We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, staff & room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buca di Bacco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Buca di Bacco to your Saves list
Hotel Buca di Bacco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, staff & room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location right by the beach which is center of activity. Many activities and restaurants nearby. Staff is very pleasant, friendly, and helpful. About a 10 minute walk from where bus or car service has to drop you off. If your luggage is heavy suggest you use porter from/ to drop off. (Uphill when leaving hotel).

We choose room with balcony with table and chairs. Room was spacious, well decorated, and balcony was great place for an evening bottle of wine.

Overall, a really fine hotel and a wonderful experience.


Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    120
    18
    8
    0
See reviews for
129
559
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My wife, adult son, and I stayed here in late August 2013. We booked a "superior" room which was described as having a small balcony. The room was lovely, with a king bed and a pull-out twin from a sofa. The balcony overlooked the beach and sea, and was quite a good size, with a table, two chairs, and two more folding chairs. In fact, it was so spacious that our son took his mattress onto the balcony and slept there every night. The rooms are very well appointed and exceptionally clean. The staff was great - very helpful, polite, cheerful, and anxious to please. The hotel serves an excellent breakfast in the terrace bar and has a very good restaurant down below.
Buca di Bacco does not have a private beach - the public beach is 12.50 euros each for a deck chair and umbrella. Or you can go to the no-chairs area and lie on your beach towel for free. We didn't do this, as the beach is more gravel than sand. The boat to Capri and other towns along the coast leaves from the pier about 100 meters from the hotel. The hotel's position right on the beach at the bottom of the mountain makes it the most convenient place to stay in Positano. As we wandered around the town, we saw many other hotels and inns, but only one with a comparable location. You are only steps away from all the shops and restaurants that line the beach, as well as the historic church. This convenience, the graciousness of the staff, and the size, furnishings, and cleanliness of the rooms make this a 5-star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a lovely hotel based by the small beach with fantastic views of the sea. We had a large twin room with a balcony with sunloungers, table and chairs. The room was beautiful, with a tiled floor, large en-suite shower room and plenty of storage space. The maid service was good and included a turn-down service in the evening including additional towel replacement if required. The majority of the staff were very helpful and welcoming and always greeted us with a smile.

Breakfast was buffet style with a good choice though I was surprised that the cooked option didn't include freshly cooked eggs. There was pre-prepared scrambled egg which tended to be over-cooked and rubbery, not really a problem, just not the standard I would expect from a hotel of this calibre. The breakfast balcony was lovely and enjoying the fabulous view over coffee each morning certainly made up for any niggles about the scrambled egg.

Positanio itself is very small but has plenty of restaurants and tourist-style shops. The hotel is extremely well located, a short walk up the hill for taxis, shops etc.or nip downhill to the beach to catch one of the numerous ferries.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here on a two week trip through Rome, Positano, and then Capri. This was the least expensive place we stayed because we wanted to spoil ourselves in Capri, but it turns out that this little gem was the absolute highlight of our trip. The genuine graciousness shown towards the guests at this breezy, simple, yet perfect little haven on the beach made for such an easy and effortless experience, we can't say enough wonderful things... view... food... kind people. It was one of the most enjoyable places I have stayed. I recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Six of us recently stayed at Hotel Buca di Bacco in Positano, can't praise it enough. The staff were wonderful the hotels position even better.
If you choose to stay here you won't be disappointed on any level.
Would go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a Juliette balcony on second floor overlooking Positano beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We traveled to Italy for our honeymoon and of all of the hotels we stayed at, Buca di Bacco was our favorite. Our only disappointed is that we only stayed two nights. We had a room on the fifth floor with a small balcony overlooking the beach and town of Positano. The view is indescribably beautiful. The room itself was large and comfortable, with lots of storage. The hotel staff is excellent. In fact, the morning of our last day in Positano we took a boat out and needed to leave our luggage at the hotel until past check out time. The staff not only allowed us to leave our luggage, they also provided us with towels and a bathroom to shower in and change when we returned to the hotel that afternoon. Now that's service! Don't hesitate to book your stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is without a doubt the place to stay in Positano. It's on the beach, and very well located. Rooms are very nice and comfortable with all the amenities you would expect from a 4 star hotel. We had a room with a balcony with a view that was breath taking. Service throughout the hotel was impeccable. Food for lunch and dinner was very good, but the breakfast was outstanding.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Address: Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buca di Bacco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.