We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in Praiano” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tramonto d'Oro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Tramonto d'Oro to your Saves list
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Gennaro Capriglione 119, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paradise in Praiano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I have just returned to Sydney having spent the most relaxing week on our honeymoon in the Tramonto D'oro. Teresa, Agnes, Carmella, Pasquale and their colleagues made us feel really welcome. Praiano itself is a small community close to Positano and Amalfi, where you can blend in with the locals and sample great local food and wine. The hotel itself is perched on the mountainside with beautiful views over the ocean and Positano. The restaurant is fantastic and the combination of great food, fantastic service and spectacular views is exquisite. The swimming pool on the roof is incredible and there is a deckchair for every guest. We will definitely be returning when next we visit Italy.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. If you want to really treat yourself - the water views with balconies are incre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    83
    23
    11
    5
See reviews for
112
228
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Proving that 5 star hotels don't need a guy with a top hat and tails out front, we found the Tramonto d'Oro elegant, beautiful, with great service and stupendous views. We stayed five nights in a "superior" room on floor -1 (it's dug into a cliff), where the view of Positano across the water, from our balcony, was truly something else. The same amazing view from the pool deck on the roof, and from the restaurant (which merits a separate review -- excellent). Room was comfortable and like everything else, beautiful. We didn't see what the standard, view-less rooms looked like, but felt that having the view and balcony was worth the cost.

Staff was very helpful and friendly whenever we needed anything. Given their location, I was a bit hesitant that this would be one of those places that just sits on its view, but no -- they do try hard and provide an outstanding experience.

The room included breakfast, which was excellent and quite generous by local standards. Great selection of fruit, pastries, cheese, eggs, etc. The rooftop pool was great to relax in during the "siesta" time in the middle of the day (also makes the property highly visible if you're hiking the "path of the gods" from Bomerano to Nocello). Just below the hotel is a short path (10 minute walk) to the smaller of Praiano's beaches, Gavitella, which is fantastic. If like us, you're foregoing the car to explore the coast, the SITA bus stops right in front. (Hotel does offer parking to guests, and since there's virtually nowhere to park in this region, it could be useful to leave a car at the hotel and then use bus/cabs to get around the coast.)

Price was at the high end of where we usually stay, but in relative terms it's quite fair, a bargain even. We've paid more for much less.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
treviso
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and had a great experience. The hotel from the road is lacking but once you enter inside and the oasis of calm descends it is a truly wonderful location. Our room (45) had a partial sea view that still drew gasps of wonder when we walked out on to the large terrace.
Wifi in the room was for me essential and I can confirm that it works fine. The pool on the roof is a treat and dinner on the terrace is made more delightful by the waiting staff who were so friendly and kind. All in all it is a great hotel, wonderful breakfast and our evening meal was delicious. Views out over Positano were breathtaking! I totally recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 45 and it was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 7 nights recently in a Mediterrranean room. The room was comfortable and stylish with great views, and a spacious bathroom.The room was very expensive but I think most are on the Amalfi Coast. Breakfasts were good, with a very good selection of delicious cakes/pastries, although would have liked a better tasting orange juice than the industrial one available.
Location is fantastic! We really enjoyed taking the local buses to the surrounding towns of Sorrento, Positano and Amalfi. We also loved staying in a smaller, quieter village rather than the busier towns.The hotel offers a 2.5 hr boat trip to the emerald caves, then stopping for a swim before dropping you off at Positano by lunchtime. I thought this was excellent value for a surprisingly worthwhile visit to the caves ( we had been once before to Capri ones and thought it a total tourist scam). The swim was fantastic and you get to see the coastline from the water. Loved it!
The staff at the hotel are very welcoming, particularly the restaurant staff. cannot say enough about the excellent service and smiles from them. The family who owns the hotel are also around at the restaurant, stopping to chat while you dine. My daughter fell in love with the grandmother!
Internet was a problem and I think that's the norm, but you can get good connection from the sunny, front lobby.
Praiano is a fabulous destination and the hotel Tramonto D'Oro is a fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Hotel location is great there is a parking lot available if you are driving. Free of charge.
Breakfast present plenty of local fruit ,home made cakes,croissants coffee etc
Dinner was fabulous fresh fish made a la Italiana Bonissimo. !!!!!!
Wine list great variety.
There is a passage inside the hotel to the beach .
You must be fit to endure the walk there and back/ well worth it
You can rent a sun bed and have a snack and drink spend a few hours or the day swimming chilling out. You can get a water taxi if you naked
I don't think it's a good idea to bring young children ( they might get grumpy ).
The hotel have a lovely pool if you need.
You can see an island from the balcony called( isola dei Gali) it used to belong to Rudolf Nureyev.
You can also see the island of Capri.
Do pay a visit it's rely nice.
The hotel staff is very helpful and kind.
The hotel is very well kept , very comfortable and clean,
beach towel provided free of charge
Enjoy

Room Tip: Sea/view beautiful and romantic Basement rooms are very nice and less expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jervis Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in June and loved everything about this hotel. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. A special thank you to Agnus for her wonderful recommendations on what to see and do in the area, nothing was too much trouble and her wealth of local knowledge certainly made for a very enjoyable stay on the Amalfi Coast. Especially her tip on hiring a private driver to get back to Naples via Pompeii! The room was very clean and comfortable and the balcony has the most amazing view of Positano and Capri, as does the restaurant. The roof top pool and bar with comfy sunbeds was a great place to relax and unwind after a busy day sight seeing. The restaurant meals were fabulous and well priced, the buffet breakfast was fantastic. There is a couple of great restaurants across the road and the Sita bus stops at the front door. The 400 steps down to One Fire Beach is worth it, great atmosphere and terrific snack bar. When we return to Praiano we will stay at Tramonto d'Oro again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and a balcony. Also ask to be away from the function room if there is a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Location is not that good. No beaches around. The swimming pool is quite small. Breakfast doesn't have a lot of varieties and the front desk staff doesn't give you proper information ( unless you have patience and ask many times the same question).
Nothing special for the price we paid......

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tramonto d'Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tramonto d'Oro

Address: Via Gennaro Capriglione 119, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Praiano
#6 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tramonto d'Oro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tramonto D'Oro offers to their guests roof swimming-pool with wonderful view of Positano, Capri's Faraglioni and De Li Galli's Island. Gym with Techno gym equipment, Steamed Bath and Sauna. The restaurant offers excellent regional fish dishes. Private parking, Free shuttle to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Tramonto d'Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tramonto D'Oro Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast
Tramonto d Oro Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tramonto d'Oro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.