We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I have ever stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Il Frantoio

Save Saved
You added Villa Il Frantoio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Il Frantoio
Via Francesco Russo, 36, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Praiano B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Best hotel I have ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Il Frantoio was wonderful! The Amalfi Coast is beautiful and the view from our room made us feel like we were in a postcard. The staff went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. They recommended great places for dinner, helped us figure out buses and trains for our departure, set us up with easy to use internet, and provided a delicious breakfast with great cappuccinos :) Giacomo went out of his way to make sure that we were well taken care of. He made our stay so much more enjoyable.
The room was large, clean, had a little kitchenette, and had a bathroom that was all top of the line.
The location is great. Steps from the center of Praiano and the gorgeous beach where we spent most of our days :)
You have to walk up quite a few stairs to get here but the view and service make it all worth it!
Praiano is in a perfect location, right in between Amalfi and Positano, making day trips to Positano, Amalfi, Ravello, etc very easy.
If you are planning on visiting the Amalfi Coast I highly recommend Villa Il Frantoio, you won't be disappointed :)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenico_Ga, Manager at Villa Il Frantoio, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Wow, this is really something we L O V E to read!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    19
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
83
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

By the time you do not want to take any more steps you'v arrived at the beautiful, quite B&B Villa Frantoio.:-)
Renovated stylish and clean accomodation with brandnew sanitary and either downs on the beds.
We had a deluxe room which had a private terras and a garden with sunbeds and not to forget a stunning few. (good value for money)
Our last days we moved to the junior suite as our room was booked. ( we new that in advance) this one had a small kitchinet. Unfortunately this so called junoirsuite was less comfortable than the deluxeroom; Darker room, blankets in stead of quilts. No stony terrace, only a garden. No privacy when being at your own garden. High humidity made this room most unconfortable.
Good breakfast, tasty and flresh products. The only weird thing was having to pay extra for a boiled egg...

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay over the New Year at Villa Il Frantoio. Rossita was most helpful with 'must see' places to visit, restaurants to eat at and things to do. The steps up to the Villa provided great exercise before a ski trip!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon and were absolutely blown away by the Villa II Frantoio. We cannot say enough about it! The views from the hotel are some of the most beautiful, awe-inspiring scenery we have ever seen. You look out from your private terrace to see the mountains and the Mediterranean Sea. The staff bent over backwards to ensure a great stay. They made dinner reservations for us as well as set up a boat excursion to the the Isle of Capri which can be seen from the B & B. The breakfast served is very satisfying. Not located in a touristy area. Easily reached by the Sita bus either from the town of Sorrento or Salerno. An easy trek to Amalfi or Positano. We stayed in the junior suite. Rooms were impeccable. Very modern bathrooms including whirlpool tub, spacious bedroom including a small kitchenette and dining table. All brand new. You do get quite the workout climbing the stairs to get here, but once you are here, it's hard to leave!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuttgart
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

the B&B 'Il Frantoio' at Praiano is as charming and nicely done as one could imagine after having seen their website. the view is breathtaking (especially on the upper floor), we had a terrrace and little meadow in front of our room, the breakfast was wonderful and the service very friendly and attentive. o.K., you have to climb quite a lot of steps to reach the spot but this is the price you hav eto pay for peace and a wonderful view...
highly recommendable!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

This is the letter I sent the owners after my wife and I departed Villa Il Frantoio. No sense in reproducing the accolades in any different terms than what I sent the owners.

We give Villa Il Frantoio a perfect 10. We received unparalleled service and treatment from the lovely ladies, Rossita and Semona! Both of whom went out of their way to ensure that we not only enjoyed our time at Villa Il Frantoio, but that we also made the absolute most of our time in Praiano, and the nearby towns that dot the enchanting coast that you call home.

Rossita and Semona's pride in their home and their occupations is wholly evident in the time and effort spent to ensure that their knowledge of the Amalfi coast was clearly shared with us. Semona's efforts made our trip to Pompeii incredibly simple and inexpensive, our breakfast a welcome treat every morning, and our stay a complete luxury.

Rossita's efforts ensured that we experienced what is no doubt the best food and service on the Amalfi coast (at La Strada), with the best service that we had received anywhere throughout Italy (covering several cities) on our 17 day trip. She immediately made myself and my wife feel like the most coveted guests upon our arrival. She found us in town and ushered us to Villa Il Frantoio (it wasn't easy to find in the dark), checked us in, and wholly oriented us with the area. She also met us the next morning for breakfast with pamphlets regarding the coast and her recommended plans for our stay. She is an absolute pleasure to have in our company, and she made sure that we were able to indulge in the pleasures that Praiano, Amalfi, and Ravello have to offer.

Without both Semona and Rossita, Villa Il Frantoio is a 10. However, without them, it is just an incredible BnB. With them, it is a home away from home, where my wife and I felt like cherished guests who were the top priority of our hosts.

Many thanks to the sheer atmosphere of the Villa (whose balconies offer what is arguably the best view in the world - and my wife will argue it with anyone now), Semona (whose warm and sincere smile made every morning a delight), and Rossita (whose passion and pride for her home is evident in all she does), all of whom collaborated to ensure that of all the places we visited in Italy (Venezia, Bologna, Firenze, Roma, Maranello, and Amalfi), Praiano (Amalfi coast region) was our absolute favorite!!

Thank you all so very much, it was so much more than we ever expected!

It was our honeymoon, and this place was perfect. We were told that small weddings had been held there before, and I don't doubt it. My wife absolutely melted at imagining our wedding having been held there... maybe we will renew the vows there in a few years. I certainly hope we are there again sooner than that!

That concludes the letter... on to some other useful bits:

EAT AT La Strada!!! Trattoria San Gennaro was good as well, but nowhere near the quality (that you will pay for) at La Strada.

There are also plans (I believe) to introduce a system to automatically get luggage to and from the Villa, which would be a welcome addition. My wife and I were traveling for 3 weeks, so we did a bit of lugging up and down the 55 steps from the top.

From the town's main street, you will climb 207 steps up to Villa Il Frantoio. From the Villa to their car lot (small), you will climb 55 steps. A car is the sensible and easy way to do it, but if you don't drive Amalfi, then just be sure you're ready for the 207 steps. My wife and I had no problem with them, but we were 28 and 32, respectively at the time of our visit.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

Although there are a few steps to the Il Frantoio, they are well worth it to stay in Praiano ...an IDEAL location for seeing the Amalfi Coast ... and a new, clean establishment run by a family who has lived there all their lives. They know everything about the area and can assist you with all your needs. The rooms are so charming, with all new amenities including a full-body shower, and some with jacuzzi's. Each has its own balcony or garden looking over the Mediterranean. Ours had an old olive press right in the middle that added such nostalgic charm while the kitchen and wine cellar were quite convenient. High speed Internet was in each room as well, and of course breakfast was included. They also had parking which is a commodity in Praiano! Really a treat to stay here!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Il Frantoio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Il Frantoio

Address: Via Francesco Russo, 36, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Il Frantoio is located in Praiano and is set in a magnificent position overlooking Positano and Capri. Recently renovated with all modern comfort, including ADSL, Air Conditioning SAT-TV. Each room has its own private terrace with sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Villa Il Frantoio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Frantoio Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Il Frantoio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.