We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Il Frantoio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Il Frantoio to your Saves list
Villa Il Frantoio
Via Francesco Russo, 36, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Praiano B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“A little piece of paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 4 nights at Villa Il Frantoio and we absolutely LOVED our stay! The staff greeted us with an ice cold beer after our climb up the stairs (which trust me, is worth it for the view). From that moment on we felt welcomed and comfortable. The rooms are spacious, clean and have a breathtaking view. The location was great because it was within 2 minutes of many delicious restaurants (ask the owner for recommendations - he offered us great advise) and was directly beside the bus stop to all the other cities. We thoroughly enjoyed the pool each day too! The owner truly went above and beyond to make our stay special - he coordinated our boat tour to Capri and invited us to join his private, pool side party to watch the fireworks in Positano. We definitely recommend this hotel - it truly was a little piece of paradise!

Room Tip: From what we could tell every room has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
90
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We loved this place. Fantastic value for money and wonderful service by Julio and Simona. You feel "like home" and Praiano is close to everything. Ps. There are 528 steps to the beachclub "One fire beach", but it's worth it ;) We stayed in the "Junior Suite" with private garden. Can't be better. Thanks again. Jimmy & Malin from Stockholm/Sweden

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We (five late 20's women) stayed in the 2-bedroom + 2-bath + full kitchen unit of Villa Il Frantoio for a week. It was the perfect combination of a private house (which we originally looked for) with hotel/B&B daily service. I would like to specifically thank Giulio, whose family owns this property, for his dedication to EVERY detail, for making us feel like locals and family, and for showing the utmost professionalism yet friendship! It is evident how much he loves this property and his job! We were sad to say goodbye, but do hope to come back again soon! This property has a lot of historic character due to being an old Olive press factory. The owners did a good job of preserving those old aspects and incorporating them into a modern day B&B. Our house was VERY specious (even for American standards!) and the private terrace with full sea views and views of Positano was breathtaking. You can chose to have your breakfast (continental + Giulio will make extra appetizer type dishes every morning) and cappuccinos/espressos brought to your terrace or you can go to the common dining area. The inside of the house is decorated and furnished with beautiful taste and everything is kept clean. Prior to your stay, the staff will send you a super detailed e-mail with everything you need to know, if you have any further questions they respond within 24 hours. Additionally, they are very helpful in making reservations for airport shuttle, boat excursions (for Capri day trip use Plaghia Charter - new boats, shuttle pick up, nice service) and restaurants. Il Frantoio is conveniently located by two different bus lines. Public transportation is easy to figure out and we made great use of it as it will take you to every town. No car needed. Positano, which is the more touristy town compared to Praiano is a short bus drive away and we went there for a full day but are SO glad we stayed in Praiano instead. Positano is very crowded. It's a gorgeous town to visit, but if you're looking for peace, stay at Il Frantoio in Praiano. There are two beaches close to this property. One accessible by 5-10 min bus ride, the other one (our favorite!) called One Fire is located right below this property but requires climbing 600 steps. Our group found the steps to be no problem. Good work out after all the pasta and pizza! I saw grandmas climbing the steps - if they can do it, so can you! If you do not like walking or stairs - then this whole vacation is not for you. From Il Frantoio you can go down 200 steps to a grocery store, restaurants, pharmacy, bank, and everything else you could possibly need on a vacation. To sum it up: this was the most relaxing, seamless, and satisfying vacation. Whether staying with friends, family or as a couple, I would chose Villa Il Frantoio again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The best thing about our stay was the service offered by our host Giulio: super polite, giving many usefull tips and recommendations, providing with extensive breakfast (compared to limited options of croissant and sweets that we were offered in other locations) and daily cleaning service of the room. In everything we feld Giulio wanted to walk the extra mile to provide his guests with a great holiday experience. The room was clean and spacious. The Balcony had full view on the aea and gave the impression as if you were alone in enjoying the beauty of the Amalfi Coast. Praiano prooved to be an excellent village for the quiet last days of our holiday that we had in mind. Despite of high season the beach with One Fire bar was not super crowded. This was probably due to the many steps needed to get to ths beach. However the second day we found out the bar also runs a free of charge boat service in the morning from a nearby (crowded) beach, accessible by bus and car. We are definately considering to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I can't say enough about how happy we were with our stay at Il Frantoio. We thought we wanted to stay in Positano and were so disappointed that we couldn't find a suitable property with availability. Praiano was our backup - and in hindsight, we wouldn't construct it any other way. Praiano has restaurants and markets and access to really whatever you might need (I had to buy a converter and a phone charger while we were there; also had a pedicure!) and yet it is quiet and friendly and a welcome respite from the throngs of people in Amalfi and Positano.

Villa Frantoio is about 220 steps above the main road - the views are spectacular and the staff friendly and so very helpful. They helped us book dinner every night and invariably we arrived to be seated at the best table and treated like old friends. Guilio and Simona worked hard to find us just the right boating excursion and even negotiated prices for us. We really were well taken care of and had a super, relaxed time.

We stayed in the 2 BR apartment because that was all that was available at the time. It would be perfect for a family and lots of fun for two couples traveling together. Not al all cramped. It was kept immaculately clean, the refrigerator was well stocked with drinks and the private terrace had a divine view. It was tough to tear ourselves away to leave the villa. We would probably choose the Suite next time because we don't need so much space and the view from there would be even more spectacular I think.

Breakfast is very basic, but that suited us. Be sure to arrange porter service when you book (very cheap) so you don't have to haul your luggage. It isn't terribly far from where the taxi drops you, but there are a few sets of stairs to negotiate. It is definitely doable if your luggage isn't massive.

I'd like to keep this place a secret...but I do wish them great success and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This property is very nice and it makes you feel like a residence of the area. The owners have done a fantastic job remodeling what was once an olive processing business to a comfortable and inviting place to stay. The rooms and baths are very nice and feel quite modern. Beds could be more comfortable but perhaps that is just the single beds my son and I had.

The breakfast offers a nice variety and is set up on the terrace where you can enjoy the gorgeous coastal views. The grounds are meticulously cared for and enjoyable for garden lovers. The pool is ample size for cooling off while you enjoy the spectacular views.

Our one complaint is with parking as you are on your own to find close parking and then there are several stairs to take to reach the hotel. If you have any walking issues, this is not the place to stay as the access to town is down and back up approx. 200 steps. A good workout but not for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domenico_Ga, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Villa Il Frantoio, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Durango,

I and my staff wish to express our sincere gratitude you spend some of your time to thank us and reviewing our service.

Yet, we wish to report future guests that parking in our area could be tricky but it is pleasant to know that it is free of charge (we always attach a parking possibilities map at confirmation emails to guests and the Municipality of Praiano is improving the indications for it) , whilst in other parts of the town is mainly paying and extremely difficult. Also, in order to get to our hotel, you will have to walk about 65 steps whilst, if you wish to go directly from the hotel to the village, you have another opportunity : this is via 200 beautiful, ancient stone steps. Those steps, just to clarify, are not the only possibility to the town. In fact you can go to the car and drive down, or you could use the local bus Flavio Gioia that loops Positano and Praiano and be dropped off not far from our entrance.
Domenico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, Calif
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Thanks to our friends James and Aaron, we discovered this terrific place in this terrific (and quiet) town on the Amalfi Coast. Located between Positano and Amalfi, which are served by bus from Praiano, we avoided the tourist shops, and cruise ship day trippers and spent little time in the zone of "junk" shops etc.

We are fit, and we like hiking. The Villa il Frantoio suited us quite well.
As the management will tell you, you cannot drive in, or be dropped off at the door. They will arrange for a porter to carry your bags from the taxi drop-off spot. Once at the B & B, it is terrific.

We stayed in the Suite with the old Olive mill. It was spacious and comfortable. The shower itself is special with a view of the sea and multiple water jets soothing a body tired from a day of hiking. The private terrace was large and the views outstanding. Positano is visible, particularly at night, and we preferred to see it from here than to walk around in it.

We were right on the entry to the access to the Sentiero degli Dei, one of the great trails in this area. It is quite steep up to the trail itself, with stairs at first then a steep though well marked trail. The walk down to Positano from the trail was also quite steep, with many, many, many stairs......We took the local bus back from Positano.

Breakfast was really good, with a nice variety offered and fine coffee.

Simona and Giulio are charming, knowledgeable, and they helped us with the hiking maps, bus information and restaurant suggestions which were spot on. They made the restaurant bookings for us. All our dinners were in Praiano and the many step walk up to our Amalfi Coast home was just the ticket after fine meals.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Il Frantoio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Il Frantoio

Address: Via Francesco Russo, 36, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Il Frantoio is located in Praiano and is set in a magnificent position overlooking Positano and Capri. Recently renovated with all modern comfort, including ADSL, Air Conditioning SAT-TV. Each room has its own private terrace with sea view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Il Frantoio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Il Frantoio Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Il Frantoio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.