We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying in the Almalfi Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Bougainville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Bougainville to your Saves list
Hotel La Bougainville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristorofo Colombo 25, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Napa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Staying in the Almalfi Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Wonderful room and delightful service from Marella and staff. Our room was lovely; with a wonderful balcony that had an ocean view. We sat one night with friends and just sipped wine and watched the sun go down. The decor, colors and furniture felt "so Positano, so Italy" The breakfast dining area had the same view, only down two floors. The breakfast were wonderful, with the most tasty baked goods and a wonderful spinach quiche. The room, like our own room was light and airy and you ate your breakfast with an incredible view of the towns, hillsides and ocean. Staying in this hotel and in Positano was definitely a great decision for our visit to the Almalfi coast. We also ferried to Almalfi and bussed to Ravello, and found them wonderful, but Positano was definitely the best for us and our hotel location, beautiful room and view and gracious help and service from staff and Marella made it all very special

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    145
    25
    8
    1
See reviews for
49
241
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

The Bougainville was a lovely hotel, very central, near beach and bus stops. The rooms were very clean and the staff were very helpful. They advised us on the best trips to take and where to eat etc., and also helped us organise our bus (we had no Italian!!). Breakfast was very nice with good choices of food.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

This was our second stay at the Bougainville. Loved it both times. Great location, reasonable pricing, extremely helpful staff. Really enjoyed working with Murrella and Andrea. They went above And beyond the call of duty to take care of my party of six people. God bless!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

The Bougainville was a pretty hotel at the center of Positano. Not far to the beach and near lots of shopping, etc. The non view rooms are very small but sufficient for a short stay and all you need. The hotel was charming and the staff was more than helpful. We enjoyed our stay there. They do serve a very nice breakfast also.

Room Tip: For a larger very nice room choose the room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in September 2011. Great location, just hard to find the entrance though - stairs leading from a banking machine kiosk to the hotel. The room was fine, a little dirty looking - needs a coat of paint and maybe a painting or two on the walls to make it feel more comfy. The room had a sparse feeling to it. Not a room you want to come to home to and relax. The bed was comfortable enough, and the bathroom was clean and fine. The staff are very friendly. The beach towels provided are a bit to be desired - they were a bit ratty. Breakfast was fine, continental style to get your through to lunch. 24 hour desk was helpful and makes you feel safe.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Ontario Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Mirela and her Dad were very welcoming and helpful treating us just like family. This family run hotel was exactly what we needed after leaving the hustle and bustle of Rome. Nestled at the bottom of the steep winding hill, the only entrance to Positano was where this perfect little gem was located. We had a room on the second floor which was twice the size of the room we had in Rome with a little sitting area, tv, and large bathroom with an awesome shower. We alos had a sliding patio door which opened onto a balcony with 2 chairs , overlooking the city. The hotel had wi fi at a very reasonable price and included a lovely breakfast of pastries, fruit, cheeses, coffee etc. You could have eaten in the small main dining area similar to a large kitchen or there was also a larger table neaq the open window which was a perfect view of the hustle bustle below of the shops. There was numerous shops right outside your door, which made for a wonderful stroll after dinner. There are many restaurants to choose from and some have a shuttle to pick you up right at your hotel. THe staff were awesome at not only answering any questions you had about excursions, restaurants etc but were also very willing to book your reservations or check on cost for you. A must is the restaurant at the very top of Positano which you must be shuttle to, but the view of the sea is amazing. It is about 5 minute walk down to the beach while strolling though numerous shops that you can buy souvenirs, clothing and even grocery store markets. The market store enabled us to plan a picnic lunch of fruits, cheeses and proscuitto with a little bit of vino. There is even a nicer beach about 15 minute walk that has a little out door cafe, bar, change rooms and rafts. Temperature on Sept 28th was 28 degrees making for some nice fall swimming. Another must is to take the bus to the top of the hill in Positano and walk down to the bottom strolling in various shops, stopping for a cappucino, a pastry or to chat with some shop owners.The overall cost was the same as rome but double the space and much more relaxing and welcoming. I LOVED THIS LITTLE GEM AND HOPE TO RETURN TO POSITANO ONCE AGAIN AND STAY AT THIS HOTEL. Koodos Mirela and Dad and staff!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

As soon as we arrived, the hotel staff greeted us with a big smile in a welcoming atmosphere. We arrived two hours early and they made sure we had a room in just 30 minutes. I stayed two nights at this hotel; I must say I loved everything. They were responsive to all of my emails and booked car service for us. Clean room, great location, and the best customer service I received in Italy. They surpassed my expectation of them.

Will recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Bougainville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bougainville

Address: Via Cristorofo Colombo 25, 84017 Positano, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Positano
#14 Family Hotel in Positano
#15 Romantic Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Bougainville 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a superb location in the picturesque historic center of Positano, only five minutes from the sea. Hotel La Bougainville is a delightful family run establishment where modern technology and contemporary furnishings have been employed so as to offer the utmost in comfort and design.The interiors of the hotel, filled with the bright colors typical of the Amalfi Coast, are stylishly simple. A number of bedrooms lead out on to their own private balcony, from where to enjoy views of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Bougainville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainville Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Bougainville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.