We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay on the Amalfi coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pellegrino

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pellegrino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pellegrino
Via Nazionale, no. 190, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best place to stay on the Amalfi coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Hotel Pellegrino is a perfectly run family establishment in a very convenient location. From the moment you arrive until the last wave of goodbye, Luigi and his family make you feel welcome and well taken care of. After being shown to our charming, spotless and comfortable room with an amazing little balcony overlooking the town of Praiano and the coastline, we were invited for welcome drinks and snacks on the patio. The daily included breakfasts were superb and plentiful! You start out with a fresh fruit salad, your choice of omelettes, cheese, cold cuts, cereal, yogurt, freshly baked pastries, fresh juices and hot beverages. Note that their jams are homemade and not to be missed! We were pleasantly surprised to find that the establishment has a little restaurant exclusively for its guests for dinner. As we had a long day when we arrived, we decided to have dinner there the first night, and boy were we impressed, so much so that we ended up eating there every night of our 3 night stay. As we are foodies, we normally enjoy trying a variety of restaurants but after the first night's meal we were so hooked that even after coming across many other highly recommended restaurants we kept coming back to hotel Pellegrino for dinner. The food was lovingly prepared and just outstanding. Every night, a different selection of antipasti was available. We decided to follow that with various dishes, our favorites including lemon shrimp risotto, linguini Alla Vongole, and fresh grilled fish. We topped this off with delicious homemade deserts. Everything was super fresh and reasonably priced. Not surprisingly we were not the only guests having dinner there multiple nights. We can't wait to go back, next time for a much longer stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    37
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
234
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Pellegrino for 5 nights in July 2013 and from the moment we set foot in this family run hotel we knew we were going to be well looked after.

After a long day of travelling and a late arrival time, Luigi welcomed us with a beautifully prepared meal and wine to settle us in. It was so good we decided we wanted to come back for dinner. Luigi and his family prepare a daily menu based on what's in season. It was one of the best meals we had both ever eaten in our lives. Everything is cooked by Luigi and his family so it's extremely authentic, tasty and he uses only the finest ingredients. We tried a few other places around Amalfi coast and Positano but we kept coming back to the hotel as it was never as good! Oh and wait for breakfast!!!

The location is perfect. You are smack bang in the middle of Amalfi and Positano so away from the crowds but also very close to a great private beach (ask Luigi to show you as you have to walk down quite a few steps to reach it but don't worry getting back is much easier as you can get a free boat). We ended up back at this private beach every day. We wouldn't have wanted to stay in any other location on the coast. The beach is relaxing during the day with great music and get's louder in the evenings. The food here was AMAZING. We had the rock melon and parma ham and the tomato and buffalo mozzarella salad.

Although you are on a main road I believe most hotels are so it can get a little noisy first thing in the morning however we didn't mind as it got us out of bed ready to explore each day. This is not a 5 star hotel in appearance but it is in food, value and service. Everything is very clean and we were extremely comfortable.

All in all this place was great, we couldn't recommend it highly enough. Even if you decide to stay somewhere else you must eat here one night.

We will be back 100%

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed in Priano for the final 6 days of our 5 week trip through Italy, and we could not have chosen a more wonderful place to end our trip. From the moment Luigi greeted us at the door of the Hotel Pellegrino until our departure we were treated with a wonderful and warm hospitality that we will never forget.

From the welcome drinks upon arrival, to the most wonderful food and wines in the restaraunt, the pristine rooms, exceptional views, and attention to guest needs - nothing is less than a 5 star experience.

We have to make special mention of the wonderful breakfast, sitting on the balcony each morning - there simply is no better way to start the day.

We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, and long to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is situated just outside the town of Praiano on the Amalfi coast, about half way between Positano and Amalfi. It has it's own car parking which is essential if you are driving. Once there you can leave the car and catch a bus to Positano or Amalfi. Also the owner, Luigi, will offer to drive you to local restaurants. The hotel is very well maintained, has great views of the coast and offers excellent breakfast. The hotel is surprisingly quiet and private despite it being on the main road, due to the climbing gardens at the front. The service offered by Luigi and his wife, Sandra, is probably the best we received from any hotel on our 6 week trip through France & Italy. I would definitely stay here again. If you email direct to Luigi at the hotel he sometimes has special offers for 3 night visits. We got a great deal and were very pleased with our visit .

Room Tip: Email direct to the hotel to book. Ask Luigi if he has any special offers for 3 day bookings
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brossard, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent 4 days in Praiano on the Amalfi Coast. The perfect location to visit all of the towns along the coast. Luigi and his family made us feel at home the minute we got there. We were welcomed with a warm greeting and a complimentary bottle of wine. The food is amazing. We ate all our evening meals there as we knew that ever night we would be treated to a culinary feast. We happened to be celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and Luigi did not overlook this. He prepared a feast of lobster and spaghetti in our honor along with a lemon cake. A night we will never forget. The views from the restaurant and from our room balcony were amazing. Luigi and his family not only pay attention to every detail but treat each and every guest like a family friend. This kind of hospitality is what make visiting Hotel Pellegrino a must for anyone visiting the Amalfi Coast. We will definitely return soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Luigi and his family were perfect hosts and made our 2 day stay in Praiano memorable. The accommodations were large and clean, and the view from the dining room was spectacular. The breakfasts were the best we had during our time in Italy and the dinner we had while there was delicious! The hotel is right at the first bus stop in Praiano, which means not having to climb with suitcases. You are a short walk from town.

Luigi even offered to drive us into Positano one day as we arrived without an auto. Would highly recommend staying here to avoid the crowds of Positano and Amalfi and to enjoy la dolce vita in southern Italy. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Book a suite with verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We chose the Pellegrino based on all the comments on this site about the warm hospitality of the family that owns it, and we weren't disappointed! Luigi and his sister Angela who run the pensione went out of their way to accommodate and anticipate our needs. My husband, my sister and I visited the Amalfi Coast during the beginning of October, at the end of our 2 1/2 weeks in Southern Italy, and were charmed by the efforts the whole family made for us. We appreciated all the extra services, from the welcome drink (and then also the bruschetta and tiramisu which were brought out "on the house" when Luigi found we hadn't had any lunch) to the extra early breakfast Luigi prepared for us so we could be ready for our pick up by our driver on the morning we left, and so many little things in between... Due to the reduced bus schedule in the fall and a couple of days of rainy weather, we had some trouble getting places by bus, but Luigi or Angela stepped in and drove us/picked us up several times during our stay. Their restaurant recommendations in Praiano, Positano and Amalfi were absolutely perfect. But the dinner we had at the pensione in the lovely third floor dining room was also fantastic (best risotto of the trip!), and we appreciated the cake brought out after dinner for my husband's birthday. And the breakfasts are very generous, with a plate of eggs, cheese, prosciutto and tomatoes, fresh fruit, juice, yogurt, bread and homemade spreads--or cereal or a piece of something sweet, if you would prefer...

Our two-room suite was very roomy (it used to be the dining room) and the bathrooms newly remodeled. There was a nice little balcony with a view of Praiano, but due to the weather (and the road noise when outside) we unfortunately didn't spend much time there. We are so glad we chose Praiano as our home base while on the Amalfi Coast and have fond memories of the warm hospitality we experienced at the Pellegrino!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pellegrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pellegrino

Address: Via Nazionale, no. 190, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Praiano
#1 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#2 Best Value Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Pellegrino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pellegrino Pensione Praiano
Pellegrino Pensione Hotel Praiano
Hotel Pellegrino Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pellegrino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.