We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I thought” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buca di Bacco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Buca di Bacco to your Saves list
Hotel Buca di Bacco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
buffalo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not what I thought”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a nice, but not great room. Smallish with a small terrace - 2 chairs + table. In the room - only one comfortable chair. We took an elevator in the main hotel to an upper floor and transferred to another elevator to get to our room. This is not mentioned on websites or I probably would have chosen another hotel or specified the main hotel. A nice view was over a very busy beach and looked sideways over Positano. They had a fantastic breakfast on a terrace overlooking the beach and a very nice dining room which we didn't use. However, we had drinks one night on the terrace which was part of the bar and they were very accommodating about serving us dinner there (yummy) when we asked.
One thing to mention which is important to us - they would not accept American Express. The only hotel in our trip to Italy that wouldn't.

Room Tip: I'd stay in the main hotel. We upgraded to the tiny balcony. Not really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    129
    19
    8
    1
See reviews for
140
586
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We arrived at this hotel, having booked a "comfort double sea view" room at 330 E per night for 2 nights in June. We confirmed our booking by phone one day in advance. When we arrived we were shown to our room #27 which was located at the far end of the hotel, The view was partially blocked by a large air conditioner enclosure on the roof of the building in front of our room, thus obscuring half of the sea view. We asked for a different room but they told us they had none unless we paid 100 E more. After over an half hour of heated discussions with the manager, we threatened to leave and write a review on TripAdvisor. At that point the manager offered us a sea view suite #33 at no additional charge. The room was lovely and had a sea view as we requested. We felt that the manager handled the situation very poorly and we now have a negative feeling about this hotel. Aside from the drama, the staff was excellent and the breakfast buffet overlooking the sea was fantastic. The hotel is located as close to the sand as is possible in Positano, just beware of room #27.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucadibacco, Owner at Hotel Buca di Bacco, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
A DISAPPOINTING REVIEW:

I have never read a review where the Guest is writing for having threatened the Hotel Management, in fact this is what he is writing in this review! This Guest threatened us to go away from the hotel and to leave a terrible review on TripAdvisor if his claiming for a change with another room should not have been granted by the hotel, I think this is not fair and it is a very bad message to all the TripAdvisor world of users. In any case we are people of good will and we always try to make happy each one of our Guests. The only problem with the room was due to the view partially obstructed by a water tank (not air conditioning) enclosure on the roof of a house in front of our hotel, 3 pictures of Room 27 and its view are available on T.A. at : Traveler photos & > Management Photos. Unfortunately at that time the hotel was very busy and no other Comfort Room was available for a change with another point of view. We first offered a discounted upgrade but it was promptly refused, it was at that point, while I was thinking to offer a free upgrade that I was threatened by the Guest. No matter for it and I anyway offered him the only room available in the hotel, an Executive Room for free!
There after I was expecting a little sign like a smile or thank you but ......... , o.k. never mind! Maybe the Guest was absent-minded for some other reason.
Today, I am very sorry to see that he is still cultivating his bad feeling against the hotel and me, I was never expecting to receive 5 months later his departure such a kind of disappointing review.
In the end, to cut a long story short, the sadness is to realize that "thank you" still seems to be a very hard word to be pronounced on this world!
Thank you,
Salvatore Rispoli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

no doubt that Buca di Bacco is the best hotel in Positano.
Best location than any hotel, staff super friendly. Rooms impeccably clean.
The restaurant served very good pasta and breakfast was great.
If I return to Positano will certainly stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: get a row with sea view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I recently had the privilege of staying with my daughter at the Buca di Bacco in Positano. Having been to the Amalfi coast twice before, I had an idea of how the hotels run and what kind of decor etc to expect. Not only did the Buca di Bacco meet this expectation, it greatly out weighed it.

From the moment we checked in until the moment we left, we were always shown the utmost respect and friendliness from EVERY staff member. Our room was immaculately clean and was decorated in rich but friendly furnishings. The linen was generous, the bathroom was large, the bed was comfortable, the view panoramic and the noise from other guests etc inaudible. Breakfast was a large array of fruits, cereals, small goods, italian cakes and crusty breads. Fresh juices and bottled waters were available and the coffee of a high standard.

All service throughout our stay was quick and delivered with a good attitude. My daughter and I felt, no request on our behalf was too much to ask, and unlike a lot of hotels around the world, it was refreshing to see that all staff members including cleaning staff and chefs, were local which added to the personal touch and feel.

I spoke to a few people about their jobs and job satisfaction and the response was always the same, they enjoyed working there.

A BIG, BIG thank you to all staff at Buca di Bacco for making our trip so memorable that we were reduced to tears on departure. We felt we were leaving family.

Thank you Luigi Capriglione for being such a good listener to our tales every evening at pre and post dinner drinks. I'm sure you've heard the same stories from many other people who frequent your hotel and do the same tourist things we did however, you made us feel we were the first ones.

Future Buca di Bacco patrons, don't stay anywhere else when in Positano. We won't!!!

Room Tip: If you want an unforgettable view ask for the Terrace room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this lovely hotel. We stayed in a deluxe room with large terrace. It was perfect in every way. Great location, staff was super friendly and helpful. Rooms were impeccably clean. Amazing views and loved the decor. Our room looked like it had recently been re-done. Loved the bright colors. The patio was a great size and the view was incredible. The daily breakfast was very, very good. Breakfast staff were great as well. Loved the fresh OJ machine. It was quite entertaining and delish. Could not imagine staying anywhere else in Positano.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DELCO, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is just beautiful! We decided to get a room without a seaview which was just fine. Our room had a nice bathroom with a garden tub, shower, and double sink. Each morning, we were able to eat breakfast at a table for two on the balcony just off of the breakfast buffet that had a lovely view of Capri. I had at least two cups of capuccino both mornings which were served by pleasant and attentive staff. Since we were only staying for two nights, we ate at the hotel restaurant (yum!) and attended the wonderful cooking class (fun!) for our next dinner. I really wished that I had booked this hotel for 3+ nights. It was very relaxing in Positano and warm in October. This is a great place to get gifts at the end of your trip to Italy.

I must mention that the staff went above and beyond the call of duty for us. We left something behind in our room. We were notified before we even realized our oversight and they arranged to have it sent to our hotel in Rome. It arrived safe and sound before we departed to go back home. Bravo for exceptional service at this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This may be the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms are large and luxurious. The superior ocean view room is slightly expensive, but TOTALLY worth it. We were in room #45 (rooms #43, #44, #45, #46 are all the same) and had a large patio with a table, 2 chairs, and 2 lounge chairs. We would sit outside every morning and night watching the sunrise and set. Pictures don't do justice for the views you will experience. We spent a lot of time in the room and only the balcony, since this was the last part of our vacation and we just wanted to relax. The included breakfast buffet is great. The staff are friendly. The location is perfect, right on the beach and near all the shops/restaurants. We will be back again!

Room Tip: Rooms #43, 44, 45, 46 have the best views and the full patio to sit/lay on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#2 of 40 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 676 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 40 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#1 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#14 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
Positano Art Hotel Pasitea
#24 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 759 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#3 of 40 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Address: Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
#6 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buca di Bacco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.