We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torre Saracena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Torre Saracena to your Saves list
Hotel Torre Saracena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 21, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our Superior room was definitely one of the best to select. Our views of the nearby Saracen Torres and coastline below us were captivating.
The dressing room had C18 ceiling frescoes, and the whole room was spacious, light and comfortable. We had a wonderful terrace to enjoy an evening drink whilst taking in the relaxing panorama.
The delicious breakfasts were ample and varied, and serve doña sunny large room with those magical views.
STA buses were literally outside the front door, handy, but on a few occasions, too crowded to stop, so patience or alternative local plans are needed when the ferries aren't running, due to choppy seas, or busty times.

Room Tip: Superior rooms definitely, as standard rooms were lower down the cliff side and looked very simple f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    103
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
49
165
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at the Saracena hotel for 5 nights. A lovely hotel with great staff. Location is good, Praiano is quiet compared with Amalphi and Positano. Bus stop outside the door makes things very easy. Breakfast is very nice and would recommend to eat on the terrace as the view is awesome. A nice day is to catch the bus to Positano then ferry to Amalphi then bus back to Praiano. Bus drivers are great drivers but a bit hair raising and allow too many people on the bus.

Room Tip: Steps to most rooms but not too bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Very well received at the hotel and got valuable help with our luggage as well as to park the car. The room is average and lacks couple of chairs. A tall person above 1.75 m or 5' 8" will find the beds short. The patio is well furnished. The bathroom is narrow but well equipped. Breakfast is good compared to other hotels in the area but the hotel lacks dining facility which is a bit of a distance from the hotel. There is a bus stop just at the hotel. In summary the price to offering is good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was our second time staying at Torre Saracena and once again we had a great time. The hotel is in a good location with private access down steps to the sea and also in walking distance of restaurants and the cove. We like the hotel because it is peaceful, clean and tidy with a beautiful panoramic view. The staff are always friendly and attentitive -they remembered us from last time and were happy to see us back. We ate at the owners Eliana's restaurant-just down the coast-to which they provided a free shuttle service. We also ate at Hotel Smeraldo-a twenty minute walk up into Praiano-they also were very friendly and gave us a free lift back to the hotel. We look forward to returning to hotel Torre Saracena.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Sept 2013 - we booked in advance and when we arrived realized there were about seventy steps to our room and no elevator. No way our knees could have done it for six days. Crowded, small highway to get there took 1 1/2 hours to go 20 miles. The hotel is absolutely beautifull and has the most gorgeous view I have ever seen and the people were friendly, helpful and refunded our money so we could go to a larger hotel with an elevator. I would recommend anyone stay here but if you can't do stairs, book one of the two rooms on the top floor. Fantastic Place

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hubby and I arrived on our 3rd stop of our Italian honeymoon in Salerno by train from Florence. (Love the trains there, so efficient). After getting to Salerno we took a bus to Amalfi and then transferred to another to Praiano. Taking the bus along the cliffside, while beautiful, was very scary for me! We made it to the hotel and we thrilled to find a very helpful young man checking us in, showing us the room and recommending their restaurant down the road for dinner, awesome! Our room was amazing, so big, AC was on and there was a balcony also with a view of the sea...LOVE!! The bathroom was a bit small but had all the amenities you require all in perfect working order. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every one on the 'relaxing' part of our honeymoon (not that 400 steps here or there was always relaxing). The breakfast they offer was sufficient and definitely ask if you like tea or something other than regular coffee. Their entrance in to the sea (cant really say beach) has some lounge chairs and a ladder in to the sea and is nice for a more private swimming, but I'd reccommend hitting the nearby beach. Overall a wonderful stay, fantastic service and beautiful hotel!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with a balcony! We had the Diamond room and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

You can swim in the sea off the rocks, the ladder into the water didn't seem too stable, normally I would say that it was me being wussy but my husband mentioned it as well. Staff were lovely and spoke great English. They partner with a restaurant down the road which serves great food and they will come and pick you up. The room was clean bright, and had a nice balcony and we watched the sun rise from it. Almost forgot to say breakfast was lovely.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Torre Saracena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Saracena

Address: Via Roma 21, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#6 Family Hotel in Praiano
#9 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Saracena 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Amalfi Coast ( half way between Amalfi and Positano) the Hotel Torre Saracena is situated in a strategic position in the green landscape of the beautiful coast and directly on the sea. The family management offers a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. The private descent to the sea, the gardens in the shade of lemon and olive trees gives relax and romantic atmosphere. On the Amalfi Coast all is poetry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Torre Saracena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Torre Saracena Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Torre Saracena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.