We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vacation/Anniversary/Birthday at Hotel Margherita” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Margherita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Margherita to your Saves list
Hotel Margherita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Umberto I, 70, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Vacation/Anniversary/Birthday at Hotel Margherita”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The hotel is wonderful and everyone goes out of their way to make your stay special. We were at the hotel for 10 days and enjoyed the views, the people and the hospitality. We celebrated an anniversary and a birthday here and they made both occasions very special! Grazie to Elliot, Paula, Francesco and Genarro at the restaurant and to Bianca who served a wonderful breakfast every day. Many thanks to Suela and the front desk for the attention and help. I can't remember the name of the young lady at desk, but she was always so very nice and helpful.

Praiano is a quaint town with some excellent restaurants including the restaurant at the hotel( Ma'ma), La Strada which has great sunset views and Jolly which is just down the street and has delicious homemade pasta.

Many thanks to Pasquale at Tutti e Tutto which is the store down the road. I look forward to the wine tasting the next time we are there. Pasquale was so nice to give my husband a ride so that he could buy me flowers for our anniversary. Grazie Mille!

Marina da Praia in Praiano is a beautiful beach surrounded by cliffs and great restaurants. The hotel offers free shuttle service and it is also walkable from the hotel which my husband and I preferred. We spent a few relaxing days here and hope to return.

We went to Capri, but we're not impressed. The best part of the day was swimming in the ocean with some new friends from Argentina who were also staying at the Hotel Margherita! Had great fun with Antonella and her family.

We walked the Path of the Gods. It was challenging, a bit scary and fantastic. Be prepared for 4+ hours of hiking which includes 1000 steps to the Convent and at the end, 1700 steps to Positano.

Positano was very nice, but very crowded. We ate at Chez Black which was very good.

Amalfi is a beautiful town, not too crowded and has a beautiful cathedral worth seeing and they have a Mass in English every Sunday which was very nice. We ate at a restaurant overlooking the ocean and had the fried seafood... Very good. Also, the coast ride is very beautiful and it is amazing the way the traffic is navigated by buses, pedestrians, cars and scooters.... You really need to experience it first hand!!!!!

Hotel Margherita in Praiano offers great hospitality and a great location to explore the Amalfi coast. We hope to return some day :) Ciao!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    179
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
229
592
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My wife and I spent three wonderful days at this special hotel. It is family run and VERY customer centered. We were greeted with wine and olives upon arrival and shown to our beautiful room with a great view of the sea. We enjoyed three candle lit dinners on their rooftop dinning room enjoying sumptuous food. They shuttle you for free wherever you wish to go within Priano so a car isn 't necessary. They drove us to the beach and back as well as to the bus stop. Both times with a smile! The breakfast are terrific and they generally care about their
guests. I can 't imagine a more relaxing place to unwind! This was highly recommended by another friend and was a highlight of our European trip! You won't regret staying here!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Davis, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This is a wonderful place to stay! The views are beautiful. The family has truly thought of everything you might need, from towels if on the water, shuttle service, your own special coffee each morning and even a great restaurant overlooking the sea. I loved the balcony and small pool, the quietness of the town and you have to do the hike "Path of the Gods". It is beautiful and passes by a convent that offers for 2 euros lemonaid and figs. A memory to cherish.
Thank you Suela for how promptly you always got back to me and for all your staff did to make our stay so pleasant!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We came back to Praiano this year and loved it. We stayed at the Hotel Margherita. It was amazing - the location was great. We had 3 teenagers with us and they loved it. Everyone at the hotel was extremely nice; they had a shuttle service that took us to the beach -a realy nice pool and a beautiful terrace where you can star gaze at night. The restaurant was excellent - very good food and service. The breakfast in the morning was to die for. The rooms were very nice, extremely clean and great views. Our experience was fantastic, Gennaro was so nice and the girls loved Elio.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My family and I traveled through England, France and Italy. By far Hotel Margherita was the best stay of our entire trip! The staff was friendly and helpful -- from supplying beach towels to free transportation to and from the beach. The parking was conveniently located directly across from the hotel's entrance. The rooms were decorated well and the view out the balcony window was spectacular. A great value for a wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The service of this hotel is exceptional. Owned by a family, this "hotel boutique" contains enough rooms to have nice installations (restaurant, gym, pool, deck, etc), and still it is small enough to get a ultra personalized service. All the staff were absolutely amazing with us. Traveling every year and stayed at over 300 hotels so far, it is one of the best experience we had.

Rooms are ok, comfy and somewhat quiet. It fits with the Amalfi coast style. Beds were comfortable too. We had a superior room, which has a balcony and an incredible view on the ocean.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must, and ask to be higher as possible for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alden, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Here is our story. I stumbled upon Hotel Margherita while planning our 25th anniversary trip. A few months before the trip i decided that a wedding vow renewal service in Praiano would be a nice addition to the trip. I tried to locate a priest in the area, but did not have success. It was at that point that I contacted Hotel Margherita and Suella began to assist with the arrangements.

Everything for the Church service went great. This was a surprise for my wife, Gennarro (the driver who is part of this wonderful family) brought us to the church and then stayed the whole time and videotaped it for us. Suella let him know what I was doing and he jumped right in and helped.

All of the personnel were great. We were met by Adella on day 1 and given a nice summary of all that we needed to know. The hotel provides a transfer to and from the beach which is great.

We stayed in Room 29 which is great, with a very private patio next tot he main pool area. We switched to room 28 on the last night, it was nice, but WHEN we go back we will ask for 29 specifically.

All in all it is a great place, breakfast is fine, nothing to write home about. Dinner at the restaurant was good too. They made me a special dish on request one night.

I give this place my highest recommendation

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pellegrino
Hotel Pellegrino
#1 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#8 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Angelina
Casa Angelina
#4 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
3.6 mi away
Santa Caterina Hotel
Santa Caterina Hotel
#1 of 30 in Amalfi
5.0 of 5 stars 678 reviews
2.6 mi away
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 5 in Conca dei Marini
5.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margherita

Address: Via Umberto I, 70, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Praiano
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Margherita 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hospitality and friendliness of a family. A warm and friendly welcome. The terrace with swimming pool, solarium and the restaurant on the roof garden. The enchanting view of Praiano, the heart of the Amalfi Coast. Only the guests of Hotel Margherita have the privilege of living these atmospheres, beauty, comforts and services in one of the most appreciated 3 star hotels of Praiano.With free garage, free wi-fi, free shuttle to the beach... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margherita Hotel Praiano
Hotel Margherita Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Margherita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.