We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buca di Bacco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Buca di Bacco to your Saves list
Hotel Buca di Bacco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Boston, Massachusets
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2007

The hotel sits right on the town's main beach which is a plus and a minus. We were in the heart of it all, but we missed the view of the harbor from the mountain side hotels. We really loved this hotel because the staff was so wonderful. The manager was enthusiastic and helpful. The waiters and the bartender were a delight, which made our evenings on the main terrace really enjoyable. We kicked off our visit with a wonderful meal at the hotel's restaurant . Our room was very nice with a modern bathroom and a lovely terrace with 2 lounge chairs that overlooked Positano's main beach.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    111
    16
    8
    0
See reviews for
124
514
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Connecticut
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

Beautiful, clean, wonderful service. After the hustle and bustle of Rome it was a wonderful end to our holiday. We were very happy with the hotel restaurant. They give a 10% reduction to hotel guests. The food and service were excellent and a good value.

We were very pleased with the decision to stay in Positano. We had stayed in Sorrento on our last trip. We liked that also as it has a different atmosphere. Positano was not as touristy as we had expected. April was a great time to be there. The weather was beautiful. Spring had arrived but not the crowds of high season.

We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Liked — beautiful wherever you look. Gorgeous tile work, antigues and flower arrangements throughout hotel
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2007

BUCA DI BACCO, Our home away from home in Positano. We arrived there for a week's stay on October 21st 2006. This was the 2nd time we visited the Amalfi coast and without hesitation booked Buca. Our first trip was in October of 2003. We knew what to expect and were never disappointed. We had the corner balcony room #11 on the corner overlooking the beach and the expansive view. Sitting on our terrace was a slice of heaven. There's eye-candy everywhere you look. We were just above the breakfast patio which is also used in the evening for the bar. Noise in our room was not an issue at all. We frequented the local restaurants and ate several times at the restaurant in the hotel which is not owned by the hotel although they do cater to the Buca guests. The food was good and the service prompt and friendly. No complaints!
Ted, my husband was ill with a flu we'd picked up in Greece the week before. Francesco "Cicco", called Dr. Paulo, the local physician, and within an hour or so he was at our room door. Talk about being catered to and taken care of. When was the last time you had a Doctor make a housecall, and at a hotel none the less? He had to walk down from his office at the top of the hill and charged less than a regular office visit in the states.
Wow!
Our experience with everyone there was positive, Francesco (exhibiting the epitome of hospitality) , Patrick, Samuel, all the front desk staff, the bar, housekeeping and the breakfast room. I wish I could remember everyones' names.
The breakfast buffet was delicious and had incredible variety, eggs, meats, cheeses, fresh fruits, pastries, etc. etc. I understand someone in the hotel owner's family makes the pastries. Scrumptious. Maybe next visit I can get some recipes.
We also enjoyed meeting and talking with the other guests who were staying there. One couple had been visiting for well over 20 years. I think they love it (understatement) as much as we have come to love it there. You just feel good, relax, enjoy the atmosphere and especially enjoy the people.
Other conveniences:
-a short walk to the ferry
-luggage service
-internet access
-clean accommodations
-bookings and information on local attractions
-taxi arrangements
-airport transportation arrangements
-easy day trip to Capri and other sites
Ask for help and you shall recieve.
We found Positano charming, exotic and beautiful. The Buca di Bacco, ah, just thinking of it makes me want to click the heels of my Ruby Red slippers to take us to our favorite Italian paradise.
Give yourself a treat, you only live once, this should be on the proverbial list of " 100 places to see before you die".
Jean and Ted
Laguna Beach, California
Park City, Utah

  • Liked — The staff and everything else!
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything. We loved it.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2007

This hotel was the last on our 4 week European Trip and by far the best. To wake up to such a superb view and breakfast every morning - there was no better way to start your day. Eggs and coffee made specially for you as you like them and at no extra charge..and you can't go pass the Hot Chocolates!
A great location - you feel like you are in your own little Italian Village. Only one little gripe - it is difficult lugging your suitcases down to the Hotel!

  • Liked — Service / Location
  • Stayed April 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2007

We have stayed at this hotel twice. We love this spot and hotel. Great location. Clean rooms. Breakfast overlooking the ocean. Very happy and we will go back.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
294 helpful votes 294 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2006

I'm glad I stayed out of season in Positano because I get the impression it would be crowded in the Summer. The hotel is down near the beach which is ideal for lots of restaurants and shops but beware if you have a heavy suitcase because you will struggle to get there (the town is mainly pedestrianised little alleys)! Most of it is on a slope so it's not too bad and probably only about 20 or so stairs to get to the hotel. Its a charming town with lots of shopping possibilities and nice restaurants. The hotel has a great view of the old church dome and the sea. Its charmingly decorated with white tiles and then the typical Positano brightly coloured tiles. The rooms are freshly painted white with the pretty tiles giving it a splash of colour. The bathrooms are comfortable with a big sink surround and a decent sized bathtub. The beds are comfortable but the only disappointment was the lack of English channels on the TV. The breakfast spread was adequate without being excessive (cereals, croissants etc) - no cooked breakfast was offered. The hotel offers a free internet service for guests which was convenient and the staff were very friendly.

  • Liked — The decor
  • Disliked — Lack of English TV
  • Tips/Secrets — Take a suitcase with wheels!
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2006

Stayed at the Buca in September for a friend's wedding. It is a totally unspoilt, traditional family hotel. Beautifully and individually appointed, it is a refreshing change from the plastic palaces offered by the chains. The whole place set the tone for a fabulous weekend and I would recommend the breakfast (try the strawberry tart), lunch in the restaurant and drinks on the terrace, where you could happily imagine Sophia Loren turning up at the next table.

This is not a cheap hotel, so do pay a little extra and get a sea view so that you can smile every morning and be happy that you made the right choice. If you're going for the weekend, then don't hire a car (nowhere to park) but do get the hotel to send a car to the airport. And leave plenty of time to get back to Naples airport if it's Sunday night, even though this might leave you with spare time at the airport which is a shame because it has to be one of the most populous, unpleasant, dirty, under-facilitied nightmares that is badly due a refurb.

BTW, the wedding reception was held at the Palazzo Murat, with drinks and dinner in the courtyard restaurant, which is fabulous and a must for an upmarket romantic dinner. Did not rate Chez Black at all. Good atmosphere but ghastly tourist-trap food IMHO.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Address: Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buca di Bacco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.