We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Positano!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buca di Bacco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Buca di Bacco to your Saves list
Hotel Buca di Bacco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017, Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Positano
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Positano!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here in June this year, and couldnt fault this hotel.

The staff were amazing in Particular the breakfast staff - who always made us feel so welcome. We loved every minute of our stay here. We had a partial obstructed view, and there was absolutely nothing obstructed from sight!

The location of this hotel is incredible with everything so close to the door!

We loved our stay here, and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I just got back from a fabulous stay at this hotel in Positano. The location cannot be beat...you are steps away from the beach with perfect views of the hillside. We were lucky enough to get a balcony that overlooks the beach so we had no complaints in that department. The only thing that was less than perfect was the size of the bathroom, which could not fit my husband and I in it at the same time. The shower was tiny! But that was a minor discomfort given all the wonderful things about the hotel including the staff.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in four different hotels while in Positano and Buca di Bacco was our favorite. Charming, nicely furnished, very pleasant staff. We thought the price for a sea view was very affordable compared to others. We did not have any noise concerns even staying so close to the beach, in fact we kept our balcony doors open a lot. Great location for a boat ride or a day on the beach. Lots of shopping and artists along the sidewalks. The daily complimentary breakfast was nice. They reserved us a spectacular table in their restaurant too. Try the mozzarella grilled in lemon leaves!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Roadtrip022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We loved every moment of our stay at Buca di Bacco. We booked a Classic room and it was fantastic; very clean and spacious with a touch of quirkiness provided by the extravagant headboards. Our room had a fairly large terrace which overlooked the Mediterranean and the cliff of gelato coloured houses. Location was perfect, very close to the beach and easy access to the cobbled walking lanes which take you around Positano. Whilst the hotel is expensive, it's definitely worth the additional cost for the location and view it provides.

Room Tip: The corner suite was large and sunny with one big terrace which overlooks the ocean and two small ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was by far my favorite hotel we stayed at during our recent trip to Italy. It has a great location, practically right on the beach. We had room 27, the partial ocean view room, but due to the helpful reviews on TA, we were prepared for it. Although the white box outside the window (which was noiseless) did take up a large part of the view, I think it was still worth it to have the little terrace, with table and chairs. And it was still a wonderful view! We enjoyed sitting out on the terrace many days with a bottle of wine. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. I enjoyed the breakfast at the hotel, with a beautiful spread and more importantly, a beautiful view. The service at the hotel was wonderful, and everyone we met was so kind and friendly. Most of the restaurants in Positano are quite overpriced, but we did enjoy eating at Next2, which was a nice walk from the hotel. The best thing we did in Positano was the Path of the Gods hike, which was recommended to us by the woman at the front desk of the hotel. I would highly recommend this hotel.

A tip if you are coming from Sorrento: take the high speed boat from the Sorrento dock and walk right up from the beach to the hotel. Thanks to the recommendation of the hotel, we did this and were very happy we did.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinelover33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and had a room with an outdoor patio and an oceanfront view. The decor in the room was lovely - lots of painted tile and gold leafing. The hotel was very convenient for taking ferries to Sorrento, Amalfi and Capri (the boat dock was a short walk away). The staff were all super friendly and bent over backwards to give us great service. Towels were changed during turn down service and you could pick up fresh beach towels at the front desk anytime.

I loved the view of the ocean and all the boats in the harbor. This is a very lively and busy beach. There is a public beach in front of the hotel and then next to it, you can rent chairs and umbrellas on that section of the beach. Those areas provide showers, but you don't have much problem with sand on your feet here because the beach is pebbly. It does hurt your feet bad, though, so if you're planning to swim, take along your surf shoes!

Breakfasts are included and were absolutely delicious. I especially enjoyed the pastries with powdered sugar that are filaments of dough with filling that melt in your mouth. But there was yogurt, scrambled eggs, cereals and every kind of bread and pastry. Also fresh OJ.

The dinners were delicious and reasonably priced. They gave us 10 percent off on all meals, which helped even more. The pasta and seafood were absolutely amazing. We dined one night at another high-end restaurant - paid twice as much - and I didn't find the food as good.

What I disliked about Buca di Bacco was the horrendous amount of noise at night making it nearly impossible to sleep and that the beds were so hard, I awoke feeling achy every morning. I didn't feel like these discomforts were something I should have to experience at such an expensive hotel.

Here are some suggestions that might be helpful...

1) Book a porter (for 5 euro per back) across from the pharmacy near the main square bus stop, especially if you are staying at a beachfront hotel. The walkways are narrow, steep and uneven and there are so many people, it would be nearly impossible to get luggage down the mountain.

2) Bring wax earplugs along if you plan to sleep. Positano is a bustling place and the cliff of rock all around seems to amplify the noise many times over. People launch firecrackers at intervals all day, scream and shout during World Cup games and have loud parties in neighboring rooms until 3 in the morning. This place is NOT quiet.

3) Bring surf shoes because the pebbles on the beach are hell on your feet.

4) Head to Fornillo beach if you don't like crowds. There is also more sand there as well. We found quiet spots in between the rocks we could stretch out on the sand and sleep since it was hard to do in our room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sabrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinsville
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is one of the nicest, friendliest and well located hotels I have ever been to. Great location, great people, great food and a great choice!!!. Very clean. The staff is sooo friendly and helpful!!! I would highly recommend this hotel. I don't have a single complaint. Thank you Hotel Buca di Bacco for a great 5 nt. end to my 2 week vacation.

Room Tip: Spring for a sea view you will not regret it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingal555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#2 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#1 of 39 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#6 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#8 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
Hotel Villa Gabrisa
#9 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
0.9 mi away
Il San Pietro di Positano
Il San Pietro di Positano
#3 of 39 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Address: Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017, Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing