We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buca di Bacco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Buca di Bacco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Buca di Bacco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 41 hotels in Positano
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Everything about our stay here was perfect. The hotel is beautiful, clean and lovely in every way. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. The view from our room was breathtaking. A room with an ocean view is a must and worth every dime. The restaurant provided an amazing meal with seating overlooking the ocean. The location of this hotel is perfect for enjoying all of Positano without being crowded with tourists. You are steps from the beach and the beauty of the Amalfi Coast. Take a day trip to Capri arranged by the hotel. We simply can't say enough about Hotel Buca di Bacco. By far our favorite hotel in Italy.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms with a view are a MUST. You can't miss out on the breathtaking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    625
    95
    14
    8
    0
See reviews for
114
456
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roslyn, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed at Bucca di Bacco for three nights on our honeymoon. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the ocean ( absolutely worth the money!). The view is breathtaking! Everything about this hotel is perfect. The location couldn't be better, right on the beach. We had breakfast on the terrace and watched all the boats coming in and out. We were greeted every morning by the sweetest waitress who remembered our names and what we wanted to eat. We cant wait to come back, we truly fell in love with Positano.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

simply 1st class!!!!
clean, well decorated, amazing breakfasts...right on the beach...must get the sea view room.......
its well worth every dollar !!!! We took the cooking class as well....it was a fun time and an amazing experience. ....enjoy !!

Room Tip: sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibodaux, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Buca di Bacco for the first part of our Honeymoon. We were completely charmed by Positano, the hotel, and the staff.

The staff were completely accomodating before (via email), during, and after our stay. We booked activities and a car service beforehand, and the front desk was always pleasant and helpful when we passed by. I happened to leave a small chain necklace when we left, and they called our driver to let me know. I was ready to say just stick it in the mail to me, or just throw it out, as we were already well on our way to Pompeii and were on a bit of a schedule to make a train later that afternoon and the necklace was just a little trinket, but they had the necklace go out with the next driver and he stopped and left it with ours! That service is above and beyond.

The room was charming, very large, exactly what was pictured (and even better!). The deck was amazing. Everything was immaculately clean, which is most important in my book.

Positano was beautiful, serene, and laid back - especially since we were there at the end of October.

We do recommend if you have large bags to go ahead and pay the porter to bring them down and up to the hotel! We (mistakenly) thought that going down would be easy - but with big bags and lots of steps, it just wasn't. We paid the porter to bring them up when we left.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We returned to Buci di Bacco to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary and were delighted to experience the same ambiance and charm as our last trip. The hotel has modernised without loosing charm. WIFI in all rooms and in the public areas. There are excellent views from the terrace serving an abundant breakfast. On the 2nd day our waitress remembered that I liked start my breakfast with a cappuccino and then finish with an expresso The rooms are light and airy with plenty of space and storage, the bathroom beautiful marble and the bed enormous. I liked having an ironing room as I prefer to do my own ironing. There is also a book exchange on the same floor. All the staff at the front desk were really helpful booking our day trip to Capri and suggesting which day to go because of an incoming storm. They also recommended some great restaurants for us to try.
Our terrace was amazing a lovely table with 2 chairs and 2 deck chairs for lounging. Some days we enjoyed our lunch from the best views in Positano our terrace.
I love the hotel because it is at the heart of Positano, you can watch the boats come in and out, look what is happening on the beach and enjoy real family hospitality. It is definitely worth paying for it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a nice, but not great room. Smallish with a small terrace - 2 chairs + table. In the room - only one comfortable chair. We took an elevator in the main hotel to an upper floor and transferred to another elevator to get to our room. This is not mentioned on websites or I probably would have chosen another hotel or specified the main hotel. A nice view was over a very busy beach and looked sideways over Positano. They had a fantastic breakfast on a terrace overlooking the beach and a very nice dining room which we didn't use. However, we had drinks one night on the terrace which was part of the bar and they were very accommodating about serving us dinner there (yummy) when we asked.
One thing to mention which is important to us - they would not accept American Express. The only hotel in our trip to Italy that wouldn't.

Room Tip: I'd stay in the main hotel. We upgraded to the tiny balcony. Not really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We arrived at this hotel, having booked a "comfort double sea view" room at 330 E per night for 2 nights in June. We confirmed our booking by phone one day in advance. When we arrived we were shown to our room #27 which was located at the far end of the hotel, The view was partially blocked by a large air conditioner enclosure on the roof of the building in front of our room, thus obscuring half of the sea view. We asked for a different room but they told us they had none unless we paid 100 E more. After over an half hour of heated discussions with the manager, we threatened to leave and write a review on TripAdvisor. At that point the manager offered us a sea view suite #33 at no additional charge. The room was lovely and had a sea view as we requested. We felt that the manager handled the situation very poorly and we now have a negative feeling about this hotel. Aside from the drama, the staff was excellent and the breakfast buffet overlooking the sea was fantastic. The hotel is located as close to the sand as is possible in Positano, just beware of room #27.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucadibacco, Owner at Hotel Buca di Bacco, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
A DISAPPOINTING REVIEW:

I have never read a review where the Guest is writing for having threatened the Hotel Management, in fact this is what he is writing in this review! This Guest threatened us to go away from the hotel and to leave a terrible review on TripAdvisor if his claiming for a change with another room should not have been granted by the hotel, I think this is not fair and it is a very bad message to all the TripAdvisor world of users. In any case we are people of good will and we always try to make happy each one of our Guests. The only problem with the room was due to the view partially obstructed by a water tank (not air conditioning) enclosure on the roof of a house in front of our hotel, 3 pictures of Room 27 and its view are available on T.A. at : Traveler photos & > Management Photos. Unfortunately at that time the hotel was very busy and no other Comfort Room was available for a change with another point of view. We first offered a discounted upgrade but it was promptly refused, it was at that point, while I was thinking to offer a free upgrade that I was threatened by the Guest. No matter for it and I anyway offered him the only room available in the hotel, an Executive Room for free!
There after I was expecting a little sign like a smile or thank you but ......... , o.k. never mind! Maybe the Guest was absent-minded for some other reason.
Today, I am very sorry to see that he is still cultivating his bad feeling against the hotel and me, I was never expecting to receive 5 months later his departure such a kind of disappointing review.
In the end, to cut a long story short, the sadness is to realize that "thank you" still seems to be a very hard word to be pronounced on this world!
Thank you,
Salvatore Rispoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Address: Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buca di Bacco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.