We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buca di Bacco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Buca di Bacco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Buca di Bacco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 41 hotels in Positano
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Six of us recently stayed at Hotel Buca di Bacco in Positano, can't praise it enough. The staff were wonderful the hotels position even better.
If you choose to stay here you won't be disappointed on any level.
Would go back tomorrow!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a Juliette balcony on second floor overlooking Positano beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    632
    95
    14
    8
    0
See reviews for
115
462
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We traveled to Italy for our honeymoon and of all of the hotels we stayed at, Buca di Bacco was our favorite. Our only disappointed is that we only stayed two nights. We had a room on the fifth floor with a small balcony overlooking the beach and town of Positano. The view is indescribably beautiful. The room itself was large and comfortable, with lots of storage. The hotel staff is excellent. In fact, the morning of our last day in Positano we took a boat out and needed to leave our luggage at the hotel until past check out time. The staff not only allowed us to leave our luggage, they also provided us with towels and a bathroom to shower in and change when we returned to the hotel that afternoon. Now that's service! Don't hesitate to book your stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is without a doubt the place to stay in Positano. It's on the beach, and very well located. Rooms are very nice and comfortable with all the amenities you would expect from a 4 star hotel. We had a room with a balcony with a view that was breath taking. Service throughout the hotel was impeccable. Food for lunch and dinner was very good, but the breakfast was outstanding.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My friends and I had a wonderful stay at Hotel Buca di Bacco. The management was very friendly and accommodating. They were eager to make their guests happy, so were the staff who worked at the front desk and the restaurant. Location is great (with beach Spiagga infront of it). The breakfast has room to improve however. Canned peach is not going to cut it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I write this as I look down onto the beach and up towards the hillside of Positano. There is absolutely nothing we can fault with this hotel, except we need to stay longer. The staff are friendly and helpful at all times. Room are clean, spacious and well appointed. The service is excellent and all staff willingly answer all of your questions. Excellent value for money.
We did the cooking course while we were here and that is lots of fun too. If you choose to eat at the restaurant here you get a discount, but the staff are just as happy to make recommendations too.
I would not consider staying anywhere else in Positano.
Some do's...walk on the path of walk of the Gods, its the bestvway to experience the scenery and visit Pompeii. Give Capri and the Blue Grotto a miss as its very over rated.
There are some lovely shops...I overheard one guide saying there were over 200 shops for women! Sorry gentlemen. .

Room Tip: Don't drive. It's only for the fool hardy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I loved the hotel I booked after reading trip advisor. Great location and staff was great. This is a beach down so that is really what we did. Weather was great. We went to several different beach, you do pay. Many good food places. Get a room with a view, worth the money.

Room Tip: pay for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on the last leg of our honeymoon and the hotel did not disappoint. From the immaculate views of beautiful Positano to the spotless rooms, this place is worth every penny. Also, the people who work here, from Lorenzo at the front desk to Chantal and Salvatore at the scrumptious breakfast buffet, they were all amazing. We would come back to Bucca Di Bacco in a heartbeat. Grazie Mille! Xoxo

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Address: Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buca di Bacco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.