We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buca di Bacco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Buca di Bacco to your Saves list
Hotel Buca di Bacco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this lovely hotel. We stayed in a deluxe room with large terrace. It was perfect in every way. Great location, staff was super friendly and helpful. Rooms were impeccably clean. Amazing views and loved the decor. Our room looked like it had recently been re-done. Loved the bright colors. The patio was a great size and the view was incredible. The daily breakfast was very, very good. Breakfast staff were great as well. Loved the fresh OJ machine. It was quite entertaining and delish. Could not imagine staying anywhere else in Positano.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    693
    111
    16
    8
    0
See reviews for
124
514
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DELCO, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is just beautiful! We decided to get a room without a seaview which was just fine. Our room had a nice bathroom with a garden tub, shower, and double sink. Each morning, we were able to eat breakfast at a table for two on the balcony just off of the breakfast buffet that had a lovely view of Capri. I had at least two cups of capuccino both mornings which were served by pleasant and attentive staff. Since we were only staying for two nights, we ate at the hotel restaurant (yum!) and attended the wonderful cooking class (fun!) for our next dinner. I really wished that I had booked this hotel for 3+ nights. It was very relaxing in Positano and warm in October. This is a great place to get gifts at the end of your trip to Italy.

I must mention that the staff went above and beyond the call of duty for us. We left something behind in our room. We were notified before we even realized our oversight and they arranged to have it sent to our hotel in Rome. It arrived safe and sound before we departed to go back home. Bravo for exceptional service at this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This may be the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms are large and luxurious. The superior ocean view room is slightly expensive, but TOTALLY worth it. We were in room #45 (rooms #43, #44, #45, #46 are all the same) and had a large patio with a table, 2 chairs, and 2 lounge chairs. We would sit outside every morning and night watching the sunrise and set. Pictures don't do justice for the views you will experience. We spent a lot of time in the room and only the balcony, since this was the last part of our vacation and we just wanted to relax. The included breakfast buffet is great. The staff are friendly. The location is perfect, right on the beach and near all the shops/restaurants. We will be back again!

Room Tip: Rooms #43, 44, 45, 46 have the best views and the full patio to sit/lay on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

All the reviews on this hotel are right! Our room was well decorated and very clean. The staff were very helpful arranging transportation, day trips and making dinner reservations. We were choosing between this hotel and The Sirenuse. Save your money and stay here. The views are the same and you can stay in a suite for less than you can stay in a regular room at The Sirenuse. If you want more bang for your buck, stay here, you won't regret it. My only caution: you do have to climb steps, no big deal if you are in decent shape. Not good if you are elderly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We booked this hotel for an anniversary trip to Italy. We stayed here 5 nights (superior ocean view room) and were extremely impressed with every part of this hotel. It is rather expensive (350 euros/night) but the place is the whole package. The view from the room and balcony is stunning. The room was fairly large and included a couch and sitting area along with a nice balcony with tables, chairs, and lounges. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast, which was included and it was served as a buffet on the hotel terrace which overlooks the beach, was excellent. The staff was helpful with everything. They even arranged a private car to bring us from the Naples airport as well as a return car and train tickets from Naples to Rome. We'll be back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I had a lovely time at this hotel. I was very happy with my room and view after upgrading to a superior room. It was worth the extra fees. The central location on the beach was fabulous. The only complaint I had was the climb up many layers of large steps to get to the hotel. Not for elderly or out of shape travelers!!!

Room Tip: Superior room with balcony is at least a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here at the end of our 10 Italy vacation. The view from our room with balcony overlooking the beach was wonderful. We kept taking photos as the view was great. Morning buffet was good as well with many selections especially homemade pastries and fresh mozzarella. Room was large compare to other hotels we had stayed. Restaurants, shopping, quaint church, beach is all there. Be prepared to do some walking to get to the hotel and porters will come and get your bags. Also be prepared to stay close to the hotel as traveling is not the easiest as road to and from hotel is daunting.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Address: Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buca di Bacco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.