We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“smaller beach worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spiaggia del Fornillo

Spiaggia del Fornillo
Positano, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 attractions in Positano
Type: Beaches
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This stretch of coastline has often been described as the most beautiful in the entire Mediterranean. One afther another, green and rocky mountainsp lunge dramatically into the mediterranean blue sea. The famouse Amalfi Coast road clings to the mountainsides revealing a succession of picturebook wiews each seemingly more stunning than the one before. Not so many years ago much of this coast was only accessible by boat. Now it is a fashionable resort area which retains the charm of past times.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“smaller beach worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

off main beach, very nice, a little bit smaller, i love the food place at il pupetto beach! its seems a little more crowded just because its smaller

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    117
    32
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Just what a beach in Italy should be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were fortunate to spend five days in Positano this past summer and we spent part of every day at this beach. Each day we rented loungers and the beach attendant was always kind enough to give us a convenient area and offer us beach toys for our children. We rented floats for them and they spent hours in the calm waters lounging and playing. This is a great beach for kids because the water is so calm. Coming from the US, we had prepared for the rockiness of the beach and brought beach shoes but we didn't even need them. The rocks are smooth, and although they can be hot, are not uncomfortable to walk on. The kids also enjoyed hunting for sea glass which is plentiful. Of course, the views are amazing and it is an experience in and of itself to enjoy the surroundings of such a scenic place as Positano. What impressed us the most about this beach how clean it was! Plus, the bathrooms on the boardwalk were immaculate and convenient! Cannot wait to return!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Restaurants, Artists, Gelato Bars and Sunbathers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The beach is a happening place, full of activity. Go down around sunset and join the locals in watching the sun touchdown on the ocean's horizon.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
173 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I didnt spend much time on the beach but did walk along it for awhile. the beach is clean and they have chairs and umberellas for rent. they have restraunts that look out onto the beach. While on the beach you have great views of the cliffs

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We came to Positano for just 3 days at the end of September, when it wasn't overrun, but still busy. We stayed in the tiny Nocelle district at the top of the mountain, a 30 minute bus ride from the stop nearest the main beach, which then was another 20 minutes walk away. We weren't happy with the main beach, it didn't look peaceful, sounded noisy. The restaurants there were expensive. So we hiked 15 minutes over to Fornillo. The hike was beautiful, and the smaller beach was much more peaceful and easygoing. Quiet, with locals, and the gnocchi I bought at La Marinella was the best gnocchi I ate my entire 3 weeks traveling through Italy!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spiaggia del Fornillo also viewed

Positano, Amalfi Coast
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 
Positano, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Spiaggia del Fornillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spiaggia del Fornillo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Spiaggia del Fornillo to your Saves list