We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words Are Not Enough to Describe Our Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Margherita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Margherita to your Saves list
Hotel Margherita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Umberto I, 70, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€89 off room rate
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stow, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Words Are Not Enough to Describe Our Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is the first review I have ever written for a hotel or any service for that matter. It is well deserved. Suela, Andreas, Gennaro, Bianca and all of the others I don't have names for are the embodiment of customer care. Our daughter and her fiance were married in a chapel in Praiano and without the staff at the Margherita it would not have been the once in a lifetime experience that it turned out to be. From an emergency hair appointment to the transportation to the chapel, to the heart formed of gold-foiled chocolates left by the maids on the bride and groom's bed upon returning to the room later that night, theirs is a labor of love for their guests. I wouldn't be surprised if they had a hand in arranging the perfect weather. I have traveled many places in the world and we lived in Europe for 3 years and never felt more at home and welcome. The Hotel Margherita is the gold standard against which I will now always compare others. All the other guests have already described the stellar view, the great food, cleanliness, etc. and it is all true. We can't wait to return. Thank you Hotel Margherita!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    162
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
201
529
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakemont, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We recently returned from a 17 trip to Italy where we spent 3 nights at Hotel Margherita. From the welcoming glass of wine to the offer to help us set up tours, to the great rooms with views, to the fantastic staff who helped in any was they could think of, this was without a doubt the best customer service I have ever experience in the Hotel business. Most places do a good job, but don't always think of the small things for your comfort. This staff showed real insight into what travelers may want or need. Thanks for showing us such a wonderful experience. Best I have ever seen. Bill and Sarah Cooper, USA

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was our second trip to the Hotel Margherita in Praiano and it was even better than three years ago. This family owned and managed hotel provides excellent service, good food and has among the best views of the sea along the Amalfi Coast, and that is saying alot. The balcony view is exceptional and so is the view from the rooftop restaurant.

Room Tip: Go up (there are only 4 floors) for a great view and less street noise. All are good however.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

My partner and I had a fantastic 6 nite stay at this wonderful Hotel and we would recommend it to anyone who want to experience the Italian Mediterranean coast. Praiano is a great place to stay as it is central to everything however not as busy as either the more popular places Positano or Amalfi, however only a short ferry or bus ride away.

The staff at Hotel Margherita led by Suelo and Andrea were very helpful in arranging anything that we asked for from shopping suggestions, trips to the beach, Restaurants, transfers and day trips.

We stayed in a deluxe room for a few nights which was stunning, however had to transfer to another premises due to a wedding having booked out the Hotel, so Suelo found us a beautiful Villa which was equally as good so much so we plan to go back there next year and stay longer.

Our stay in Hotel Margherita was the last stop on a month holiday in Italy and Praiano was the best of that holiday due to this lovely Hotel

Room Tip: Book a deluxe room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was our first two nights on our Honeymoon. The hotel was lovely, room just what we wanted and breakfast great but we felt the staff weren't overly welcoming. We think the website misled us somewhat with the pictures. In particular the hydro pool which is not on the cliff and is why we booked there. All in all it was average.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
af73, Proprietario at Hotel Margherita, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are very sorry for this review but we say also thank you to Anna because it revealed a small defect in our organization.
Anna and her husband were on our honeymoon and we had reported in the notes of the reservation made ​​with booking.com.
Unfortunately in this case we had no way to record this special and we could not accommodate the couple as we always do with the newlyweds.
We are sure that will not happen again even though we always suggest to respond to our email where we ask (even with Anna we did) if there are any special requests or desires before check-in. I hope that, apart from this, the vacation of Anna was enjoyable.

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We just returned from a two-week visit to the Amalfi Coast. Praiano was the best choice for us because of the central location away from the hoards of tourists in the outlying towns. We were guests at Hotel Margherita for 7 days. Owner Suelo went to great lengths to insure that we got the most from our visit. She looked after our transportation needs and helped with tour booking. I'm happy to add to the long list of positive reviews for this property and its staff. Bianca oversees the breakfast buffet and made sure it was well supplied. She even does eggs to special order. The rooms are quiet, comfortable and immaculate. We used their taxi service for transportation to and from Naples and highly recommend it for those who don't want to deal with the overcrowded busses and trains. Dinner on the terrace with its magnificent sea view is very special.

Room Tip: Book early! We were unable to stay for the two weeks and had to relocate for the last 5 days. Our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
af73, Proprietario at Hotel Margherita, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear ColoJo38,
thanks for your beautiful words.
We are proud to have made ​​your holiday special.
We hope you will come back one day from us.

A hug,

Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The beautiful family run Hotel Margherita in Via Umberto, Praiano, is a short bus trip from Positano one way and Amalfi Coast up the other way. This is a Hotel not to miss , the location of the Hotel is beautiful. Overlooking the ocean with ocean and cliff top views in both directions. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The décor of the Hotel reflects the beauty of the Amalfi Coast. Local ceramics are used in every area of the Hotel. The colours are very welcoming. The rooms are well decorated, good quality linen and very comfortable. The bathroom is well equipped with local supplies and again local ceramics are used wherever possible. Our friends stayed in the honeymoon suite and that was something spectacular!
The swimming pool area is small but is inviting. The upper deck of the Hotel is the restaurant and casual drinks area. Big lounge chairs and deck chairs are there for the guests comfort. The views from this section are spectacular and on a warm balmy night, the stars and lights along the coast are magical. Walking distance up the road from the Hotel is a Laundromat and pizza restaurant and down the road is the local supermarket. The bus stops right out front to take you to Positano and the ferry station or continue on this road and it takes you to the Ravello turnoff and more of the Amalfi Coast.
We could not fault this Hotel. Family run it has a real warmth and friendliness. The breakfast and dinner was very very good. Car parking directly out front of the Hotel is free.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
af73, Proprietario at Hotel Margherita, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Aussiecher,

thanks for your beautiful review.
I am very happy that you have enjoyed hotel, staff and location.
We hope to have you again with us, soon.

Kisses,

Suela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margherita

Address: Via Umberto I, 70, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Praiano
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Margherita 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hospitality and friendliness of a family. A warm and friendly welcome. The terrace with swimming pool, solarium and the restaurant on the roof garden. The enchanting view of Praiano, the heart of the Amalfi Coast. Only the guests of Hotel Margherita have the privilege of living these atmospheres, beauty, comforts and services in one of the most appreciated 3 star hotels of Praiano.With free garage, free wi-fi, free shuttle to the beach... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margherita Hotel Praiano
Hotel Margherita Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Margherita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.