We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views and Mediterranean Access” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Tritone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Tritone to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Tritone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Campo 5 | Praiano (Sa) Costiera Amalfitana, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Views and Mediterranean Access”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

If you want to views from your room and amazing access to the incredible mediterranean without walking to a crowded "pebble" beach, it doesn't get better than at this hotel. Yes, there are Ants - the hotel is built into the side of the mountain. Yes, the rooms are just okay - but it's Italy. Loved the experience. Reasonable price for a relatively pricey location. Spend the day sunbathing on the rocks steps from the sea...and you won't care about the ants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    75
    27
    13
    15
See reviews for
44
144
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

My wife and I just returned from our honeymoon in Italy where we spent 5 nights with the lovely folks at Tritone. This hotel separates itself from others in a variety of ways. First of all, we loved the location. 15 minute walk to the town center of Praiano and 10 minute ride to Positano. Best of both worlds. Looking for a night on the town head in to Positano, looking to keep it low key and relax with some locals head to Praiano. The hotels landscaping and attention to detail is exquisite. Real Vines traveling along the ceiling in the lobby, and flowering shrubs throughout the grounds. The reception set up a day trip to Capri for 65 Euros/ person on a boat of just 12. They even pick you up right at the dock of the hotel. As soon as we stepped foot on to the boat the rest of the passengers were taking pictures of our hotel. That is when we knew our hotel was special. We did not see any other hotels with a lift to the water and their own beach! Yes the hotel is slightly dated but that brings out the charm. The views, the privacy, the staff(Enzo, Gennaro, Delia and Alfonso) and the access to the water is what sets this hotel aside from the others. Would 100% go back.

Room Tip: We were on our honeymoon and the staff allotted us room 200. We absolutely loved this room. It is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed a week to explore the Amalfi coast, Sorrento, Capri, Naples and Pompei. This hotel offered a relaxed stay with stunning view from our balcony.
Friendly staff, good kitchen and really nice to start the day with a good breakfast on the terrace with amazing view. Parking service was great. Going to the sea terrace by elevators was convenient.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in early May, before the "season" really started. We had a junior suite - bedroom and sitting room with french doors in both rooms leading to a huge, private balcony with incredible views of the coast and Praiano to the left and Positano to the right. Balcony had comfortable chaise lounges and as a sun worshipper, I could have stayed there the whole trip. But then I would have missed the huge bathroom lined in hand painted tile with the biggest tub I've ever seen (unfortunately the whirlpool tub was not working). And the hotel dining room - had a lunch served on our first day after the dining room was technically closed - they graciously served us incredible pasta - the best I had in my 10 day stay in Italy - and wine, and a dinner there, I am vegetarian and had good options. Very nice wine list. Had breakfast buffet every morning, loaded with fresh local fruit and everything else under the sun. Many of the servers and desk staff are members of the family that owns the hotel and their dedication and genuine interest in our well being was felt at every turn. Easy to walk to and from Praiano, and great parking at the hotel right off the road. Elevator to the beach and the pool area - another pool nestled into the hillside at the top. Whole place is filled with blooming flowers and huge plants that twine along every surface. A lovely, old world feel. Really beautiful, magical place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Good location, very nice view from the seaside of the hotel. However the hotel needs to be brought up to date, furnishing is old, bathrooms small and poor lighting. Walls a thin and you can hear people when you are in your room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The standard rooms were very simple and basic ( very clean).
The amazing thing is the panoramic view and the amazing private beach. We stayed two nights and if we knew what we know now - we would stay there for all the stay cause its the perfect location for. STAR trip - between Positano and Amafi.
The breakfast was reach

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This hotel is probably the hotel with the best view on the Amalfi Coast. It is between Praiano and Positaro, some 15 minutes walk to Praiano and 30 minutes walk to Positaro. If you don't have a car then this is not the best place to stay since public transport (bus) is available but is not running very frequently (at best 2 times an hour). Bus stop is in front of the hotel. There are enough parking places available, at least in May (hotel was not full) and they are easy to access.

The hotel itself is good with friendly staff. Restaurant is good, but expensive. A cappucino in the lobby is Eur 5. The pool is great and also the facilities near the sea are very good. The sunbeds were new and comfortable.They were still painting the facilities in early May when we stayed there. Also, I do not understand why the daily cleaning of the pool is done in the middle of the morning for an hour. This should be done early in the morning before the guest arrive.

The room for 4p was spacious and clean but we had problems with the wifi in the room. It should work, but we didn't get it to work. Wifi in the lobby, near the pool and at the beach was working.

The shower had a cloughed drain and although staff reacted instantly to our notifications, it was not resolved.

All in all a nice hotel, and the location is such that you forget the little things that are not perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Tritone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tritone

Address: Via Campo 5 | Praiano (Sa) Costiera Amalfitana, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Tritone 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Tritone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Positano
Grand Hotel Tritone Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Tritone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.