We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am surprised by the reviews because the place did not really match the reviews” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pellegrino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Pellegrino to your Saves list
Hotel Pellegrino
Via Nazionale, no. 190, 84010 Praiano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Praiano
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I am surprised by the reviews because the place did not really match the reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a very ordinary place.The rooms have beautiful views but are very ordinary.It is also 10 minutes walk from the town of Praiano.The walk is difficult because the road has no pavements
The breakfast is dreadful.You are given no menu and the food they bring you is often not all that fresh .For example the top of the fruit salad is fresh but underneath you can see the fruit is not so fresh and tastes lousy.The dinners that people rave about cost 50 Euros each including alcohol but the food is poorly cooked.You can find much better food in the village and pay a lot less even adding in alcohol

We were offered a very ordinary room at first but when I pointed out where I would rather be in a higher room this room was suddenly available.None of the rooms I saw looked anything like the brochure

The owners are very helpful and will lift you to the little town ,organise to have your laundry done etc but this is a very average hotel and does not warrant its number one ranking.I would not recommend it

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    38
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
71
253
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed there for 5 nights. We traveled there from Rome. We took a train from the Termini to Salerno, then a ferry to Amalfi, then a SITA bus to Praiano. They are near the Fermata 4 bus stop. We got off too early and had to walk on the road with suitcases and then catch a taxi costing 10 euros for 2 minutes. I wish we had known better where to get off the bus but most people taxi in from Naples and we didn't ask about the bus stop before hand. If we get the chance to return we will come in from Naples like everyone else. When you use the bus you need to wave them down. To get them to stop there is a button you can push. You can get the tickets from the hotel.

They warmly welcomed us and gave us a great dessert. The breakfast is included. It is awesome!! They serve yogurt, toast and jams, fresh fruit, juice, eggs, cheese, ham etc. Luigi and his staff are very attentive. They upgraded our room to a suite which was fantastic. Two large clean rooms with two bathrooms, one of the bathrooms was large. The shower in the large bathroom was pretty neat with the ability to choose different spray locations. I really liked the furniture. The bed was very firm. The AC worked but my husband likes it super cold and it wasn't. The view from the terrace was beautiful. I loved sitting out there. Very romantic! There is free wi-fi. They have an elevator but I took the stairs a lot which are marble.

On the top floor is a restaurant with a large terrace. The view was perfect every morning. They also serve dinner there. We ate there all 5 nights. The food was awesome!! I am normally not a seafood fan. I tried all different kinds of new to me seafood and loved it! My favorites were the sword fish, blue fish and sole fish. It was seriously tasty! However, dinner comes at a fixed price. You must ask for it. There is no menu. It was expensive for us, and had we asked the expense we probably would have eaten there once as a splurge. Lesson learned :)

We loved the location in Praiano. It is quiet and not too crowded. We walked into town to grab some food at the small grocery and there are a couple tourist shops as well with ceramics that I thought were at a better price than in Positano. The beach near the church is a hike down. It is 10 euro per person for a chair and an umbrella. The beach staff has a boat to give you a ride to another beach where the hotel staff can pick you up. The hotel staff will give you beach towels.

We took the SITA bus to Sorrento and then a train to Pompeii one day. Another day we took the bus to Positano and then a ferry to Capri Island. Another day we walked a mile to another beach in south Praiano that has a scuba shop called Centro Sub Costiera Amalfitana. My husband had a great dive and was very happy. That beach was in a cove so the sunlight time was shorter than the previous beach.

I really loved this hotel! Luigi and his family do a wonderful job.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was my first B&B experience and unfortunately...it was AMAZING. When we arrived, Luigi delivered a huge platter of brusetta to our room (it was the best I had ever had), fresh fruit and a bottle of wine. I had no idea when I booked this place thta I was also signing up for one of the best dining experiences in years. Even though dinner is not officially part of the room cost, stay for it. Period. Perhaps the best dinner you will have on the Amalfi Coast. 5-6 courses, the freshest seafood and ingredients. Just amazing. And Liugi and his family couldn't be nicer or more fun to chat with. The rooms are a bit simple but very comfortable, with a nice balcony with a view. And yes, breakfast is wonderful...more fresh homemade jams than I had ever seems. Stay here only if you like genuinely nice people, a beautiful location and incredible food. ;)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a wonderful welcome reception with fruits of our choice and the company of the owners. I confess it was really a good surprise the treatment we got from the local family.
We were offered a free dinner because we had booked the junior suite and they had only the standard available. The room was good anyway, in average size and confortable. Bathroom nicely decorated you could notice care in every detail.
Then we were offered a car ride to downtown Positano, and they gave us tickets and enough information to catch the bus back on time for dinner.
The hotel is located by the road but you can't hear the traffic in the room with the doors shut. Quiet sleep.
The dinner was a wine included tasting menu served in the balcony on 3rd floor. Oysters for starters, great local seafood. We ate a lot!
Nice breakfast with many options of fruit and a great view of the sea and the town of Praiano.

Room Tip: The rooms in the higher floors are served by an elevator and have a greater view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

What a place. The people make it. They could not have been kinder or shown more hospitality. Will make your holiday. Thats not to mention the food! Can't recommend highly enough. We were even dropped off at our next hotel. The cake nd the view are to die for. We did not have dinner there but heard his too was out of this world and from what we saw this would come as no surprise.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heinavesi, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

A week on the Amalfi Coast, just at the kind of a place you can meet and feel Italy the way you thought it would be.
The small hotel offered everything you could wish for, a beautiful, clean, spacious and well equipped room and most friendly and kind service. The restaurant served an amazing culinary experience on Italian gastronomy culture, especially seafood.
Morning coffee on the terrace with a beautiful view over the sea, breakfast beginning with strawberries and fruit, thereafter what you wished for. Couldn`t wish for a better start for the day.
Wish to go back some day...

Room Tip: Corner room !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

My family, husband and 2 kids stayed here for 5 night. Luigi the owner greeted us upon arrival with drinks and nibbles and the most amazing view on the balcony from the dining room. Our room was perfect. Large and clean and grand. Breakfast was served daily with the view. His daughter was an absolute delight. The family could not do enough for us. Luigi would drive us into Positano or down the road for dinner to save us bringing our car and trying to find parking. If you are visiting the Amalfi coast this is the place to stay. It will not disappoint.

Room Tip: ask for the quad room. Its great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pellegrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pellegrino

Address: Via Nazionale, no. 190, 84010 Praiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Praiano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Praiano
#1 Family Hotel in Praiano
#2 Best Value Hotel in Praiano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Pellegrino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pellegrino Pensione Praiano
Pellegrino Pensione Hotel Praiano
Hotel Pellegrino Praiano, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pellegrino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.