We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW views and WOW steps” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torre Saracena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Torre Saracena to your Saves list
Hotel Torre Saracena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 21, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
212 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“WOW views and WOW steps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had a quiet break from our 2 weeks on the Amalfi coast in the little town of Praiano. The hotel was conveniently located right at a SITA bus stop (the last one going out of town towards Amalfi), so you could hop around the coast even if you didn't have a car (they had parking). Hotel reception was at street level (3 steps from the road) and offered a wonderful sea view for breakfast on the terrace. That meant however that all rooms were down from there, with no elevator.
To get to the first level required about 40 stairs and it went down from there. We were hauling 5 bags so this was not easy. If you have any problems with stairs, this hotel, as with so many on the coast, may not be for you.
The rooms were big and we had a nice patio looking out over the sea. The shower was really small and you had to step over an 8" ledge to get in, so again accessibility may be a challenge. We walked down the 210 stairs to swim and while it took awhile to get back up the walk was worth it. The water was still swimable in late October and right around the corner was a grotto you could swim in.
The marina access steps were close by but it was a long walk down. A surprising number of restaurants await you and don't miss the great cooking from mamma at the Bar Petit Mar. You could walk along the main road for awhile and find other places to eat and if you are really fit
you can hike up to the older part of town.
Torre Saracena offered a relaxing place to return to and be out of the hustle of the bigger
tourist towns.

Room Tip: There are steps down to every room, stay in the main building for less stairs; however the stand-al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    117
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
57
181
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our Superior room was definitely one of the best to select. Our views of the nearby Saracen Torres and coastline below us were captivating.
The dressing room had C18 ceiling frescoes, and the whole room was spacious, light and comfortable. We had a wonderful terrace to enjoy an evening drink whilst taking in the relaxing panorama.
The delicious breakfasts were ample and varied, and serve doña sunny large room with those magical views.
STA buses were literally outside the front door, handy, but on a few occasions, too crowded to stop, so patience or alternative local plans are needed when the ferries aren't running, due to choppy seas, or busty times.

Room Tip: Superior rooms definitely, as standard rooms were lower down the cliff side and looked very simple f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at the Saracena hotel for 5 nights. A lovely hotel with great staff. Location is good, Praiano is quiet compared with Amalphi and Positano. Bus stop outside the door makes things very easy. Breakfast is very nice and would recommend to eat on the terrace as the view is awesome. A nice day is to catch the bus to Positano then ferry to Amalphi then bus back to Praiano. Bus drivers are great drivers but a bit hair raising and allow too many people on the bus.

Room Tip: Steps to most rooms but not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very well received at the hotel and got valuable help with our luggage as well as to park the car. The room is average and lacks couple of chairs. A tall person above 1.75 m or 5' 8" will find the beds short. The patio is well furnished. The bathroom is narrow but well equipped. Breakfast is good compared to other hotels in the area but the hotel lacks dining facility which is a bit of a distance from the hotel. There is a bus stop just at the hotel. In summary the price to offering is good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was our second time staying at Torre Saracena and once again we had a great time. The hotel is in a good location with private access down steps to the sea and also in walking distance of restaurants and the cove. We like the hotel because it is peaceful, clean and tidy with a beautiful panoramic view. The staff are always friendly and attentitive -they remembered us from last time and were happy to see us back. We ate at the owners Eliana's restaurant-just down the coast-to which they provided a free shuttle service. We also ate at Hotel Smeraldo-a twenty minute walk up into Praiano-they also were very friendly and gave us a free lift back to the hotel. We look forward to returning to hotel Torre Saracena.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Sept 2013 - we booked in advance and when we arrived realized there were about seventy steps to our room and no elevator. No way our knees could have done it for six days. Crowded, small highway to get there took 1 1/2 hours to go 20 miles. The hotel is absolutely beautifull and has the most gorgeous view I have ever seen and the people were friendly, helpful and refunded our money so we could go to a larger hotel with an elevator. I would recommend anyone stay here but if you can't do stairs, book one of the two rooms on the top floor. Fantastic Place

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hubby and I arrived on our 3rd stop of our Italian honeymoon in Salerno by train from Florence. (Love the trains there, so efficient). After getting to Salerno we took a bus to Amalfi and then transferred to another to Praiano. Taking the bus along the cliffside, while beautiful, was very scary for me! We made it to the hotel and we thrilled to find a very helpful young man checking us in, showing us the room and recommending their restaurant down the road for dinner, awesome! Our room was amazing, so big, AC was on and there was a balcony also with a view of the sea...LOVE!! The bathroom was a bit small but had all the amenities you require all in perfect working order. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every one on the 'relaxing' part of our honeymoon (not that 400 steps here or there was always relaxing). The breakfast they offer was sufficient and definitely ask if you like tea or something other than regular coffee. Their entrance in to the sea (cant really say beach) has some lounge chairs and a ladder in to the sea and is nice for a more private swimming, but I'd reccommend hitting the nearby beach. Overall a wonderful stay, fantastic service and beautiful hotel!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with a balcony! We had the Diamond room and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Praiano
0.1 mi away
Hotel Locanda Costa Diva
0.7 mi away
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
Hotel Tramonto d'Oro
#8 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 stars 552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Margherita
Hotel Margherita
#2 of 20 in Praiano
5.0 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Onda Verde
Hotel Onda Verde
#3 of 20 in Praiano
4.5 of 5 stars 669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Holiday
Hotel Holiday
#14 of 20 in Praiano
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Tritone
Grand Hotel Tritone
#11 of 20 in Praiano
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Torre Saracena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Saracena

Address: Via Roma 21, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#6 Family Hotel in Praiano
#8 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Saracena 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Amalfi Coast ( half way between Amalfi and Positano) the Hotel Torre Saracena is situated in a strategic position in the green landscape of the beautiful coast and directly on the sea. The family management offers a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. The private descent to the sea, the gardens in the shade of lemon and olive trees gives relax and romantic atmosphere. On the Amalfi Coast all is poetry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Torre Saracena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Torre Saracena Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Torre Saracena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.