We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful food in a great setting.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Ritrovo

Il Ritrovo
Via Montepertuso, 77, 84017 Positano, Italy
0039 089 812 005
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 73 Restaurants in Positano
Cuisines: Italian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Partiamo dalla cucina perche crediamo che la qualita delle nostre pietanze sia il fondamentale elemento del nostro ristorante. Il nostro scopo diventa di farvele gustare a casa nostra nel ristorante conosciuto come IL RITROVO.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful food in a great setting.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The title of the review says it all.
Gorgeous food, wonderfully fresh and a little different from the Italian fare available in the more central Positano restaurants.

Lots of thoughtful freebies, including prosecco, and a couple of bags of herbs and spices complete with mini recipes.

The only thing stopping me from giving 5 stars, is the fact that we had to wait almost an hour for our shuttle back to Positano.
Other than that, a truly wonderful evening.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    123
    39
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great last minute decision”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We took a bus up from Positano on the last full day of our trip, mostly for the experience of the bus and the views from the top. We decided on il Ritrovo due to some reviews I had seen a couple of days earlier and it was one of the first stops and a short walk in the heat. We stopped for lunch and had the BEST grilled octopus appetizer, also we had stuffed zucchini flowers and bruschetta. My husband's pasta dish was excellent as well as my sauteed shrimp (an appetizer that I chose for my meal---it was a lot of work to shell them but worth it!) The service was very good and a nice touch with homemade cookies at the end and some limoncello. They know how to make a guest feel welcome. If you're in a rush, do this at a time when you can spare a good amount of time, it's a very relaxed atmosphere, service takes some time. Take the bus up, nice way to connect with the area. We would have gone back if we had more time. Next time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stumbled in this restaurant by accident, as we and 2 other couples from New York were going to another one, but the bus let us off too far from our destination. The food was great, simple and just delicious, the view is beautiful, the restaurant lovely, but our server, Paolo, was amazing! It ended up being one of our best memory of our trip to the beautiful Amalfi Coast. This restaurant is not to be missed if you are in Positano. Thank you, Paolo, for making that day memorable!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Cooking course and eat the rewards”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Looking for something to do on a wet day, the staff at our hotel reccomended a cooking course at this restaraunt.

Note the cooking course is not advertised and you will need to ask if they can run the course for you.

They charged 130 euro for the adults and half price for the kids and is well worth it both from and educational aspect and enjoyment.

The kids decided what to eat and we made zucchini flowers stuffed with 3 cheeses followed by gnocchi made from scratch in a light tomato sauce with mozzarella and then veal scallopine.

For dessert we made tiramisu with orange amd lemon instead of coffee due to the children.

Marylou who is the aunt of the owner Salvatore ran the course who arranged to pick up and drop us back at the hotel.

The children get aprons with the restaraunt name on them which is a nice little momento.

Wine is included when you sit down for your meal.

Overall a great experience at several levels.

Pity we cannot go back as i watched Salvatore cook a large pan of mixed seafood and had plans of ordering with our meal but way too full so could not fit.

My advice go there hungry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Consistently fantastic and our favorite in Positano”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We have been coming to Positano every year for the past 4 and we are a family of 4 foodies with 2 boys (aged 10 and 8). This restaurant is our favorite in Positano with wonderful family service and the best of traditional Italian food. Today we went for lunch and it was still glorious despite the thunderstorm. We were given complimentary bruschetta (even our 8 year old who hates tomatoes loved this) and the best fried zucchini flowers we have had in Italy. My husband and I both had the walnut, cream and parmesan pasta - totally rich and utterly divine and we did the Walk of the Gods afterwards to walk it off! The boys both had spaghetti with clams and mussels with a beautiful garlic sauce. Our waiter remembered us from last year and so the boys were given lovely sweet treats to finish - a mini tiramisu and a chocolate tarte.
The restaurant has a complimentary shuttel service for dinner and we're taking this for dinner later this week. Just terrific food with unpretensious and charming service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Ritrovo also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Il Ritrovo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Ritrovo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.