We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Averno November 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Complesso Turistico Averno

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pozzuoli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Complesso Turistico Averno
Save
You added Complesso Turistico Averno to your Saves list
Montenuovo Licola Patria 85, 80078 Pozzuoli, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Pozzuoli
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Averno November 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We journeyed to Averno by air from the U.K. for a weeks stay at Averno Damiani, and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. As there were four of us we chose to rent a bungalow in the resort grounds. The bungalow was well equipped and catered for our needs. The resort had a first class restaurant and although we had some difficulty with the language we managed to get by. The staff were very helpful and attentive and went out of their way to make us welcome. Getting out and about by public transport proved a bit of a problem as the resort is hemmed in with main roads, and fast moving traffic. We aim to return in the Summer months. The owner Eduardo and his staff should be congratulated on good all round service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    26
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
14
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorks, UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I adored this place!

Yes the room was old fashioned, the shower was small and English was not widely spoken, but the staff are incredibly friendly, the pools are truly amazing and the restaurant is fabulous.

There are some inconveniences; the resort is surrounded by main roads, and it is extremely difficult to walk to anywhere outside. Taxis can be easily booked from the hotel, but they are very difficult to find once you are out - you must pre book.

The restaurant is good, hearty Italian food. Pizzas are great! But it is closed on Mondays, and on the week we went, it was closed on Saturday for a wedding. On the Saturday, they sat us down, before the wedding party arrived and made us Pizza, and on the Monday, one of the staff drove us to another local restaurant and gave us his number so that we could call him to pick us up after dinner!

The only breakfast we found was croissants and muffins in the bar, and similarly lunch was mini pizza or pastries from the bar. At weekend, there was a lunch buffet served al fresco.

This is a busy country club with great facilities for the active amongst you! On Tuesday night as we were eating our dinner, the tennis courts and gym were full, the basketball court was hosting dozens of rollerskating youngsters, and there was a very well attended salsa dance class in the downstairs studio which we could watch whilst we were eating.

This is not a glossy chain hotel - far from it. But if you want a slice of the real Italy, and are prepared to put up with a couple of inconveniences, then I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed in the Damiani for the better part of two months. They treated me like family the moment I arrived in the middle of the night. The owner, Eduardo took me on a personal tour of the grounds and his fathers estate. Not saying everyone will receive this, but the hospitality and family nature of the hotel is unbeatable. At least once a week, there is a complimentary bottle of wine in the room and dishes and silverware are available and in good condition. As a pet friendly hotel, they truly mean pet friendly. When I would leave for work, I knew that the hotel staff knew about me pet and made sure when they cleaned the room he didn't get out. They went so far as to tell me when then were doing cleaning outside, to make sure I knew to close my windows so my pet didn't have to breath the extra dust. Bottom line: Great hotel, great facilities, and great ownership.

Room Tip: Bungalows are small, but comfortable. They have literally all the things you would need; washer, clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The complex was comfortable, friendly and relaxing. The pools are excellent and the greenery in the volcanic soil most soothing. The food is fresh and interestingly prepared and we had many alfresco meals in the elegant surroundings designed and built by the owners over the years. The tennis facilities are first class and were well used. The bungalow accommodation is simple but effective. There was only one brief break in the electricity supply during our stay and that was as a result of the neighbouring hillside catching fire for a couple of days, before the air force extinguished it with water dropped from planes and a helicopter. Highly recommended as a base for a local vacation, and a refuge from the general noise and untidiness of the streets of Napoli. Caters especially well for children.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

A great place with nice rooms, great pools, tennis courts and nice restaurant for a reasonable price.
This family owned hotel with ac rooms will give you the real Italian feeling during your stay. Excellent for families thanks to the friendly staff but also great for business travellers who prefer to relax after a busy day.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taino, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We came in the Averno Resort with our sons and their wives and 10 grandchildren between 16 and 2 years old to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. The whole experience was very positive. The bungalows and other accomodations were well equipped and complete.Airco in all rooms. The 5 swimming pools were heated and clean. The kindness and service of the personnel was above standard. Breakfast was according to the italian standards. No parking problems,The bus stop to Napels city is at the exit of the park. There is a restaurant inside the resort. Even tennis courts. The management was very helpful.The location is central to the Vesuvius, Solfatara, Ercolano, Pompei, Pozzuoli. You can reach the isles of Ischia, Procida and Capri by hydrofoil.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pozzuoli, Campania, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here. Plenty to do for our son who played himself to exhaustion in the swimming pools. The restaurant is phenomenal for a full dinner, or if you want to keep it light they also offer pizza takeaway. The bungalow we stayed in was perfect (2 bedrooms and a kitchen) with decks for eating outside and catching some sun. We recommend this hotel to anyone traveling through the Naples area, you can't find a better place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Complesso Turistico Averno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Complesso Turistico Averno

Address: Montenuovo Licola Patria 85, 80078 Pozzuoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Pozzuoli
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Pozzuoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Country Club is located 15 min from Naples, 25 min from the airport, and 5 min from Pozzuoli port.Our location and infrastructure makes us a perfect place for backpackers, bachelors and families to stay. We presently have 12 rooms and 13 bungalows with a hot-water thermal swimming pool and a cold swimming pool, a restaurant, bar, gym (closed in the month of August), night club, tennis, basketball, and camping. All our bungalows have a kitchen, living room, bathroom, one or two bedrooms and a place for parking. We also give free wireless Internet access to anyone staying in the resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Complesso Turistico Averno Pozzuoli, Italy - Province Of Naples

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Complesso Turistico Averno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.