We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow wow wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tramonto d'Oro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tramonto d'Oro to your Saves list
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gennaro Capriglione 119, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow wow wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

I travel ALOT for business and pleasure and rarely bother to write reviews, however this place was soooo fantastic here I am. There is nothing to fault, ok maybe the coffee but I drank tea. Staff were the BEST- all of them from front desk to housekeeping. Rooms perfect, I was there with friends and as we extended our stay we ended up trying all from standard no view to deluxe twin. Restaurant amazing! Save room for desert! And fantastic pool with the best view. Location is a perfect base - priano has great restaurants, beach and club and is a great base to visit the more touristy possitno and Almalfi. This was one of my facourite trips, Make sure you say hi to la nonna for us :D

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    83
    23
    11
    5
See reviews for
112
228
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, ON, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed 8 nights at this hotel with my 3 kids - ages 6,8,10 and it was a great stay. Amazing views from the restaurant and the rooftop pool(which was always sparkling clean). The staff were always super friendly and very helpful in planning our excursions. Special kudos to Anita, Agnes and Ivana who were wonderful. The owner - Theresa, is always walking around, greeting you and made us feel right at home. It's a great location for getting into Positano (we used the bus, which the stop is right outside the hotel, 1.70 euros each way), Amalfi, Minori and Maiori. It's much quieter than Positano which is great. There were other nice restaurants to choose from just minutes away by foot. You access the beach by walking down about 400 steps, nice views also. Beach has a private club on it - One Fire, which you can purchase a chair for 10 euros. Worth it because there is no other shade. It's a great central location on the Amalfi Coast. I would highly recommend this hotel for families. Food was great and had a good breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: I stayed in an adjoining room - room 31 and 32 and it had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have just returned from a week's stay at this lovely family run hotel. The hotel is literally built into the cliff & offers superb views of the coastline & to Positano .
We had 2 interconnecting rooms 38 & 39, both of which were very nicely & traditionally decorated, both with small, basic bathrooms. Superb view from balcony of 39.
Breakfast served on terraces overlooking sea - decent breakfast, but coffee & orange juice both served from machines & fairly tasteless ...
We ate in the hotel restaurant 6/7 nights & food was excellent - plenty of choice - pasta, fresh fish boned at the table, meat & great puds ! Great service from a handful of very professional staff.
Hotel is right next to chaotic coast round, so a certain amount of noise by the rooftop pool. Pool 'L' shaped , clean & a decent size . Plenty of loungers , often reserved first thing , despite lack of Germans at the hotel !!
My husband used the gym, adequate & was only person in it every morning.
Praiano itself is strung out along the main road & not a huge amount to it , although after visiting Positano I was happy staying in a quieter resort ! Bus stops right outside hotel & definitely not running to published timetable !
One Fire Beach directly below - lots of steps & hard work coming back, but nice bar to pysche yourself up for the return trip ! We walked up to the monastery , following the 'walk of the Gods ' sign - bit of a challenge but definitely earned a pud ... Or two !!
The owners deserve a special mention , ever present & extremely hard working .. Seeing the elderly owners working morning & evening makes you appreciate their efforts even more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I knew we wanted to get married in Praiano. We had been there a few years ago and fell in love with the town, the people, and of course the views. My husband is from Rome and I am from the US, so it was important that we choose a destination that would impress both our Italian, American, and our other guests coming from as far as Singapore and Venezuela. Hotel Tramonto d'Oro really delivered. The venue was absolutely beautiful with glass windows allowing for sweeping views of the Amalfi Coast and Chiesa San Gennaro, the church that we got married in. The food was incredible, which was very important to us. We take food very seriously and there was not one complaint! Every course was delicious and highlighted the local seafood perfectly. The staff was warm and friendly and treated us and our guests very well. We felt like family when we were here. We stayed here for two amazing nights. The room was immaculate, modern, and beautiful. The hotel was decorated to reflect the stunning beauty of Praiano with typical ceramics and the colors of the coast. We will cherish our wedding day forever and Hotel Tramonto d'Oro played a major role in ensuring we had the best day ever. Grazie mille!

Room Tip: Unfortunately, we did not use the Spa or Fitness center so I cannot speak to the quality, but everyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I would highly recommend staying at this hotel in the almafi coast! This hotel has one of the best views on the whole town. The rooms and amenities were fantastic. There is a very delicious restaurant, with a free breakfast buffet. The hotel has a great rooftop pool and is very close to the beach. Many options for day trips and great service!
Excellent value!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for six days in July and the hotel is as described by other travellers, nice (warm) pool, great views and excellent staff. It has a relaxed and friendly atmosphere and really feels like a family run hotel, but is big enough if you also want a bit of anonymity as well which is a good balance. They will happily organise trips for you, but the bus stops really close to the hotel that will take you to Positano and Sorrento one way, or to Amalfi the other (all of which are worth a visit). The bus is always crowded at peak times so make sure that if you have a major trip (longer than Positano which is about 30 mins) you do it outside of peak times unless you want to stand up for most/all of the way. You can also stop off at some really fab beaches on route which is worth doing as most if the coast is made up of rocky coves.

Initially we were put in room 69 which was on first view really nice, spacious and clean nice bathroom etc, as it was night we did not really notice the fact that the window looked out on to a stairwell so in fact there is no natural light to speak of. The next morning I thought I had woken up in the middle of the night! Later on that day we decided that as we were staying for a significant amount of time we would ask to change and we were duly changed into a partial sea view room for a reasonable extra cost. The point is though I really don't think that this room should be offered to people without an explanation because its not just not a sea view, it's not a view at all! However the staff were great and so it was handled really well. The only real improvement that could be easily made is the breakfast coffee, so I am not an expert at all but this stuff is DISGUSTING! Really horrible and undrinkable at times. So please make this from a great to an amazing hotel! I would say Praino is a great place to stay for a few days, but you will exhaust the restaurants and bars in the town in a few days, the buses are good but warning a taxi to Positano will cost you €30 one way (about a €3 bus ride) ! There is a nice beach at Positano and a lovely beach round from the main bit of Amalfi, would definitely visit this area again and would stay at this hotel again...especially if they sort out the coffee!!!

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel at the end of july. It's a beautiful hotel representing the architecture, decor, food and hospitality of the town Praiano.
The stratigic position of the hotel between Positano and Amalfi provides easy accesibility to neighboring towns. The staff are very kind and attending, the food is great and enjoying it on the terrace with the gorgious picture perfect views of the sea and the coastal towns is unforgettable .
I would highly recommand this hotel for your visit to the Amalfi coast.
Shoaleh
Newport coast California

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tramonto d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tramonto d'Oro

Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 119, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Praiano
#6 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tramonto d'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tramonto D'Oro offers to their guests roof swimming-pool with wonderful view of Positano, Capri's Faraglioni and De Li Galli's Island. Gym with Techno gym equipment, Steamed Bath and Sauna. The restaurant offers excellent regional fish dishes. Private parking, Free shuttle to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tramonto d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tramonto D'Oro Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Tramonto d Oro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tramonto d'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.