We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is absolutely lovely!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Open Gate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Open Gate to your Saves list
Open Gate
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 52, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“This place is absolutely lovely!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

After a long day driving from Firenze, it was a welcome sight. First the hotel have parking that is very difficult on the Amalfi Coast and this is very important. The front desk staff was very efficient and friendly, they helped us with our luggages (a lot) and the most accommodating aspect for me was their ability to speak a good English. Our room was clean and well appointed and the balcony views of the town and coastline were stunning and caught both the rising and setting sun. We were so pleased with the private terrace and beautiful view which is available to every room. The restaurant has delicious local ingredients. The food was great and we decided to eat most nights. They have wifi access in the reception. This place is absolutely lovely!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    48
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
80
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monteverde, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We wanted a place that wasn't quite as busy & touristy and we found it in Open Gate. The family that runs this hotel was very attentative to our needs. We arrived after the restaurant had closed and were hungry. They graciously prepared a wonderful plate of cheeses, meats and fresh bread along with the house wine. Delicious.
The rooms are clean and a reasonable size. The beds comfortable however the pillows were a little uncomfortable. There's a little bit of road noise but beautiful views of the sea.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

The room which we had gave us a 180 degree view of the blue Tyrhennian Sea without any obstructions and was wonderful. The owner and family work so much, yet smile all the time.The rooms were spanking clean and the food at the restaurant was good too.Pascualo, the son of the owner speaks good English and was very helpful in giving directions and information on what to do. The only thing lacking was wi-fi, but that wasn't too much of a problem

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İstanbul
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I went with 3 other friends and we thought Open Gate would be a good base for our Amalfi trip. The location was really good. They were kind enough to give us a big room with the big balcony. The view is great. However, these people should learn about how to run a hotel. The rooms were nice but dont expect white sheets and super cleaning. Still I would not have minded if I did not suffer from a terrible itch during my stay. At first I could not be sure cause my roommate was fine. Then when she put on the only tshirt she put in the wooden cupboard she had the same itches. There was a wooden cupboard in the room and we were bitten by these bugs that live in wood. I wrote an email to the hotel when we were sure about what happened. I warned them to take care of these bugs. The itches kill you! Then they replied to me by saying it is taken care of. NO APOLOGIES! I was not planning to write a comment but their indifference to the trouble they caused me made me realize they dont care. One other thing that really bugged me is that they asked for cash payment! and when we said we want to pay with credit card, they gave us an attitude.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, N. Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights with our teenage children. The hotel is situated on the main coast road but is still very quiet. We ate in the restaurant every night and the food was beautiful, i recommend you try the lemon cake! The family that run the Hotel are very friendly and the Son and Daughter can speak perfect English. They were very helpful on advising us about local transport, supermarkets etc. We parked our car at the Hotel as we found driving on the Amalfi coast stressful! and used the local bus service which stops right outside the hotel and runs between praiano and positano all day or you can use the sita bus which goes further afield. We had a room on the top floor which had a fantastic view. The only disappointing bit about our trip was that we had 2 days of unsettled weather and as a result our boat trip to capri was cancelled but that will be our excuse to return to this wonderful Hotel !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

My wife and I have just returned home after a wonderful stay at the Open Gate Hotel - warm and friendly service from the family who run the hotel - highly recommend you stay here - you will love it !!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011 via mobile

This is the gem of the coast if you don't enjoy this hotel my advice to you is to stay home.
Sitting on the large patio with 180 views of the med it just doesnt get any better there is a great supermarket just up behind the hotel all a local prices

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Open Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Open Gate

Address: Via Roma 52, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Praiano
#12 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Open Gate 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Open Gate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Open Gate Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Open Gate Hotel Praiano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Open Gate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.