We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food and service on the coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pellegrino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Pellegrino to your Saves list
Hotel Pellegrino
Via Nazionale, no. 190, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best food and service on the coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Pellegrino for 5 nights in July 2013 and from the moment we set foot in this family run hotel we knew we were going to be well looked after.

After a long day of travelling and a late arrival time, Luigi welcomed us with a beautifully prepared meal and wine to settle us in. It was so good we decided we wanted to come back for dinner. Luigi and his family prepare a daily menu based on what's in season. It was one of the best meals we had both ever eaten in our lives. Everything is cooked by Luigi and his family so it's extremely authentic, tasty and he uses only the finest ingredients. We tried a few other places around Amalfi coast and Positano but we kept coming back to the hotel as it was never as good! Oh and wait for breakfast!!!

The location is perfect. You are smack bang in the middle of Amalfi and Positano so away from the crowds but also very close to a great private beach (ask Luigi to show you as you have to walk down quite a few steps to reach it but don't worry getting back is much easier as you can get a free boat). We ended up back at this private beach every day. We wouldn't have wanted to stay in any other location on the coast. The beach is relaxing during the day with great music and get's louder in the evenings. The food here was AMAZING. We had the rock melon and parma ham and the tomato and buffalo mozzarella salad.

Although you are on a main road I believe most hotels are so it can get a little noisy first thing in the morning however we didn't mind as it got us out of bed ready to explore each day. This is not a 5 star hotel in appearance but it is in food, value and service. Everything is very clean and we were extremely comfortable.

All in all this place was great, we couldn't recommend it highly enough. Even if you decide to stay somewhere else you must eat here one night.

We will be back 100%

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    38
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
71
253
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed in Priano for the final 6 days of our 5 week trip through Italy, and we could not have chosen a more wonderful place to end our trip. From the moment Luigi greeted us at the door of the Hotel Pellegrino until our departure we were treated with a wonderful and warm hospitality that we will never forget.

From the welcome drinks upon arrival, to the most wonderful food and wines in the restaraunt, the pristine rooms, exceptional views, and attention to guest needs - nothing is less than a 5 star experience.

We have to make special mention of the wonderful breakfast, sitting on the balcony each morning - there simply is no better way to start the day.

We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, and long to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is situated just outside the town of Praiano on the Amalfi coast, about half way between Positano and Amalfi. It has it's own car parking which is essential if you are driving. Once there you can leave the car and catch a bus to Positano or Amalfi. Also the owner, Luigi, will offer to drive you to local restaurants. The hotel is very well maintained, has great views of the coast and offers excellent breakfast. The hotel is surprisingly quiet and private despite it being on the main road, due to the climbing gardens at the front. The service offered by Luigi and his wife, Sandra, is probably the best we received from any hotel on our 6 week trip through France & Italy. I would definitely stay here again. If you email direct to Luigi at the hotel he sometimes has special offers for 3 night visits. We got a great deal and were very pleased with our visit .

Room Tip: Email direct to the hotel to book. Ask Luigi if he has any special offers for 3 day bookings
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brossard, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We spent 4 days in Praiano on the Amalfi Coast. The perfect location to visit all of the towns along the coast. Luigi and his family made us feel at home the minute we got there. We were welcomed with a warm greeting and a complimentary bottle of wine. The food is amazing. We ate all our evening meals there as we knew that ever night we would be treated to a culinary feast. We happened to be celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and Luigi did not overlook this. He prepared a feast of lobster and spaghetti in our honor along with a lemon cake. A night we will never forget. The views from the restaurant and from our room balcony were amazing. Luigi and his family not only pay attention to every detail but treat each and every guest like a family friend. This kind of hospitality is what make visiting Hotel Pellegrino a must for anyone visiting the Amalfi Coast. We will definitely return soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Luigi and his family were perfect hosts and made our 2 day stay in Praiano memorable. The accommodations were large and clean, and the view from the dining room was spectacular. The breakfasts were the best we had during our time in Italy and the dinner we had while there was delicious! The hotel is right at the first bus stop in Praiano, which means not having to climb with suitcases. You are a short walk from town.

Luigi even offered to drive us into Positano one day as we arrived without an auto. Would highly recommend staying here to avoid the crowds of Positano and Amalfi and to enjoy la dolce vita in southern Italy. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Book a suite with verandah
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We chose the Pellegrino based on all the comments on this site about the warm hospitality of the family that owns it, and we weren't disappointed! Luigi and his sister Angela who run the pensione went out of their way to accommodate and anticipate our needs. My husband, my sister and I visited the Amalfi Coast during the beginning of October, at the end of our 2 1/2 weeks in Southern Italy, and were charmed by the efforts the whole family made for us. We appreciated all the extra services, from the welcome drink (and then also the bruschetta and tiramisu which were brought out "on the house" when Luigi found we hadn't had any lunch) to the extra early breakfast Luigi prepared for us so we could be ready for our pick up by our driver on the morning we left, and so many little things in between... Due to the reduced bus schedule in the fall and a couple of days of rainy weather, we had some trouble getting places by bus, but Luigi or Angela stepped in and drove us/picked us up several times during our stay. Their restaurant recommendations in Praiano, Positano and Amalfi were absolutely perfect. But the dinner we had at the pensione in the lovely third floor dining room was also fantastic (best risotto of the trip!), and we appreciated the cake brought out after dinner for my husband's birthday. And the breakfasts are very generous, with a plate of eggs, cheese, prosciutto and tomatoes, fresh fruit, juice, yogurt, bread and homemade spreads--or cereal or a piece of something sweet, if you would prefer...

Our two-room suite was very roomy (it used to be the dining room) and the bathrooms newly remodeled. There was a nice little balcony with a view of Praiano, but due to the weather (and the road noise when outside) we unfortunately didn't spend much time there. We are so glad we chose Praiano as our home base while on the Amalfi Coast and have fond memories of the warm hospitality we experienced at the Pellegrino!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

After a long drive from Sicily we (2 couples) encountered the last 30 kms along the Amalfi Coast to Praiano and found it took an exhausting 1.5 hours. On our arrival at Pensione Pellegrino, Luigi appeared like magic, backed our car off the busy road, helped us unload, parked the car in his private garage and invited up to the dining area terrace for a welcome drink and delicious homemade ricotta cake. That set the tone for our 4 wonderful days in this small magical family run pensione/hotel.
Each room has a stunning view of the village of Praiano and the sea. Our rooms were extremely comfortable and even though it has a lift we used the stairs between the 1st and dining area on the 3rd floor level.
The setting of the pensione, slightly out of Praiano village, is not a problem as there are bus stops right out the front to either visit Positano in the north or Amalfi in the south.
Any visit to Pensione Pellegrino is made very special by the wonderful host, Luigi, his wife and their charming young daughter. As others have mentioned, the meals are fantastic, from wonderful breakfasts to the special entrees created each night leading onto our personal choice for dinner. We enjoyed every night on the terrace overlooking the sea and the sparkling lights of homes and other small hotels clinging to the cliffs along the coast.
When I wasn't well Luigi drove me in his car, to the local chemist. Such a charming host - in 4 days we almost felt like family BUT he has that special way with all his guests.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view but some may be a little larger than others. 1st floor on north end of pensio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pellegrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pellegrino

Address: Via Nazionale, no. 190, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#1 Family Hotel in Praiano
#2 Best Value Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Pellegrino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pellegrino Pensione Praiano
Pellegrino Pensione Hotel Praiano
Hotel Pellegrino Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pellegrino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.