We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel High on the Hill in Positano” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Bougainville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Bougainville to your Saves list
Hotel La Bougainville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristorofo Colombo 25, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in Positano
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel High on the Hill in Positano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

If you travel to the Amalfi Coast, Positano is perhaps the most charming town of any along the rocky shores and cliffs that dot the coastline between Naples and Sorrento. Hotel La Bougainville is located a good, steep walk from where ferries dock at the port of Positano, but the affordability and charm of the hotel hugely make up for the walk (which is as beautiful as any you could imagine). In Positano, the streets are lined with restaurants and shops shrouded with flowers and vines, all amidst cobbled streets and well to do tourists. The hotel offers air-conditioning, decent sized rooms, a delectable free breakfast each morning, and the staff are more than willing to offer advice on restaurants, day trips, and of course the ferry to Capri. If you want a hotel that is priced at 25% of what you would expect to pay for such a vacation, but is worth 200%, then look no further than Hotel La Bougainville, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you are planning a trip to the Amalfi coast, book your stay at the hotel early as it is the nices...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    141
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
46
238
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed at La Bouganville with my sister for two nights, and our stay was not long enough! Such a great place, in a really convenient location, with the most helpful staff! From help with directions, to a restaurant recommendation, to access to towels to use to hit the beach, we had access to everything we could have needed! Would highly recommend La Bougainville; can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We left Positano on the 20th of May (reluctantly) Loved it. We were offered an upgrade to sea view for an extra 40 euro per night which we very gladly accepted. Amazing views! Nice rooms, nice bathroom... shower was nice and big. We did not have the breakfast so cannot comment. Reception were lovely. Oerfect location, easy to get down through the shoops to beach or up to restaurants and look outs up the mountain. If you drive the parking is directly across from the hotel, which is handy. There are no elevators so getting the luggage upstairs can be abit of a struggle! Would stay here again. Missing it already.

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to sea view . No better view than Positano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed in this quaint Hotel in the heart of Positano which was beautiful with seaviews. Parking was across the road and all the shops and restaurants are in walking distance. Breakfast was great and the staff very helpful and accommodating. Well worth the stay. Short walk to the harbour to catch the next ferry out to Capri.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This place was a great value for the convenience. It was right on the corner off one of the drivable roads (off the main Amalfi Drive) and the walkway to the beach. They also offered beach towels, which was great since we didn't pack any. The breakfast wasn't anything terribly special, but still a decent start to the day. No need to fill up anyway with all the great food around. The rooms were comfortable with some decent bath products, too, and combined with the air conditioning, the nice shower was very refreshing after a hot and sunny day on the beach. We even had a nice balcony toward the sea, which was a very pleasant view. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We went to Positano for a friends Wedding so wanted quite a cheap hotel for our stay. We were very pleasantly surprised. In relation to the other hotels in Positano is was one of the cheaper ones we found. Our room was very basic with a window above the wardrobe which you couldn't see out of as it was so high, however the room was very clean, the staff were lovely and the breakfasts were good. It is situated just off the main pedestrian area of the town so not many steps to climb to get to the beach. All I will say is if you want more than just a place to rest your head then ask for a room with a view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Perfectly situated in the main Piazza Mulini of Positano, Hotel La Bougainville is the ultimate score while discovering this amazing village. The personalized service, attentiveness along with cleanliness is above and beyond. Our room, #10, was the perfect size including a large bathroom with charming cobalt tiles with the best view of the iconic mountainside..all while relaxing on the terrace and in bed! We look forward to returning on our next Positano vacation!

Room Tip: Room #10 - Sea View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Bougainville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bougainville

Address: Via Cristorofo Colombo 25, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#4 Best Value Hotel in Positano
#14 Family Hotel in Positano
#15 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bougainville 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a superb location in the picturesque historic center of Positano, only five minutes from the sea. Hotel La Bougainville is a delightful family run establishment where modern technology and contemporary furnishings have been employed so as to offer the utmost in comfort and design.The interiors of the hotel, filled with the bright colors typical of the Amalfi Coast, are stylishly simple. A number of bedrooms lead out on to their own private balcony, from where to enjoy views of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Bougainville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainville Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Bougainville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.