We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best holidays ever!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Calanteluna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Praiano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Calanteluna
Save
You added Calanteluna to your Saves list
Via Casa Cinque, 4, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of our best holidays ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at Calanteluna for a week in July and had an incredible time. There were four of us - ourselves and two teenagers and we all enjoyed ourselves.
The villa was extremely clean and bright inside. Two king size beds were very comfortable. Our boys had their own bathroom which I really liked. There was a washing machine in the downstairs bathroom which was a godsend as we were able to clean our clothes and dry them on the veranda.
The kitchen was well equipped also.
The garden and veranda/terrace offered a spectacular view of the Mediterranean and we ate many meals at the outdoor table. Umbrellas offered shade from the sun and there was also a cool tub outside which was a lovely way to cool down after a warm day touring the coastal towns.
The entire villa was so clean and beautifully decorated in white and blue.
The village of Praiano is a gem and was a good choice for us. The village is right next door to Positano so you can easily travel between the towns either by car or bus and then come back and spend a quieter evening in Praiano away from the crowds. Praiano had a lovely beach and we enjoyed the swimming. However, keep in mind that there are a lot of steps between the main road and the beach...it's worth the walk though. Coffee shops, restaurants and grocery stores are available in Praiano.
The people in the village and in fact along the entire coast were so incredibly friendly.
However, the family who own Calanteluna were absolutely wonderful!! Elia gave us a tour of the house and facilities when we arrived, recommended tours, restaurants and more. He was a wealth of information and made us feel very welcome. He was always available via text if we needed anything. His brother Pietro was also very helpful. We required a doctor for my youngest son a few days after arriving and Elia and Pietro were very helpful, arranging to have a doctor come and visit us at the villa within an hour of letting them know that we required a doctor. Such a relief!
The family own a restaurant in Positano and it's definitely worth a visit - we had a superb meal and met some other members of this friendly family.
I have already told many friends about this gem of a find. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
46
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My husband and I and our best friends visited the Amalfi Coast at the start of June. Calante Luna was an absolute dream and a highlight of our European vacation. Elia and his delightful mother were great hosts. The property is very spacious and comfortable. Bathrooms are the light and modern, probably the best we had in Europe. Bedrooms are large with plenty of free space, a television and desk, and most importantly Juliet doors opening to the beautiful view. The kitchen was very adequate and we cooked several meals at home. The garden, spa and lounge area is very pretty and creates a very relaxing environment. There are quite a lot of stairs to the property, however we were grateful for these after all the delicious pizza, pasta and gelato we ate. We are already discussing a trip back to this little piece of heaven....
We would definitely recommend this property to anyway, and much preferred being in Praiano than Positano. All tours can be taken from Praiano and the little beach below the church so it was ideal for us. There are over 500 steps from the beach/rock platform to the main street, but this didn't deter us from enjoying it.
Elia's family run a restaurant in Positano and this is also recommended. We had a delicious meal there and his brother was a great host.
We will be telling all our friends to visit and can highly recommend this property!! Thank you to Elia and Mama for such a wonderful stay and for all your help with our tours!!

Room Tip: We had a two bedroom/two bathroom apartment and it was fabulous with a very large balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Our first trip to Italy and the family-owned villa property was the perfect stay in Praiano. It has a variety of suite choices if you're visiting as a couple or family, and the views are breath-taking! Elia and his brother Pietro were the most gracious hosts as was their family who also owns another property in the seaside town of Positano and a restaurant, fantastic cuisine! Only item to be aware of is the numerous stairs to climb up to your apartment suite, well everywhere in Praiano there are stairs:) Everyone is in great shape because of all the walking you do. The private terrace we had overlooked the most spectacular scenery, the Tyrannian Sea, Positano, Capri in the distance and sunsets can't be described - it's a must stay and a must see! We're looking forward to the next trip to Italy.

Room Tip: The suites are all higher up into the mountainside, but they have kitchenettes to allow for storing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a lovley place in the Amalfi Coast.There were 7 adults and 3 children in our party and 2 of the apartments were perfectly suited for us. The views were amazing and the rooms so lovely and spacious. The photos do not do the place justice - there was nothing better than enjoying wines and cheese on the balcony overlooking the sea and enjoying the peace and quiet.
Elia and Pietro were so accommodating and friendly - they were happy to help with any enquiries. IF you get the chance, use the boat people that they suggest to explore Capri - we still agree this was one of the hightlights of the holiday!
We will definitely be recommending this place to all - the perfect place from which to explore the Amalfi coast. Close enough to get to Positano and Amalfi by bus, however far enough away that it isnt as touristy and overrun like the more famous areas.
We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was my second visit to the Amalfi Coast, one of the most beautiful and unforgettable region of Italy. We spent an enjoyable 9 days stay at CalanteLuna in May 2013. The experience was amazing! Of course when we faced the 100 stairs, we were a little bit concerned, however at that point, we had no idea that we were facing the stairs to the paradise!!!!
Pietro and Luca are very professionals, helpful and perfect hosts. As for the other guests, they helped us to carry our heavy luggage up and down the stairs. One morning, Luca brought us fresh croissants for the breakfast, as a surprise!!! The facility is very clean, the apartment is nicely furnished with all the necessities, the attached kitchen is well equipped and we did cook delicious dishes to experience the Italian ingredients picked-up at the Alimentari after a Cappuccino!! Of course eating at the small balcony overlooking Positano Bay, and drinking a glass of good wine bought nearby in Ravello, the sunset was an unforgettable!!!
I certainly recommend Calante Luna! However, be aware, this place has one contraindication: YOU MAY NOT WANT TO GO BACK TO WORK!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

A friend and I stayed at Calanteluna for a week. It's heaven for those looking for beautiful surroundings away from the tourist hordes. The unit itself has everything you could need for a superb stay, including a large terrace overlooking the sea with a beautiful view of Positano. The beds are wonderfully comfortable and the kitchen is perfect for making meals when staying in is what you feel like doing. The bathrooms are spacious and attractively decorated. Excellent restaurants are close by and, if you like hiking, the Path of the Gods is spectacular. The bus is easy to take, and goes to Positano and Amalfi regularly. Elia and Pietro will ensure that you have all you need to enjoy your stay. We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at Calanteluna in May 2013.
As a family travelling with a child we are quite fussy about the accommodation we choose. This apartment was outstanding. Elia and Pietro went beyond the call of duty in making us feel welcome. Elia ran up and down the stairs helping us with our luggage, the whole family made us welcome at the families restaurant in Positano, even allowing us to park our car in the restaurant car park while we explored the town. ( If you have driven to Positano you will understand what a big thing that is). The boys had many suggestions regarding sight seeing and generally enjoying the Amalfi Coast. We definitely hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Calanteluna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calanteluna

Address: Via Casa Cinque, 4, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Praiano
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Calanteluna Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Calanteluna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.