We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Onda Verde

Save Saved
You added Hotel Onda Verde to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Onda Verde
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Terramare, 3, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #7 of 20 hotels in Praiano
witney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Honeymoon Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This was the final week of our 3 week honeymoon in Italy. We had not told the hotel prior to our booking but they soon made us feel special .
The location was very romantic with ocean side dining in the mornings and evenings. The chef Nico was excellent, breakfast was wonderful and you could request eggs done to your liking.
Hotel staff were so helpful and positive even though they must have all been quite tired towards the end of their busy season.
Rooms were cleaned every morning and fresh towels and toiletries every day.

Room Tip: The room we had was a superior with a small balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    108
    14
    13
    5
See reviews for
63
305
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa, Kansas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Onde Verde is near Priano, and not in the busy Amalfi or Positano so it was just what we were looking for. There were several very nice restaurants close by and we were able to charter a small boat to take us up and down the coast for site seeing. The room was comfortable though a bit stuffy unless we opened the hall door for a few minutes to get some airflow. The Decor was pure Mediterranean with lovely tile everywhere.
It is kinda pricey but I think every thing is on the Amalfi coast. The front desk people were always very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown Heights, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at Onda Verde this September 2013 on our honeymoon. We loved the location of the hotel, which wasn't crowded with tourists and had a small beach right below. The views were amazing, and the room was great. It was by far the largest of any of the hotel rooms that we stayed at while in Italy and there was a full size bathroom and shower! The restaurant had amazing views. The continental breakfast was really good. While we had one great waiter while we stayed there, the rest of the staff did not present themselves as overly friendly or particularly happy to help us. We practically had to beg one of the staff to phone in reservations at another restaurant for us one night, and because he was both the waiter and the receptionist, sometimes we had to wait for awhile or go track him down in the restaurant if we needed anything. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and would return being it was such a great hotel, we would just try and avoid having to deal with the young male receptionist by any costs!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our vacation in Italy. We had the pleasure of staying at this most romantic, breathtaking hotel ever. The staff and owners treated us as if we were family. They were incredible. We had candle lite dinners every evening on the balcony over looking the most exquisite view you can imagine.. We have been to Italy about 8 times in the past few years, but never experienced the beauty and tranquility as we did at the Onda Verde , we r now considering on buying a little place there. The town of Priano is paradise in southern Italy..

Room Tip: They only have one type of room, all over looking the sea.. All the rooms open up with French doors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Onda Verda was recommended to us by friends and we are so glad we listened. After spending several days in a crowded Rome, it was so nice to relax on the coast away from the masses. We loved the fact that their location was in Praiano rather than Positano or Amalfi. True, you can't walk to shopping, but there are a few restaurants within walking distance. The staff was amazing: they set up 2 different boat trips (Capri & Emerald Grotto) and set up a rental car to be delivered to us for our drive to our next destination. We found the food at dinner to be delicious! Andrea was our waiter each time and he was such an endearing man. And the breakfast buffet was delightful. We would return in a heartbeat to this "special find".

Room Tip: We loved being only 1 floor above the main lobby/restaurant. We used the stairs rather than waiting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Loved this hotel's location on Amalfi Coast just slightly away from the hustle/bustle and built into the cliffs. Amazing sea views, clean rooms (but small). We traveled with two other couples and one couple was put right next to us (I think it was 15 and 16)--at first I was disappointed because we didn't have a sea view from the room, but these two rooms shared a private terrace that had an amazing view with an outdoor shower, lounge chairs and a table for 4. It was great! We'd sit out after a day's excursion and enjoy wine overlooking the sea. We'd shower outside which was fun! The staff were very helfpul for coordinating excursions or getting a snack even if the chef wasn't there. They also have THE BEST lemoncello! Tucked away from noisy town yet a few restaurants just a walk away. Access to beach/swimming (you must swim on the Amalfi coast--the color of the sea is amazing). Our boat ride to Capri picked us up from the local dock just a walk away. Tour to Pompeii picked us up right at the hotel. Hotel does have an elevator which is nice for dragging luggage. Very clean and nice bathroom (though shower stalls are small but hey, our room had the outdoor shower!). The mattress was a little hard but I found that to be the case in all the hotels we stayed in throughout Italy. No need for a fitness center with all the walking to do in the area (if you need a workout, hit Footpaths of the Gods--that's another story...)

Room Tip: If traveling with another couple, ask for the room with the shared terrace and outdoor shower--I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Before commenting on the hotel it is important to consider how you are traveling to the Amalfi coast. If you are thinking about renting a car be aware that the driving is very challenging mainly due to the very narrow hairpin turns. For rental car pick-up, if you are traveling by train, it is better to rent your car in Salerno vs Naples. Around the Naples train station traffic can be a mess and the roads are very poorly labeled. Salerno is a nicer and easier to navigate city.

Regarding the hotel; if you are looking for a very nice property in a good quiet location, pick the Onda Verde. Priano is a quaint town, with many good restaurants and no tourist traps. If you are looking for a lots of nearby shopping and activity, then I would stay in Positano or Amalfi.
Overall the Onda Verde Hotel is excellent – outstanding views, nice sized and well equipped rooms, and a very friendly staff.

I would not, however, recommend the restaurant. The restaurant below the hotel (Il Pirate) and by the restaurants by the beach are much better.

Room Tip: Rooms 121, 124 on the 2nd floor are very good choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Onda Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Onda Verde

Address: Via Terramare, 3, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#4 Family Hotel in Praiano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Onda Verde 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Onda Verde" hotel, situated in the heart of the Amalfi Coast, offers an unforgettable stay for nature lovers in search of tranquillity. Like a perfectly set diamond, Onda Verde is in an enchanting location among the beautiful inlets of the coast; 7 km (4.2 miles) equidistant from the towns of Amalfi and Positano. The Hotel boasts an exclusive panorama of the Amalfi Coast; views include the Saracen Tower of Praiano, and that of the Conca Promontory, as well as Paestum, Capri and the Point of Campanella. The hotel is very near the cliffs and the beach. Its facilities and amenities enable guests to enjoy the sea and soak up the sun in the most inviting, friendly and relaxing atmosphere. When each guest arrives, they are greeted by a friendly reception. The Hotel has twenty five (25) private rooms nestled in five (5) mountainside villas as pictured here with bathroom, hair dryer, safety deposit box, minibar, telephone, free Wi-fi connection, satellite TV, air conditioning and breathtaking panoramic view. If you are a lover of beauty and nature, and you wish to watch breathtaking sunrises and romantic sunsets, Onda Verde is the place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Onda Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onda Verde Hotel
Onda Verde Praiano
Hotel Onda Verde Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Onda Verde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.