We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Hotel in Positano!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buca di Bacco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Buca di Bacco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Buca di Bacco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Positano
New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Perfect Hotel in Positano!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is fantastic! It is clean, the staff is hospitable and the location is perfect. The view from our room was breathtaking! The rooms were fresh and well decorated. The beds are comfortable and they give you extra pillows and blankets. The air conditioner worked great. Every night you receive fresh towels and a turn down service. The breakfast was one of the best we had in Italy. The hotel staff was helpful. It is difficult to carry bags to the hotel if you are coming in from the top of the town. They arrange carries to bring your luggage to and from the hotel. I would recommend carrying down and have the carriers bring them back up. It is a steep walk to the main road where you can meet your driver. The location is steps from the beach. It is close to all the shopping and restaurants. Everything about this hotel is perfect. I wish we spent our entire holiday here. I can not wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    667
    103
    14
    8
    1
See reviews for
120
489
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel was absolutely beautiful! Situated steps from the ocean, restaurants and shopping, it made it the perfect location to stay.

The room was perfect. The view was amazing. The décor was my favorite. The Italian ceramic tile floors in the bedroom and bathroom were just gorgeous!

I have to say, the breakfast buffet in the morning was the best I have had in Europe. It had a wide selection of food items and was open from 7 - 10 AM.
When we checked in we were greeted very kindly by the guest service agent who let us store our bags until our room was ready. They were very helpful during out stay. We received a complimentary drink ticket to use on the patio overlooking the ocean, it made for a perfect start to our evening out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We did Rome, Venice, Tuscany, Florence, Naples this past 2 weeks. We finalized our trip in Positano at the Buca di Bacco and what a grand finale. This place 'rocks'....the view, the location, the food, the service, the staff! I stay in hotels 175+ nights a year...vacation I don't skimp. Buca di Bacco was awesome....would come back again, probably will.

Room Tip: you need to use the porters to get your bags to your room. ha, crazy hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

With a long and tiring two weeks traveling across various cities in Italy, we finally arrived in Positano for a 3 night stay at Hotel Buca Di Bacco. Having dealt with Mario at the front desk from the onset was a pleasure as well as Massimiliano and all the other very generous and caring staff at the hotel. Our stay was exeptional from the moment we arrived at the hotel--from the greeting, to the food, to the wonderful presidential suite that was assigned to us by Mario. We stayed in Room 37--the largest of the suites in the hotel. This room was beyond stunning and equipped with all the luxuries one could ask for. To keep things short and to the point, we ate at the hotel restaurant three times where Chef Andrea Ruggiero prepared 5 star dishes that were exceptional to the taste buds and presented with 5-star elegance. Our stay also gave us the opportunity to cook with Chef Andrea for 120 euros which was worth every penny! Our server, Giovanni also made our experience top notch with his friendly persona and caring attitude towards guests. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Positano--you are sure to be exceptionally pleased.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Buca di Bacco for our honeymoon. I booked the hotel based on the Trip Advisor reviews. We couldn't have been more happy with our experience. The hotel is well kept, staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and the location was great. Would recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I liked the location better than I thought I would. Having read some reviews about all the steps before our stay I was thinking it was going to be bad. It did get a little noisy late at night on the weekend but than again you are on the beach. The staff was very nice and helpful. The breakfast was good typical continental style but the fresh squeezed orange juice was worth waking up for!! The rooms(we had two) were just okay nothing to write home about but the mini bar prices were awesome. The view was wonderful from all angles wish I was there now! I will say it was very hot when we were there in July and my two teenage son's were really wishing we had a hotel with a pool. The beach was not very inviting and you had to pay $15 euros to go the the beach that had chairs and umbrellas.

Room Tip: paid extra for a larger balcony would have more for even a larger one the hotel is very chopped up w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Hotel Buca di Bacco is in the perfect location in Positano and located right off Spiaggio Beach and the marina. The staff is lovely and very helpful with any request. The rooms are nice, perfectly decorated with an Italian beach vibe and have plenty of space with incredible views. Breakfast is top notch and it's nice to sit on the balcony overlooking the beach. The main restaurant as well as the one right on the beach have great traditional Italian food. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Address: Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buca di Bacco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.