We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation at Grand Hotel Tritone” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Tritone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Tritone to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Tritone
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Campo 5 | Praiano (Sa) Costiera Amalfitana, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Vacation at Grand Hotel Tritone”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Good location, very nice view from the seaside of the hotel. However the hotel needs to be brought up to date, furnishing is old, bathrooms small and poor lighting. Walls a thin and you can hear people when you are in your room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    74
    27
    13
    15
See reviews for
44
142
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The standard rooms were very simple and basic ( very clean).
The amazing thing is the panoramic view and the amazing private beach. We stayed two nights and if we knew what we know now - we would stay there for all the stay cause its the perfect location for. STAR trip - between Positano and Amafi.
The breakfast was reach

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This hotel is probably the hotel with the best view on the Amalfi Coast. It is between Praiano and Positaro, some 15 minutes walk to Praiano and 30 minutes walk to Positaro. If you don't have a car then this is not the best place to stay since public transport (bus) is available but is not running very frequently (at best 2 times an hour). Bus stop is in front of the hotel. There are enough parking places available, at least in May (hotel was not full) and they are easy to access.

The hotel itself is good with friendly staff. Restaurant is good, but expensive. A cappucino in the lobby is Eur 5. The pool is great and also the facilities near the sea are very good. The sunbeds were new and comfortable.They were still painting the facilities in early May when we stayed there. Also, I do not understand why the daily cleaning of the pool is done in the middle of the morning for an hour. This should be done early in the morning before the guest arrive.

The room for 4p was spacious and clean but we had problems with the wifi in the room. It should work, but we didn't get it to work. Wifi in the lobby, near the pool and at the beach was working.

The shower had a cloughed drain and although staff reacted instantly to our notifications, it was not resolved.

All in all a nice hotel, and the location is such that you forget the little things that are not perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Gran Hotel Tritone truly amazed me. The diversity of people stood out to me at first. Couples, families, friends, even solo! It is the type of hotel that everyone can appreciate.
The Staff was great, I felt like I knew everyone by the last day of my trip.

Breakfast was delicious, dinner was spectacular and lunch was the best!!! Sitting right next to the ocean watch the staff fish!

The private beach was really different. Due to the current we had to actually swim to the private beach! The pool was salt water, not very big.. but who needs the salt water pool when you have the ocean!

We took a day trip to Capri. They picked us up right where we were sun bathing.. so convenient!

I really enjoyed this hotel because it gave me the secluded feeling but still was so close to everything. The views were breathe taking.

&& I have to add the elevators were SCARY & It was an intense work out walking up and down the steps... so this is not a handicap friendly hotel


I would recommend this hotel to just about everyone I know!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a spectacular view of the ocean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Amazing hotel on the Amalfi Coast! The hotel is not big, situated on a cliff and tiered down to the sea. Hotel has private Beach for guests. Rooms are very comfortable. We had a big balcony in our room with a fantastic sea view. Place is really wonderful! Hotel has a good restaurant. By car you could reach such a beautiful towns as Amalfi and Positano.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very well located hotel by the coast. Besides the wonderfull localization and the room view, it is one of a few hotels with the location by the road with parking and an access to the beach using an elevator. A dinner is the balcony is a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Arrival was quite disappointing. Our room looked like it was last renovated in the 1980's, the early 1980's. We had dinner in the hotel and it was very average and very expensive. All in all we were wondering what we were doing spending over 200 euro a night for the next ten nights on!
As the days went on, the character of the place and the beauty of the setting overcomes you. Yes, the room was very old but it was clean (smelled a little musty) and the balcony was massive. The breakfasts were also lovely with an enormous selection of sweet things, great coffee and the best croissants and doughnuts you will ever eat.
The staff in reception are a little under motivated although generally polite and decent. The rest of the staff are very nice and helpful, particularly the breakfast waiters.
The hotel has a lift that brings you to a glorious pool area and beach by the sea.
It does seem simple things could make this hotel a lot better, simply replacing the worn out prints in the picture frames, front office being more proactive, the car park man helping with buses and a few small touches could really perk it up. It is hard to understand why these things don't happen.
In the end, we loved it, you can't help but love it. The quirky lay out and labyrinth of corridors and rooms. The great views, some eccentric and fun staff, the beach, and the glorious nearby village of praiano which you can walk to in about 15 minutes. (slow walking)

Room Tip: The lower floor rooms are not renovated but are huge. The higher up rooms were newer and nicer but m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Tritone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Tritone

Address: Via Campo 5 | Praiano (Sa) Costiera Amalfitana, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#10 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Tritone 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Tritone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Positano
Grand Hotel Tritone Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Tritone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.