We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon 3rd Stop!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Torre Saracena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Torre Saracena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Torre Saracena
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 21, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 20 hotels in Praiano
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Honeymoon 3rd Stop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Hubby and I arrived on our 3rd stop of our Italian honeymoon in Salerno by train from Florence. (Love the trains there, so efficient). After getting to Salerno we took a bus to Amalfi and then transferred to another to Praiano. Taking the bus along the cliffside, while beautiful, was very scary for me! We made it to the hotel and we thrilled to find a very helpful young man checking us in, showing us the room and recommending their restaurant down the road for dinner, awesome! Our room was amazing, so big, AC was on and there was a balcony also with a view of the sea...LOVE!! The bathroom was a bit small but had all the amenities you require all in perfect working order. We stayed for 3 nights and enjoyed every one on the 'relaxing' part of our honeymoon (not that 400 steps here or there was always relaxing). The breakfast they offer was sufficient and definitely ask if you like tea or something other than regular coffee. Their entrance in to the sea (cant really say beach) has some lounge chairs and a ladder in to the sea and is nice for a more private swimming, but I'd reccommend hitting the nearby beach. Overall a wonderful stay, fantastic service and beautiful hotel!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with a balcony! We had the Diamond room and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    89
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
39
139
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

You can swim in the sea off the rocks, the ladder into the water didn't seem too stable, normally I would say that it was me being wussy but my husband mentioned it as well. Staff were lovely and spoke great English. They partner with a restaurant down the road which serves great food and they will come and pick you up. The room was clean bright, and had a nice balcony and we watched the sun rise from it. Almost forgot to say breakfast was lovely.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballito, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The major asset of this hotel is the location. It is located on the cliff overlooking the sea in Praiano where it is not to busy in fact it is so close to the sea and the cliffs are so steap that the view consists of a 180 degree seaview. Praiano is located halfway between Amalfi and Positano the major tourist spots in the area. The standard rooms are adequate but small as you can emagine in a location such as this. We gpt a 12 sq m room initially but after our request we were moved to a little larger standard room with itsown balcony. All this was no problem and done with an attitud of extreme helpfullnessand a smile.The breakfast does not have any hot fpod however it is more that adequate with lots of cookies,croisonts,cheese and 2 varieties of cold meat. The hotel has 3star rating. The sea can be accessed by stairs that go down to a platform where ypu can dive dirwctly intothe sea. The bus stops directly in front of the hotel and is easy to use when exploring the Amalfi coastline. We hired a car to get to the Amalfi coast and then used the bus once we were there. The hotel has parking. Parking along the coast is very scarce and expensive. Take your own swimming towels if possible because these are provided at a cost of 5€ per towel.
A god holiday experience on the whole.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

What a wonderful place. Room was clean and large with fantastic ocean view. Breakfast on the deck was such a wonderful way to start the day and truly made you appreciate what a amazing part of the world you were in. The staff went above and beyond to assist and made what was already a wonderful hotel stay an outstanding holiday experience.Cant wait to return !

Room Tip: The Superior Ocean View room is well and truly worth paying a little more for ! Amazing deck and vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Spent a week here and can't say enough about the hotel, the staff and the beauty surrounding it. Very convenient to shuttles for Amalfi, Positano, Ravello and the staff makes it even easier.

No matter where you are in this hotel the vistas as magnificent. The trek up and down the mountain to our rooms and to the decks were just a great exercise after eating all the wonderful foods Praiano has to offer.

Truly a memorable vacation and thanks to Luisa, Concetta and Pino and, of course, our night Limoncella nightcap............it was a wonderful vacation! Hightly recommend this place to anyone considering the Amalfi Coast, which is a "must go"............We loved it!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are lovely. We had a room on the lower deck with a huge terrace and a fig tree th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had booked an apartment up the hill but that fell through and we found this hotel by chance. From the beginning, they were very helpful, the hotel, excellent. Because we had not pre-booked, we stayed in four different rooms in seven nights. We pretty much got a full tour of the rooms. Each room was excellent. The first room had its own terrace, the second had a terrace outside the door, the third had its own balcony and the last one had a terrace outside the door but the views from all rooms were amazing, especially the third room, wow.

The staff were so helpful, giving you a steer on buses, tours, all other things to do.

They didn't have a restaurant on site but they have a quick shuttle down the road to their restaurant. Also, restaurant Costa Diva is next door. But you do have breakfast out on a balcony with spectacular views.

There are steps down to a private swimming area, a nice surprise. Just a few metres from the front door, there are steps down to the beach, great place to go for dinner (Bar Mare Petit for reasonable grub and a laugh!).

It is ideally located. A short walk to Praiano and buses to Praiano, Positano and Amalfi all outside the front door. A 100 metres down the road, the steps lead up to the Path of the Gods walking trial (bring some kind of walking shoes).

Parking is free. For €110 to €130 B and B in a 3* hotel, I recommend Hotel Torre Saracena!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. They all have great views, either private or outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

What a place to stay !! Upon arrival, after a hair raising drive along the coast road from Sorrento, we were met by 2 men who hoisted our (heavy) bags onto their shoulders and carried them to our room for us. This was a great start as, typical for the area, there were a number of stairs to get to our room. We had a standard double which was a modular unit with a terrace overlooking the water. It was very comfortable and clean and quite roomy. The service during the whole stay was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful, arranging a car to take us to Naples on our departure and giving us plenty of help with any of our queries. The descent to the private swimming area was certainly an experience and make sure you swim around and into the grotto for a look - amazing !! All up a wonderful stay and would thoroughly recommend the hotel. Plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance also. Just be warned that you need to be able to handle stairs if you stay here as all the rooms I saw involved stairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Torre Saracena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Torre Saracena

Address: Via Roma 21, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Praiano
#6 Family Hotel in Praiano
#8 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Torre Saracena 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Amalfi Coast ( half way between Amalfi and Positano) the Hotel Torre Saracena is situated in a strategic position in the green landscape of the beautiful coast and directly on the sea. The family management offers a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. The private descent to the sea, the gardens in the shade of lemon and olive trees gives relax and romantic atmosphere. On the Amalfi Coast all is poetry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Torre Saracena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Torre Saracena Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Torre Saracena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.