We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel with great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Open Gate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Open Gate to your Saves list
Open Gate
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 52, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Barnet, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel with great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is a lovely family run hotel with wonderful views over the Gulf of Salerno. Our room was comfortable and clean with lovely tiled floors and it had a decent sized balcony overlooking the sea. The hotel is situated on the main coast road which means there are often quite a few cars and coaches going by but this didn't seem a particular problem and it was quiet at night. The hotel has its own parking area which is a real boon in this part of the world where parking is difficult to say the least! The food in the restaurant is very good and if you fancy a change it's a fifteen minute walk to the centre of Praiano where there are more good restaurants.

Praiano is a good base for exploring this beautiful area and distances to all the main sights (Pompeii, Herculaneum, Paestum) are not great but driving in the area can be fairly arduous!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    50
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
83
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tipton, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My husband and I just spent 4 nights at the Hotel Open Gate, it was the highlight of our entire trip to Italy! We wished we had spent our whole trip here, we were sad to leave! The hotel is family owned and ran, and it's obvious that they take great pride in providing great service. The views from our balcony were just amazing! All rooms have balconies overlooking the sea. Our room was spacious and very clean. Simple decor, with pretty tile floors and very nice bathroom. The breakfast was the best we had, with yummy croissants with apple filling. Also sliced ham, salami, cheese, yogurt, rolls, fresh fruit and coffee and tea. The staff went out of their way to make us feel at home, they even put our wine bottle in their fridge each day, as there is no fridge in the rooms. Rooms have a/c and are very comfortable. The mattress to me was hard, but my husband didn't mind it. Free wi-fi in the reception area. We would recommend this hotel to anyone, and can hardly wait to return!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the third floor for better views, and not quite as much road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Cozy family run hotel that is just right beside the ocean. Room is simple but clean. Bathroom lighting is a bit dim but clean. Great ocean view from the balcony. The bed is a bit too firm for my preference but my husband has not problem with that. Overall, we had a good time there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We loved the charm and character of this pretty family-run hotel. A lovely feature was the terrace dining across the crazy winding coastal road that is a major feature of the Amalfi Coast. The sea views from the terrace and indeed all rooms are spectacular. Sitting out on our own balcony watching the sun go down over the sea was quite magical.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benllech, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The Trip Advisor reviews for the Open Gate swung it for me, and I'm glad they did. Just about anywhere on the Amalfi coast will have stunning views, but not all the hotels will have the same service as the Open Gate. The hotel is family run so all the staff have a commitment to providing a more than adequate service to their guests.
First things first, This is not a four star establishment, no pool, no sauna, no lift.
What does it have have?
Cleanliness.
Fair sized rooms with excellent vies of the coast
Decent food at affordable prices.
Free parking.
And the best part; all the staff speak English and are extremely helpful. They will arrange trips, suggest drives, (there are other roads besides the often mentioned coast road) and walks. In fact I believe that they really go the extra mile to help their guests enjoy their time on the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel-aviv
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Open Gate hotel in Praiano.We have only good things to say about this hotel.First, the people who run the hotel. This is a marvelous family with Stefania and her aunt and some other members of the family which welcomed us so nicely, with so much patience and always with a smile and good will to help in any situation, even when you could see that they are busy, because they run the hotel all by themselves.This is the kind of hotel that I will always wish to be a guest in.The rooms are simply furnished but very clean, from the balcony there's a beautiful view of the see, breakfast is Italian, good and full and above all is the restaurant of the hotel.Excellant pastas, fish, risotto, sea food, cakes, everything in high level of cooking, nice presentation, a real chef restaurant, maybe the best food we ate in Italy this visit. Thank you Stefania for making our stay in your hotel so good, and thanks to all the staff.
We shall recommend your hotel to other people and definitely wish to come again.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are similar, sort of countryside, I don't have recommendation of a special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The rooms look out over the sea, the outdoor restaurant tables are on e opposite side of the road overlooking the sea. Truly magical with the full moon reflecting on the water. The rooms are pleasant and clean and the hostess is polite. However the hotel is really secondary to the breath taking views and dinner by the sea.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Open Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Gate

Address: Via Roma 52, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Praiano
#11 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Open Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Open Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Open Gate Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Open Gate Hotel Praiano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Open Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.