We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best kept secret of the amalfi coast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Margherita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Margherita to your Saves list
Hotel Margherita
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Umberto I, 70, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€89 off room rate
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best kept secret of the amalfi coast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I hesitate to write this review as this is a family favourite. The value is incredible cannot believe that it is a 3 star and the value is amazing. My family (2 kids aged 14 and 12) loved it! My husband and I could not believe the views from our balcony. Praiano is the quiet but beautiful part of amalfi coast. Avoid the crowds and $ and stay here. We usually do not return to a place visited but this is an exception !!!

Thank you thank you

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    161
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
197
520
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Flensburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hotel Margherita - affordable, hospitable, clean, friendly, welcoming, comfortable, attentive, beautiful, panoramic and picturesque. These are just some of the adjectives that could be used to describe this very special hotel. My wife and I stayed here in July 2013 on our honeymoon. Our only guide ahead of time was trip advisor - yet our stay far exceeded our expectations. 3 Star by listing, Hotel Margherita delivers 4 star service and quality. Located in quaint, yet splendid Praiano, in between the tourist towns of Positano and Amalfi, and perched just above the main road, the hotel offers astounding views of this majestic and beautiful area. With a swimming pool, a restaurant at the top of the Hotel, with an uninhibited panoramic view of the coast and the ocean, it is simply delightful. Besides the location and comfort one feels when you are there, the hospitality and friendliness of the staff remains the most pleasant memory. From the owners, Suela and Andrea, to all the staff, you immediately feel like it is their joy that you are there. Just before we arrived, Suela communicated that they had mistakenly overbooked the room we had reserved, but to compensate for any inconvenience, offered us another room that night for free! It was evident they wanted our whole stay to be enjoyable. We learned that most of the workers are also extended family. And it is a special family! They have cultivated a culture of hospitality at the hotel, which immediately allows you to relax and enjoy your time. Every person went above and beyond to make our stay a great one! Some other highlights include a welcome drink upon arrival, free transportation to and from the beach, and a delicious breakfast, including fresh-squeezed juice from their own garden, espresso based coffee drinks, and omelets made to order. Not connected to the hotel, but just up the street is a local pizzeria, that you should be sure to visit. Tasty and affordable, with a nice local feel. In the future, we certainly hope to stay at Hotel Margherita once again. Highly Recommended! In fact, it may just exceed your expectations!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed five nights at the Margherita and enjoyed it very much. Suala, the owner, was very helpful and all the staff were service-oriented and kind. We speak very little Italian and Suala's English was excellent; she gave us many good ideas and suggestions for things to do. Breakfasts were great and dinners from the terrace restaurant were often very good. The lemon risotto and smoked mozzarella in lemon leaves are great. The sea view rooms are very pleasant and functional and all have balconies; the views of the coast and Med were wonderful. The small pool is lovely. Praiano is a great choice to stay as it is far less crowded and has much better views than Positano or Amalfi. There is good access to the Path of the Gods from behind the hotel.

Room Tip: 28 is a great room, other sea view rooms in the newer wing on the 3rd and second floors are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

What a lovely hotel, and a perfect location! My boyfriend and I have just come back from a week staying here, we were so impressed with the personal service that the hotel offered; the team were more than happy to drive us to the beach and back, pick us up after dinner in the town and make us a packed breakfast for the morning we left. The rooms were clean and of a great standard with breathtaking views of the coast. The restaurant is also lovely, the food is fresh and delicious and the service is very good. Could not recommend it more highly and would love to go back at some point.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view - they are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at this lovely family run hotel for four nights, and keep wishing we had more time here. Definitely recommend Margherita to other travelers.

Service: Suela runs a pretty efficient set-up, with things working like clockwork. She led from the front, with her meticulous instructions and suggestions helping us plan our days. The rest of the staff, too, is very sweet, attentive and caring. The hotel runs multiple shuttles, and part of their service offering is free drops to the beach or the bus stop. The breakfast was an amazing spread of fresh eggs, fruit, cereal, breads, cakes and croissants, served with a lot of love.

Ma'ma, the hotel's terrace restaurant, serves some excellent food.

Rooms: Ah, the view! The views, especially from the third floor rooms, are to die for. You could see the entire stretch of mountains, juxtaposed against the colorful sea, from the balcony of your room. The third floor balcony even affords the views of the swimming pool. The room, the balcony and the bath tub were all king size, and were cleaned daily.

Location: The location of the hotel may or may not work for you, depending on your priorities. Praiano is a much smaller town compared to Amalfi and Positano. While the hotel is well connected to these bigger towns by buses, the trip is about 40 minutes each side. However, because of this remoteness, the hotel is calmer and more serene (and I am sure cheaper) than the other touristy locations. We didn't mind the remoteness, especially since its being located on a height enhances the views from the room.

Definitely a must stay, if one is not stuck up on staying in Amalfi or Positano.

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor, though a bit expensive, are definitely worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Margherita for 3 nights in June 2013 and it was the best place of the entire trip. The only bad thing was we did not have enough time to spend there and wish we had booked more time at this lovely family run hotel. So hopefully we can go back soon for a full week. I can not say enough about how great Suela was in contacting us by email before our trip with any questions we had and helping us book a day trip to Capri and a day at One Fire Beach. All of the staff was very nice, friendly and very helpful. Our room was very nice, clean and had the most beautiful view of the Amalfi Coast a person could ask for. We enjoyed the breakfast each morning, the service and food was excellent. The suggestions for buying ceramics and car service back from the shop when we bought more than we could carry walking was a great help! The hotel pool are was clean, refreshing and had a great view while you hung out at the pool after a hot day siteseeing. We had a wonderful dinner at restaurant M'ama our first night there. The food was excellent and we had a very romantic first night eating on the rooptop and loving the view of the coast after a long travel day from the USA.We rented a car in Naples and drove to Hotel Margherita, it was a great drive with no issues. We were a little concerned since we had read others talking about long traffc lines and how dangerous the winding roads were. But we had no problems and were very happy we did the drive and saw some wonderful views of the Amalfi coast. The hotel had parking there and when we left they made sure we had maps and water for the road trip to Rome. I can't say enough on how great this hotel is and hope I can make it back there in the next few years. It was a beautiful memory I will have the rest of my life. Best wishes to Suela and eveyone at Hotel Margherita! Joe and I hope to see you all again one day!

Room Tip: Be sure to spend the extra for a room with a beautiful view of the bluest water I have ever seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I just stayed for four nights of our honeymoon at Hotel Margherita. The hotel was excellent! The rooms were very clean and comfortable and a wonderful breakfast was included in the price of the room. We had a wonderful view from our hotel balcony. The staff went above and beyond to assist with directions, transportation, reservations, etc. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking to stay on the Amalfi Coast for a reasonable cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margherita

Address: Via Umberto I, 70, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Praiano
#2 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Margherita 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hospitality and friendliness of a family. A warm and friendly welcome. The terrace with swimming pool, solarium and the restaurant on the roof garden. The enchanting view of Praiano, the heart of the Amalfi Coast. Only the guests of Hotel Margherita have the privilege of living these atmospheres, beauty, comforts and services in one of the most appreciated 3 star hotels of Praiano.With free garage, free wi-fi, free shuttle to the beach... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Escapio and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margherita Hotel Praiano
Hotel Margherita Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Margherita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.