We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Vecchio Pioppo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Al Vecchio Pioppo to your Saves list
Al Vecchio Pioppo
Via Filippo Turati 65, 87028 Praia A Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Praia A Mare B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife & I stayed for 6 nights at Al Vecchio Pioppo at the beginning of September.
We were met by the friendly Gaetano at the train station and taken for an espresso by our host.
The B & B is well located in the center & a very short walk from the beach.
All of the guest house is immaculately clean. What sets Al Vecchio Pioppo apart is the level of warm personal service provided by Gaetano & Antonella. The highlight of our stay in Praia was the trip on Gaetano's boat Calypso to Dino's island & surrounding bays where we dropped anchor for lunch in the skippers favourite spot, better than the commercial trips on offer
and tremendous value for money. We also requested to sample some of the local delicacies prepared by Antonella for our last evening and enjoyed a wonderful meal with our hosts. These personal touches and experiences are not to found in a hotel &
we highly recommend Al Vecchio Pioppo if you visit Praia.
N & C

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    16
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
59
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My family and I stayed at Al Vecchio Pioppo on Sept.1st, we were greeted by our host Gaetano; Gaetano was very helpful in offering to take us around Dino island, provided information on must see places in Calabria, we were also invited to his home to an excellent dinner prepared by his charming and talented wife Antonella: Best dinner we had during our vacation! The BnB rooms were large and very comfortable, breakfast was also very good; Our hosts were very attentive to our needs and made us feel like family. Calabria, Praia a mare and Al Vecchio Pioppo are just wonderful places to be and to revisit and hopefully for more than one day next time; well deserved high rating; thank you again Gaetano and Antonella

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santee, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Al Vecchio Pioppo for 5 nights the last week in May. The room was very nice and comfortable. The location is close to the beach, stores, restaurants, and train station. Gaetano gave us information about other towns nearby to visit and what to see and do in those towns. He was always willing to answer any questions we had and assist us in anyway he could. Gaetano's wife made us an excellent dinner and we were able to share it with Gaetano and his lovely daughter Michela. We got to try his homemade wine and liqueur and it was great. It was as if we had come to visit family in Calabria. When the time came to leave Gaetano drove us to the train station and made sure we got on the next train to our destination. We hope to go back next year as it was such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stopped over in Praia a Mare on our way down to Sicily, just one night; the reviews on Tripadvisor had drawn us to this B&B and we were not disappointed. My husband normally does not like B&B's but this was different; we arrived late in the afternoon with no open restaurants and were offered by Gaetano to have Antonella cook the evening meal. We didn't have a better meal in our 12 days in Italy; the lemons were freshly picked off the trees; and Gaetano's wine is terrific, as is the licortzia - - which recipe Gaetano shared with my delighted husband - and the anise flavoured liqueur. You could not ask for more charming hosts. Our 17 year old son enjoyed the meal and still talked about it after we left. The B&B is centrally located, a few minutes walk to the beach which is great for a long stroll.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanjing
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I had a great time staying at Al Vecchio Pioppo! The Calabrese family treated me like one of their own, and took time to show me around the area. They were very accommodating and were so enjoyable to be around. The location of the B&B is also very convenient, close to the super market and the beach. Praia is such a beautiful place, I would definitely recommend a visit (or several).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My family and I stayed at Al Vecchio Pioppo for two nights in September 2011. The B and B is very central, right on the main street of Praia a Mare, and steps from the beautiful beach. There is plenty of free street parking right outside the B and B. There are plenty of shops, bars, and gelaterie (ice cream shops) steps from the B and B. Gaetano recommended the best gelateria in town and he was right!

Our hosts Gaetano and Antonella were extremely friendly, hospitable, and welcoming. Gaetano is a terrific tour guide and took his own time to give us a tour of Praia and the main attractions. He also gave great recommendations for local seafood restaurants and we were happy that he did so.

The B and B has all the modern amenities, including air conditioning in all the rooms. It was spotlessly clean, tidy and comfortable. The rooms are spacious with large open sitting/breakfast areas.

Lunch and dinner can be arranged, and we had a fabulous dinner prepared by Antonella. We had dinner with the family and enjoyed the food and engaging conversation - the highlight of our stay. It was unfortunate that we could not stay longer but next time we will be sure to visit them again.

The combination of the town of Praia a Mare and the hospitality of Gaetano and Antonella made our visit quite enjoyable and memorable. Thank you Gaetano and Antonella for a fantastic stay. We’ll be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I must say that i was was pleasently surprised from this B&B ! Very clean , comfortable rooms and excellent hospitality! The location is prime spot right in center city and great atmosphere and people. Myself and family enjoyed our one night stay a lot.
I would reccomend it again and again and will return next fall for weekend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Al Vecchio Pioppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Vecchio Pioppo

Address: Via Filippo Turati 65, 87028 Praia A Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Calabria > Province of Cosenza > Praia A Mare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Praia A Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Al vecchio pioppo" is the first B&B in Praia a Mare, situated in the main street, just 100 metres away from the sea. Established in the family house built in the middle of the 19th century, it was recently restored and equiped with modern amenities. Comfortable and refined rooms, furnished with vintage and antic pieces of furnitures. Ideal for spending relaxing moments. Every room has an autonomous air-conditioner,a private bathroom, a tv and a fridge.Our b&b is open all year round to anyone who would like to come and visit us and we will be happy to offer our best, frendly and joyful hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Al Vecchio Pioppo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Vecchio Pioppo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.