We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at Hotel Buca di Bacco helped make Positano a memorable trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buca di Bacco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Buca di Bacco to your Saves list
Hotel Buca di Bacco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Greenfield, Indiana, United States
1 review
“Staying at Hotel Buca di Bacco helped make Positano a memorable trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I had a lovely time at this hotel. I was very happy with my room and view after upgrading to a superior room. It was worth the extra fees. The central location on the beach was fabulous. The only complaint I had was the climb up many layers of large steps to get to the hotel. Not for elderly or out of shape travelers!!!

Room Tip: Superior room with balcony is at least a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    113
    17
    8
    0
See reviews for
126
536
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here at the end of our 10 Italy vacation. The view from our room with balcony overlooking the beach was wonderful. We kept taking photos as the view was great. Morning buffet was good as well with many selections especially homemade pastries and fresh mozzarella. Room was large compare to other hotels we had stayed. Restaurants, shopping, quaint church, beach is all there. Be prepared to do some walking to get to the hotel and porters will come and get your bags. Also be prepared to stay close to the hotel as traveling is not the easiest as road to and from hotel is daunting.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and I had stopped one day in Positano while we were on a Med. cruise a few years ago and we vowed we would come back some day. So, our chance came up to add a few days of R&R after a 10 ten tour of Sorrento and Amalfi. It was brilliant!!! Read the other reviews to hear about the walk up and down the hill, this report is all about the hotel. First the hotel is immaculate, even with a down-pour outside they kept it clean as a whistle. The front desk staff was wonderful, they even upgraded our room for the first night because we had to wait a bit. Our first room was right out of an Italian movie: sky high ceilings, lovely tile floors, a marble bathroom with EVERY thing you would ever want, and water pressure galore! The patio doors opened onto a deck that could handle a 20 person party, and it was surrounded by bougainvillea for privacy. When they told us the next day we were to be moved to our regular room I thought "oh well at least we got one night in a great room"...boy was I wrong. Our next room (they did all the moving for us very nicely), was even better than the first. To enter our second room you had to walk through the front garden area which was enchanting!Through the garden and up two steps, your welcomed by two large green shutter doors that is actually the entrance to your room. We even had a bride taking pictures here one day. This room mimicked the first in its impeccable decor, high ceilings, amazing bathroom, and ocean views. Truthfully I thought this room had more charm than the first. Admittedly I review a lot but I hardly ever gush...I'm gushing now!!! The next time we are in Positano (which will happen), you can find me right here, just look for the girl with a big smile and a glass of wine in hand.

Room Tip: Ocean view as as good (if not better) than ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed (2 couples) for 3 nights recently. The rooms, views, food, and service were wonderful. Only 5 minute walk to boat to Capri. Like others have said going down to hotel (it is at sea level) thru the village shops was fun but the walk up was a struggle. Like others said let porters take luggage up to top where cabs, etc. will meet you.

Room Tip: Ask for superior rooms on 4th floor. Balcony has room for table, 2 chairs and 2 deck chairs. Incre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

They're not bad referees for a resume. They all stayed here and Steinbeck's response to the Nobel congratulatory note from the owners of the Buca at the time says, "I'd rather be sitting in front of the Buca. That would be better than a prize." High praise indeed but still well deserved. Welcoming, friendly, excellent restaurant and a great breakfast on the most beautiful balcony, clean, well apportioned and fitted rooms - I could go on. I need to add - a bit on the high side for price but we knew what we were getting in to.

Room Tip: The lift is a little slow so ask for Level 1 or 2 so you only need to use one lift, not two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our honeymoon stay at Buca di Bacco was perfect from start to finish. When you arrive someone from the hotel meets you to take your luggage since there are no cars allowed in that part of the town. The staff was english speaking and very courteous. They allowed us to check in early which was very helpful. Our room was accessible by elevator and had it's own outside terrace. Inside there was a spacious room with plenty of storage for luggage so you could unpack and feel at home. There was a writing desk, a television, a queen sized bed, and a very spacious bathroom with a large bathtub and plenty of toiletries. Beach towels were also provided in case you wanted to go to the beach which was directly below the hotel, just a few steps away. The restaurant was amazing, and there is also a bar where you can purchase gelato, alcoholic beverages, and soft drinks or water. There is a fragrance diffuser in the hallway of the hotel, and the scent is called "Mellograno" - it smelled amazing and we even bought our own smaller version to take home, so now our bathroom smells like Buca di Bacco :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

So many places to choose from in positano, but this has to be one of the best, nice service, right on the beach, well situated and good, clean rooms! No hesitation recommending this hotel! You won't be disappointed

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Address: Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buca di Bacco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.