We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tramonto d'Oro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tramonto d'Oro to your Saves list
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gennaro Capriglione 119, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We are walking the Amalfi Coast and stayed here for two nights. Modern decor and great service made this place a sanctuary from the ardours of the mountain trails. We upgraded to a sea view (€30 per night) and pleased we did. The restaurant was terrific with fantastic views over the coast and along to Posetano. Coffee and limoncello on the comfy sofa was enhanced by a conversation with the lovely owner who takes great interest in her guests. Recommended. Oh...and enjoy the 400 steps to the beach!. Only gave 3 stars location as we were 2k from main town evidently so clearly a tad out of the main drag.

Room Tip: The sea view was worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    83
    23
    11
    5
See reviews for
112
228
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Dear Famiglia Esposito,
Entering this hotel really does give you the feeling of being in part of the Esposito family with having the delight of nonna watching over but also genuinely interested in guests and their children. With a quadraple room view to positano big breakfast and a big pool for amalfi coast this is a really good value hotel halfway between positano and amalfi - only comment would be the beach steps up are not for the faint hearted and perhaps a pool table under cover for something extra - thankyou this family run hotel was a great find no regrets

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

From the view to the room everything is incredible. This hotel is what you imagine when you think of the coast of Italy. Our room was beautiful with Italian tile floors a great(large) bathroom and all updated ementities. The staff is so helpful and friendly(all family). The pool is beautiful with an spectacular view. My kids(20&18) voted this the best restaurant of the trip. They also loved the breakfast with the FRESH squeezed orange juice. This is where you want to stay in amalfi and short bus trip to both positano and amalfi(which are too touristy to stay at) the locals are so nice and very helpful. There are several great restaurants with in walking distance. I do advise anyone coming to any hotels on the coast, the beach is not an American style beach. 400 steps down from most hotels and rocks(not sand) that is however what makes the views and the atmosphere amazing . Book this hotel now. Make sure you get a balcony room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

After reading lots of good reviews we decided to book a few days at this Hotel. We have always wanted to visit this area and we were very happy with our choice of location. The village was very quaint, with some very good restaurants. We flew to NaplesAirport and hired a car as taxis are expensive in Italy. Make sure you're not a nervous driver as the roads can be a bit winding with plenty of hairpin bends! Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Advising us on areas to visit. Our room was very traditional,large with a terrace to sit out with our own sunchairs. At breakfast there was a very good selection to choose from. Views from the Hotel were amazing over the ragged coastline. We had a lovely four days, we're going to book this Hotel again but to stay longer next time!

Room Tip: Higher floors better views, ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a lovely hotel and I happily recommend it. But four star it is not. My girlfriend described as "a two star hotel with a five star view" and I think that is a good summation.

What you get with this hotel is a dated building but in a quite superb location. The dated building is, of course part of the charm. Modern it is not, but lovingly and immaculately cared for it is. The family owners keep it spotlessly clean and it is very elegant in many ways.

What it lacks though is modern hotel amenities. Don't get me wrong though, that will make it attractive to many. The room has one of those old wardrobes and there are scarcely any electric sockets. The bathroom was tiny - though very clean. Wifi was patchy. There is a very nice, medium sized swimming pool on the roof. Drink service there is by phone call downstairs. Parking is limited, though that is a fact all up and down this beautiful coast.

What is definitely excellent is the restaurant. Sitting on the balcony should melt the hardest heart.

So, all in all, I really liked this hotel because of the setting, because it was comfortable, because the family care about the comfort of their guests. It is just that the rooms are a little basic.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view. The hotel rooms are mainly on lower levels than receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We had planned our trip for ages, looking for a unique experience, and wanting to stay somewhere beautiful. We wanted to experience Italy in all sorts of ways, which included some Italian cooking classes. Wow did we hit the jackpot! This hotel was absolutely amazing. When we were shown to our room and saw the view I was so blown away by the beauty of the Amalfi coast. The room was spacious, comfortable and had every need met. The staff were very friendly and happy to go to any lengths to make sure our wishes were looked after promptly and efficiently. If anyone is looking for a cooking experience, I can highly recommend the classes they offer. We had three cooking classes with three different and very capable chefs. The classes were hands on, so we actually made the food ourselves, then we were shown to a table at the restaurant overlooking the coast to eat the food and drink the beautiful Italian wines. They even picked roses from the garden to make the experience more special. We can't speak highly enough of the hotel - it is an absolute gem. The location is superb, as it is away from the more touristy towns and is therefore much quieter, but still close enough to be able to go to Amalfi or Positano easily. Thank you to you all for making our holiday so special. Thank you also Signora Teresa for for being so kind to us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Beautiful staff and food at the hotel restaurant. Staff were always more than happy to help us organise day trips. One of our favourite hotels in the world. Our room was beautiful and very private with an amazing view. It was Perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tramonto d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tramonto d'Oro

Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 119, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Praiano
#6 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tramonto d'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tramonto D'Oro offers to their guests roof swimming-pool with wonderful view of Positano, Capri's Faraglioni and De Li Galli's Island. Gym with Techno gym equipment, Steamed Bath and Sauna. The restaurant offers excellent regional fish dishes. Private parking, Free shuttle to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tramonto d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tramonto D'Oro Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Tramonto d Oro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tramonto d'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.