We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist Hangout??? Yeah, but it sure is fun!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CHEZ BLACK

CHEZ BLACK
Via del Brigantino, 19, Positano, Italy
089875036
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 73 Restaurants in Positano
Price range: $28 - $111
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Clarksville Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Tourist Hangout??? Yeah, but it sure is fun!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Sometimes there is a reason that a place is a “tourist hangout, “ and not every time the reason is bad. If you are in Positano you can’t miss Chez Black. Go down to the beach and take a right and you are there!. What can I say, I’m, a tourist and I love it. Great food, great location, and Chez Black (probably in his 80’s by now) is almost always there. Lots of celeb pictures on the inside walls, but we just think it’s fun.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    407
    194
    88
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great location, good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was our third trip tp Positano and each time weve been we have dined here.The location is right on the harbour front and close to the water. At night the restaurants here at the waters edge are buzzing,everyone in town seem to converge on the harbour front and it has a great atmosphere. When you enter Chez Black and look aroung the slightly kitched nautical decor and walls adorned with hundreds of photos of famous film stars, celebrities and politicians you realise that this place has survived the tests of time to become one of the most iconic eating places in Positano.
The Service was professional if not a little abrupt at times and the food well presented and tasty.
The entertainment is certainly in watching your fellow diners here although we could have done without the table next to us feeding their dog at the table.
Their food and wine prices are reasonable considering their position, but dont expect haute cuisine, just simple food prepared well and served promptly. An enjoyable evening.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great crew good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

A great place to eat right on the beach. Very good staff who make you feel very welcome, only let down was the pizza that was a bit soggy but overall a good experience

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Avoid This Restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Having eaten at the restaurant next to Chez Black, we wanted to experience another taste of Positano........the Owner notified us that he had a large party coming in and we would have to be finished with our dinner at 8:30, which didn't seem to be a problem since we had 7 pm reservations (Originally wanted 7:30, but was told about the large party). From the time we sat down (6 of us) seated in the front row, the waiter "hovered" over us, refusing to answer any questions and said, "What do you want?" Since the restaurant was not inexpensive and not one person was in the restaurant at 8:30, we all felt our business was not important to them. Don't they realize that "Tourists" speak about good and bad experiences ???

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good location, reasonable food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is located on the beach at Positano. It has the usual array of food choices at a "tourist" restaurant in Italy with some extra seafood options thrown in. The food is reasonable, service by English-speaking waiters is good and the location excellent. Meals are on the pricey side though.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CHEZ BLACK also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to CHEZ BLACK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CHEZ BLACK, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.