We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hemingway, Steinbeck and Yehudi Menuhin Got It Right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buca di Bacco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Buca di Bacco to your Saves list
Hotel Buca di Bacco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hemingway, Steinbeck and Yehudi Menuhin Got It Right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

They're not bad referees for a resume. They all stayed here and Steinbeck's response to the Nobel congratulatory note from the owners of the Buca at the time says, "I'd rather be sitting in front of the Buca. That would be better than a prize." High praise indeed but still well deserved. Welcoming, friendly, excellent restaurant and a great breakfast on the most beautiful balcony, clean, well apportioned and fitted rooms - I could go on. I need to add - a bit on the high side for price but we knew what we were getting in to.

Room Tip: The lift is a little slow so ask for Level 1 or 2 so you only need to use one lift, not two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    111
    16
    8
    0
See reviews for
123
513
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayville, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our honeymoon stay at Buca di Bacco was perfect from start to finish. When you arrive someone from the hotel meets you to take your luggage since there are no cars allowed in that part of the town. The staff was english speaking and very courteous. They allowed us to check in early which was very helpful. Our room was accessible by elevator and had it's own outside terrace. Inside there was a spacious room with plenty of storage for luggage so you could unpack and feel at home. There was a writing desk, a television, a queen sized bed, and a very spacious bathroom with a large bathtub and plenty of toiletries. Beach towels were also provided in case you wanted to go to the beach which was directly below the hotel, just a few steps away. The restaurant was amazing, and there is also a bar where you can purchase gelato, alcoholic beverages, and soft drinks or water. There is a fragrance diffuser in the hallway of the hotel, and the scent is called "Mellograno" - it smelled amazing and we even bought our own smaller version to take home, so now our bathroom smells like Buca di Bacco :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

So many places to choose from in positano, but this has to be one of the best, nice service, right on the beach, well situated and good, clean rooms! No hesitation recommending this hotel! You won't be disappointed

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is simply marvelous! We had an executive room with a view to die for! A huge room and an extremely large balcony overlooking the ocean and town. After traveling around Italy, once we hit Positano we decided to cancel sight-seeing (except for one little excursion along the coast line) and just relax and enjoy the hotel/view/town. Lots of excellent restaurants, including the one at the hotel. Would love to return one day. One word of caution, you cannot take a car down to the hotel. We had a car and driver driving us from Naples train station and he dropped us off and we walked down to the hotel, while a porter delivered our luggage.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Excellent staff, great location & nice rooms. We would recommend that you take a room on the third floor, if the people above you are heavy footed or drag furniture it will disturb you but it's a minor inconvenience. We would come back any time.
Park at the Migliaccio garage at Hotel Palazzo as this the closest parking for a rental car ($25 E/day) and you will be doing lots of stairs with your luggage.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

First off, the location is unbeatable. Right on the beach, a 2 minute walk to the ferry port and next to all the restaurants and shops. Even if the hotel was not good, I'd recommend it for the location alone. But the hotel IS good, very good. Service is excellent, everyone is very helpful and friendly. Everyone from the reception staff to the maids and handymen all have a greeting and a smile for you. The room (we had a classic double, I think its the most basic room and least expensive room they have) and it was fabulous. It was spacious, nicely decorated, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was large as was the "small" (their words) terrace with a fabulous view. We didn't eat at the restaurant but did have drinks at the Terrace Bar which was a lot of fun. If you go to Positano, you have to stay here!

Room Tip: Not sure there's a bad room in the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have just stayed at Buca di Bacco for 8 nights and absolutely loved it. Our room was an executive room with lounge area and terrace and well worth the money spent. Our son stayed in a double with a view and was very happy too (although he was able to come and spend time with us which gave him privacy and space!). The hotel staff are very obliging and helpful. They recommended a restaurant and car service for a trip to Amalfi and Ravello and we had a wonderful day topped off by a very special meal at Villa Maria in Ravello. The views from our terrace were superb and the hotel is in the best position to take advantage of the beach, the better beachside restaurants and all boat trips. Pay the extra to get a porter to deliver your bags. We would highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Room 36 is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Address: Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buca di Bacco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.