We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Bougainville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Bougainville to your Saves list
Hotel La Bougainville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristorofo Colombo 25, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Lexington, South Carolina
1 review
“Very Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had a very nice stay for one night at the hotel. We would have loved to stay longer. The hotel was beautiful and clean and the staff was very helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel. The location was perfect. Just a short walk from the bus stop and very close to the shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and get the room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    144
    25
    8
    1
See reviews for
48
241
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel is a short walk down to the beach and near the shopping.
The Staff was very helpful and the breakfast offered a large variety.
It was so fun to have a view from your terrace. The shower was
large which was so nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Beautifully clean and ideally located for this wonderful holiday destination. Rooms with balcony and sea view a must , as the alternative means you miss out big time. Staff amazing, extremely helpful. The man , Raffaelle, serving breakfast particularly helpful and lovely! Short and pretty walk to the beach. Thank you for everything! Jackie

Room Tip: With balcony a MUST!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this adorable little hotel. The room was very clean and bright and we enjoyed the little veranda. It's very convenient to all the places you may want to walk to in Positano - close to all the shops and not too far for walking to the beaches.
One of the best parts of our stay was the incredible help of the two women who always seemed to be at the front desk! From recommendations to calling in reservations for us, they were great!
Oh, one more thing - the cafe latte and breakfast were wonderful! Thank you

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed 5 nights and loved the hotel, we originally booked the cheapest room with the remote controlled high window, then requested a larger room with 2 windows but no view a few weeks before we arrived. This room was great, very big, had a double bed and a single even though there were just the 2 of us but it was great to have so much space. The hotel had no problems with us changing our minds as there was an available room. Good shower and bathroom and really good WiFi and breakfast was good with a nice view too.
The hotel is in the perfect location, right in the middle of positano, just a few doors down from the main square where the internal bus stop is and where the pedestrian streets start. There's a bank at the entrance to the hotel which is convenient and if your driving there is a car park across the street.
Upon arriving though which everybody does driving into Positano, we were mesmerised with the views and the beauty of the place and regreted not booking a room with a balcony and views.
We asked for an upgrade but the hotel was booked out unfortunately, this hotel is great value in such an expensive place like Positano, if your going there fork out the money and get a balcony room it would be so worth it.

Room Tip: Book a room with a balcony, also do the walking tour with discover positano tours, fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We just returned from 6 nights at Hotel La Bougainville and can still picture the extraordinary view from our balcony. The hotel is located high enough to get great views of the cityscape and the sea, but close enough to the beach, ferry and restaurants that we didn't get winded by too many steps down! The staff were very helpful suggesting restaurants, ferry companies to Amalfi and Capri and overall questions about Positano. Great value for the money!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room with a balcony! It's so lovely to sit and watch the sea by day and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I chose this hotel because of all the other reviews about the location and they were all true. If you want to be central to the square and quick to the beach, this is a great spot. We also found the parking across the street to be IDEAL. When you are driving on the tiny streets of the Amalfi Coast, it was so wonderful to have a close spot to park our car for 4 days. It was $25 Euro/day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Bougainville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bougainville

Address: Via Cristorofo Colombo 25, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#14 Family Hotel in Positano
#15 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bougainville 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a superb location in the picturesque historic center of Positano, only five minutes from the sea. Hotel La Bougainville is a delightful family run establishment where modern technology and contemporary furnishings have been employed so as to offer the utmost in comfort and design.The interiors of the hotel, filled with the bright colors typical of the Amalfi Coast, are stylishly simple. A number of bedrooms lead out on to their own private balcony, from where to enjoy views of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Bougainville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainville Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Bougainville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.