We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning for the third time and loving it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Bellavista

Save Saved
You added Villa Bellavista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Bellavista
Via Rezzola Nr 47, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Returning for the third time and loving it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We love this hotel. We have just booked here for the third time and will be staying for a week in July (we were last here in 2009 and 2012). The views are fantastic across the Amalfi coast line up toward Positano and out to the Isle of Capri. Our preference is to stay out of the busyness of Positano and Praiano is only 6 km away with a regular local bus service just a few meters away. The bus will take you up and down the Amalfi coast. There is a convenience store well within walking distance and lots of nice restaurants. The local church is beautiful and only 50 m or so away. There are lots of steps but it IS the Amalfi coast!! They are part of the experience. The local cove is beautiful and great for a swim. The hotel is clean, spectacuar views from the rooms (ask for a sea view), the rooms are simple but fine - remember, you are not paying for the Hilton here. We found this place by chance in 2009. We returned with family in 2012. Best recommendation I can give is that we are planning our third return visit from Australia in July 2014. Spectacular views, great location/position on the coast, good value for money.

Room Tip: The majority of room have a sea view - ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    7
    9
    7
See reviews for
16
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Do not spend your hard earned money to stay here!!!! The only good thing about it is the view from the balcony otherwise I would not recommend anything! First there are a ton of steps to go down if you have luggage it is very difficult and they have noone there to help! Do NOT eat dinner there we arrived after a long exhausting day and decided why not eat at the restaurant so we asked what time they opened they said 8 they do not tell you the menu or price and just start serving you and not even italian food but German food that was not fit for my dog and the charge we found out at the end was 25 Euro and none of us could even force feed ourselves the slop! Their free breakfast is also bad not much selection stale food! Our key to the room didn't work so we ended up not locking our door the fan didn't work the screen door to piece was ripped so bugs were in the room you can hear them shuffling tables all night and morning so you can't sleep! Worst hotel experience ever! Thank goodness for good food at other places around there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We have been traveling throughout Amalfi for weeks and this is by far the worst hotel!

We booked months in advance only to be given what looked to be the smallest room in the hotel. We don't have high expectations when it comes to hotels (having back packed many times) but this was definitely a shock.

The service desk is barely manned and it's hard to have any requests met.

In the dark dining area and foyer which is the only place we could get wifi (fair enough) the workers were constantly yelling at each other from across the hallways making it impossible to relax or concentrate on what you were doing. The air con wasn't on also making the room very hot and sweaty.

The room itself had a great view but was very small and smelt. The bathroom was only equipped with hand towels making it hard to dry yourself. The air con was on full both nights we stayed and it only just cooled the room making it quite a hot uncomfortable night.

The hotel has a great location, I don't mind the stairs (let's face it that's Amalfi) but unfortunately it is very poorly run and maintained.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williston, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Villa Bellavista. The view from the patio outside our room and from the restaurant at the hotel was incredible. Praiano is lovely town in between Positano and Amalfi that is not nearly as large or as touristy as Positano or Amalfi. It is a quick and easy bus ride to either.

The hotel doesn't have parking. We did find a place to park our rental car for free after quite a bit of searching. Driving on the Amalfi Coast is a lot of fun for those who like adventurous driving, but I would recommend not arriving by rental car unless you want to experience the thrill of driving on the Amalfi coast.

It is four flights of stair down to the hotel from the road. Come prepared to haul your luggage down to the hotel. There is a much easier route down to the hotel starting from the piazza in front of the church in the center of Praiano that has more ramps and considerably less stairs. Don't let the stairs discourage you. This is a wonderful hotel.

The hike down and up the 360+ stairs to the rocky cove below the hotel is well worth it and swimming in the cove is wonderful.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with a balcony or patio overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Priano is tipical Italian small vilage, and its on the best location, between Amalfi and Positano. Hotel is ok, it have best terace with amazing view,from the dinning area. Rooms very poor, small, not very clean, and old bed and everything inside was not so in good shape. The worst bed I ve ever sleep probably. The good side is the view of the room and the sound of the birds that are singing constantly. Beautifull.Owners not so nice, and welcoming. Food ok, nothing special. Million stairs to everywhere,but thats the charm of that place. View amazing!!! I had wonderfull time there 2009!

Room Tip: Maybe bigger rooms are better, we had small and it was not good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our entire family ended a three week Italy tour with a week in Praiano at this lovely, family run bed and breakfast. The terraces and ocean view rooms look out over the spectacular Amalfi coastline. There is a wonderful swimming cove 300 steps below the place, which also includes a small pool, indoor and outdoor dining areas, and a lobby filled with idea books. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, and the rooms worked well for our family of diverse ages and small children. We preferred Praiano to Amalfi and Positano, because there is less tourist traffic, easy bus access to the other towns, a wide sample of restaurants, and trails that lead to a local convent and on to the Path of the Gods. This family-run business has been there for 50 years, and they know how to make you feel welcome. We felt this stop was the right answer to the question "how should we put the finish on our trip that is both exhilarating and relaxing. We didn't mind the stairs that led to Villa Bellavista; it provided good exercise and encouraged us to travel light. Breakfast was terrific, especially considering the view from the terrace.

Room Tip: Ask for large balcony ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

First of all there is no porter so you must drag your luggage down many stairs to the hotel from the street level, they did not offer to help us get to the hotel or to our rooms. There is no elevator so we had to drag our luggage down more stairs to the lower level of the hotel and my room was a closet that didn't even have a room number. From the hall I entered into the bathroom before entering the bedroom. The room had old bedding, no mattress pads, no fan, one outlet, no hairdryer, no water glass and old towels that smelled like vinegar. The shower had mold!!! I requested another room but was told they were full even though the reservation had been booked months earlier. I should have walked out of this hotel but not knowing where to go I stayed, my mistake. Do not trust this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Bellavista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bellavista

Address: Via Rezzola Nr 47, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is located in the centre of Praiano, an old fisherman village close to Positano (KM6) and Amalfi( KM 9) , but far away from the noisy street, in a QUITE and BEAUTIFUL area, surrounded by olive and lemon trees: the ideal place for a wonderful holiday! From the spacious terraces of the hotel you can admire the sea of the bay, with its crystal water, and the enchanting coast, CAPRI and the island of "Li Galli". The rooms are spacious and sunny, with en-suite bathroom and terrace or balcony overlooking the sea and the island of Capri.. They are equipped with T.V., Hairdryer, air-conditioning and minibar. Four rooms are with no balcony and seaview. Everyroom has his own colour: yellow, pink, blue, typical colour of the AMALFICOAST. We have also one appartment for families. At the hotel's restaurant you can try regional specialities served on a wide terrace overlooking the sea ith his blue colours. The beaches, here you can sim and snoreling are: TORRE DI GRADO, MARINA DI PRAIA surrounded by two cliffs, and CALA DELLA GAVITELLA with its little port, restaurant... And the sun until late thanks to its fortunate position. While here it is possible to go on many trips to Amalfi, Ravello, Sorrento, Pompei, by public bus, from the bay of the hotel you can take a trip WITH THE BOAT OF THE HOTEL to Capri Island,Grotta dello Smeraldo. Pubblic busses SITA runs every half hour to Amalfi, Positano, Ravello, Sorrento. The bus stop is five minutes by foot away. It is also possible to park the car near the hotel free.. The quiet and the tranquillity of this place will make your stay at Hotel Villa Bellavista just perfect, ideal to rest your body and mind. The magnificent panoramas of the Isle of Capri and the Bay of Naples are the reasons why a stay at our hotel is unique and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Villa Bellavista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Bellavista Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Bellavista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.