We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in Positano -- if you're in good physical shape” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Maliosa d'Arienzo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Maliosa d'Arienzo to your Saves list
La Maliosa d'Arienzo
Via Arienzo 74, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 45 Positano B&B and Inns
Athens, Alabama, United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice place in Positano -- if you're in good physical shape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Wow. I didn't realize that everything in Positano was built clinging to the side of a mountain, including this Bed and Breakfast. There were lots of steep steps. There is some parking available, but we didn't have a car, so we had to rely on walking had to find drivers for longer distances. The room was spacious, the water was hot, the view was amazing, and the breakfast was nice. The walk DOWN to town wasn't so bad, but the walk back UP. Well, it was more challenging. You don't want to miss Positano, though, if you go to Italy, and this is a nice choice for lodging.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    39
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
71
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed 5 nights and we enjoyed very much. The view of hotel is very nice. Location is very close to center of Positano. You can go easily by walk. There is parking in front of hotel. Everytime we found place for parking but Im sure it wouldnt be that easy during high season.
Room was clean. Breakfast was good. The owner Felix is sympathic and great chef he cooked lunch for us, it was delicious. There is a beautiful beach in front of the B&B. We were lucky to have good weather and swim 2 days. There are 250 stairs down to beach from B&B (going up is not easy but it is beautiful).
Im sure we will go and stay there again,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I see many reviewers have already commented on the distance the B&B is from central Positano. We found this to be a real advantage. The walk was pleasant along the snaky, cliff-side road, and, not being Italian, we had our most authentic Amalfi experience in a tiny grocery store along the route. Apart from ourselves, only locals kept popping in, greeting each other, picking up sundry items. We were interested in local cheeses and were enthusiastically helped: the woman behind the counter kept offering us different selections to sample. We liked going into town and then having a quiet refuge away from the tourist traffic. Plus, Felix's limoncello was arguably the best I have ever had the pleasure of tasting. The private beach is vastly superior to the mobbed public one. Our room was simple but clean. Perhaps a bad view does not exist in Positano. This B&B was no exception with a magnificent view. Felix was also able to accommodate our family of four in one quadruple room - something we had trouble locating elsewhere. We found that the towns we visited along the coast all had excellent tourist offices with maps, helpful tips and, undoubtedly, information on tours. An essential question becomes: what does a traveller want: to be at the center of the foot traffic and town activity? Or serenity and a terrace with a spectacular view? (P.S. Statues and fountains meant to be amusing, we found tacky. But that is simply our opinion.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Honestly... I will choose another place for my next stay in Positano
- The view from the place is great, true... but it's still outside the main town. It's much more logistically convenient to have a place in Positano
- Staff wasn't helpful. We tried to organize a trip in the area, asked many times (in fluent Italian) to the staff for help to understand the local transportation - the result was really poor. We actually got much more help from a restaurant owner and other tourists. Additionally, the staff was never at the desk during the day.
- Breakfast was just ok - I frankly expected more. If you get late for breakfast (but still within the time range they give you) you really have only few choices left
- Rooms were ok - expected a bit more, it's a B&B yes, but just a bit more attention would be important

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

This would have to be on of the best B&B's I have ever stayed in. I have travelled to many beautiful parts of the world and this is SPECIAL. I am fortunate enough to speak Italian as I am an Australian with Italian parents, so, in many places I stay when I'm in Italy treat me with a little more respect but not here. Felix, the owner is extremely polite, happy, helpfull, can cook you dinner and always working hard to ensure that EVERYONE is being looked after. What a great spot it is as well. It's a 20 minute walk into Positano centre, it's views are spectacular, and 200 steps down to your own private beach where this is a lovely little restaurant/bar. The staff here are lovely and very friendly and the food is freshly picked or fished out of the sea the same day. What more can I say........ Top spot!!! Exquisite.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Now the first thing I will say is that it is a bit of a hike from town - it's roughly 2kms along the very winding road which also happens to the main road between towns, with no footpath (when a bus comes along squeeze in between any parked car you can) saying this though it is not a 'terrible' walk, depending on the time of day. The B&B itself is stunning! Great views and very relaxing. The rooms are basic and the bed was very hard (the toilet also ran all night), breakfast was okay, but the host was great! It's roughly 300 steps down to a lovely beach - but remember that's also 300 steps back up! Everything in Positano is a hike though so just embrace and enjoy this amazing spot.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

La Maliosa is like a little Oasis of relaxation. When you walk down the stairs into the wonderful garden you don't feel as if you are entering a B&B, it feels almost like coming home. I stayed in La Maliosa for two weeks, had a spacious room, good state, bathroom as well. All was very clean and there was airconditioning. There is Wi-Fi internet and enough parking spaces (behind gate, so protected). It is just outside Positano, 5 min drive by car, 15 min walk or 5 min drive by bus. Just 30 second walk from the B&B you have a busstop, just perfect. The owner of La Maliosa, his name is Felice, is a wonderful energetic person. Everything you will see in the B&B, from the garden, rooms, furniture etc, he did it all himself. If you are looking for an affordable, clean, well maintained B&B in Positano, with parking facilities, Wi-Fi option, I can definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maliosa d'Arienzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maliosa d'Arienzo

Address: Via Arienzo 74, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Maliosa d'Arienzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maliosa d`Arienzo Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maliosa d'Arienzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.