coffee on the roof terrace before their great buffet breakfast was wonderful, because about all you can hear are the waves, birds, and local church bells, no traffic noise. Tables are limited, so reserve the "A" table (see pics) well before dinner time.

Don't rent a car on the Amalfi Coast - you don't need one. The Angelina will shuttle you to Positano, and you can catch the bus that runs up and down the coast from Praiano, about 88 steps above the hotel.

We caught one of the smaller open boats to Capri right from the hotel's small "pier". Its a fairly steep 288 steps down to it (and back!), but worth the effort. Have the concierge arrange it.

p.s. We actually traveled May of 2012, but that wasn't an option to click on.

Room Tip: I would be sure to ask for a room with a view. Most, but not all, have them, because this hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were looking for a week in a calm, luxurious atmosphere where we could recover from a busy couple of months and this hotel really fit the bill. It's in a part of the world where brocade and gilding would appear to be the decorative choices of the majority and it's really the only establishment we could find that did something a bit more modern. Who knew 'white' was a building material? They even decorate the staff in pale linens that never seem to crumple.

We had a 'relax' room with a terrace. Rooms are not massive but the terrace is a decent additional space. The free wifi and the little netbook they give you for your stay are a great extra touch. Pillows are comfy but the beds are hard on the hard side. Could have done with a mattress topper.

We arrived quite late and slightly green about the gills after a twisty turny drive over from Naples. We used the hotel car service and it was very efficient. I wouldn't be keen on driving along these roads, particularly at night.

We went straight up to dinner at the hotel restaurant on the terrace at the top of the building and it was a treat. The food is beautifully presented and tastes delicious. The menu isn't long but there are specials every night and it managed to suit the taste of my travelling companion, who can be a bit picky. The wine list was long. The sommelier made some great recommendations, although you have to be on the lookout for the 'upsell'. We were most tickled by the slightly poncy water menu, which included what appeared to be a bottle of distilled water from the US for €130. How we laughed. They keep the lighting low on the terrace which is charming and which means you get to play with the really cool little flashlights they give you to read the menu.

Unfortunately we were somewhat rudely awakened the next morning by herds of elephants walking over our room from about 7AM. It was at that point that we realised we were directly under the restaurant terrace, which is where breakfast is served. Given this was meant to be a relaxing holiday, that was not the best news. However, that was remedied pretty rapidly, despite the fact the hotel was busy. I always think the way a hotel deals with a glitch gives you the measure of its calibre. And this was smoothly managed.

Breakfast on the terrace put us back into zen mindset. The view is incredible, as are the views from the whole of the hotel. Shade is at a premium though, so bring your sunglasses or you'll have to sit inside if all the shady tables are taken. Breakfast caters to most tastes (unless you're looking for Dim Sum or kedgeree) and they bring round little pastries of loveliness that they make fresh every day. You can get them to cook your eggs how you like, although the vinegar in the poached was overpowering and not that pleasant.

Fortunately, to work off all the wine and pastry, every hotel and restaurant on the Amalfi coast is built into the edge of the cliff. This is not a terrain for the faint hearted. If you want to go down to the beach it is 200 steps. And the ants have colonised the handrails. If you want to go to the main village it is 100 or so steps up. And the ants have colonised the handrails. We dealt with this by mostly hanging out by the pool. The view is incredible, they have lovely jets in the water and there is a waiter who comes round with tiny pots of sorbet every now and then. The pool area is very quiet, which is exactly what we were looking for. Those who wanted a bit more action headed to the beach. I think the hotel gives you vouchers but we never tested the theory after our first jaunt down there. Also, it isn't really a beach. It's a rocky outcrop, like most beaches on this part of the coast.

If you get bored of sunbathing there is an hourly free shuttle to Positano from where you can take boats to go exploring. It's a pleasant enough town but somewhat cursed by the excessive tourism typical of this area. I know we were adding to it so I shouldn't be sniffy but 'unspoilt' only really applies to the view from the hotel to the sea.

All in all it was a wonderful trip. We did what we needed to do. Relaxed. Ate good food. Got some decent sleep. Watched the mega yachts in the sunset from our terrace in the evening. The staff were welcoming and extremely efficient. The room was clean and the airco worked a treat. The food and wine were delicious. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms directly below the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
3.9 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 30 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#7 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 40 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Angelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Angelina

Address: Via G Capriglione 147, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Angelina 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot Luxury on Italy's Amalfi Coast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Escapio, Odigeo, MrandMrsSmith, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Angelina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Angelina Hotel Praiano
Casa Angelina Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Hotel Casa Angelina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Angelina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.