We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buca di Bacco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Buca di Bacco to your Saves list
Hotel Buca di Bacco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Based on the other reviews of this hotel I don't think I need to say a whole lot more other than adding my two cents worth of "Awesome". The staff is fantastic, the rooms are fantastic, the location is fantastic, the views are fantastic,.........on and on.

You absolutely cannot go wrong with Hotel Buca di Bacco.

We took the train from Venice to Salerno and then rented a car and drove to Buca di Bacco. The roads might scare you at first but once you get used to the driving style it was well worth it. There is a parking garage at the top of the pedestrian area that you have to park at because you cannot drive up to Buca di Bacco. A porter will then take your bags to the room. I liked having a car because of the flexibility it offered to visit other areas without having to take a bus. Definitely hit Ravello and other surrounding towns. Rent a very small car because parking can be a little tricky. For sure hike the "path of the gods".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    112
    16
    8
    0
See reviews for
125
523
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Overall, this was a nice hotel. The location was amazing (right on the beach) and the room was nice although a bit small. The bathroom was very nice with a shower tub combo. The reason I won't give it 5 stars is 1. It's impossible to get to the first time and their website does nothing to mention it or help. If you are driving, you come into Positano and park at one of the parking garages nearby (the one with the gas station in front is ok, the next one is closer). Then a porter comes and takes your luggage to the hotel. The parking is $35E a day and the porter is $5 a bag. You give cash to the front desk of the hotel and they pay the porter and then they have their bellman bring the luggage to your room (you tip them too). 2. The front desk staff was nice but not amazing. One woman was even a little snippy when we arrived and said I should have known about the above as it was on some form on the site. 3. The restaurant was horrible. The waiter at the bar was great and recommended it and really pushed it as a great place to eat. It was not good and was very expensive. There are better and cheaper places around the corner. Positano was not my favorite place in Italy at all as it is super crowded with tourists but this place is a nice little haven. We got a superior room with an ocean view and it was worth it. One night we got pizza from a great place nearby and ate it on our patio. Lovely.

Room Tip: book a room with a sea view and do not eat at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We arrived at 1:10 in Naples, we had the hotel arrange a car to pick us up and drive us to Positano, the driver was polite and the drive interesting & informative, when we arrived a porter service took our bags to the hotel. We went to the front desk to check in, and they could not have been more helpful. we had questions and they took the time to answer them.We heard about a cooking class offered by the restaurant, and inquired if we could take it that afternoon, they immediately checked to see if it was full and they let us know right away that we would be able to go. We had lunch in the restaurant overlooking the sea, We both ordered mussels, they came quickly and were excellent, I asked for mine to be a little spicier, and we were not disappointed. We went to the class and were met by Carla who was the translator, she provided us with our aprons, recipe book and a few goodies, then she introduced us to the chef (Andrei) and his staff, there were a total of 8 people in our class, we started the class with a glass of Prosecco, (the glass was always filled during the class), we were going to learn to make 3 dishes and 1 dessert. When were were finished the class and the food was cooked, it was plated in front of us, and then we were led to the dining room, where we were served the food that we had prepared, with wine included. It was excellent, and no one was able to finish the portion served,(not for lack of trying!) We each received a diploma from the chef after our meal, have to say it was a blast.
My wife and I then went for a walk to look at the boutiques, people are very friendly, we retired to our room and decided to sit out on the balcony overlooking the sea, it was very relaxing, our room was clean, quiet and extremely comfortable, and that is just the first day!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The hotel is in an unbeatable location (great view) and staff is really, really nice and helpful. Room was clean, spacious and very comfortable. The hotel restaurant is good, especially if you get a table in the more exclusive upper terrace. I only wish the hotel had let us know that it is not reachable by car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

in every way ;)
Restaurant food is amazing
Staff are wonderfully attentive
Rent a scooter, if you're brave enough, and enjoy other towns along the coast as well as the windy road that takes you there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Recently we stayed for 5 nights at the Buca di Bacco Hotel and had an amazing time. The staff were so attentative and the service standards were well above what we expected. The views from our room which was recently renovated were fantastic, the breakfast excellent and restaurant meals and service standards were equal to the best we have had in Italy.
We could not recommend this hotel highly enough. If you are contemplating a trip to the Amalfi Coast we suggest you consider Positano and the Buca di Bacco Hotel.
Mike and Ruth Warrnambool Australia

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at Buca di Bacco for 2 nights at the end of a 10-day trip to the Amalfi / Sorrentine coast. We all thought it was a truly memorable place to stay - the service, the views, the welcome drink, the clean comfortable rooms, the spacious bathrooms, the option of air-con v sea breeze at night; the breakfasts - I could (obviously) go on and on. We even arrived the right way by boat, and could see the hotel on our approach, only a 2 minute walk from the quay to reception. The rooms were quiet at night, despite being right on the seafront. You really feel that you are at the heart of things without being part of the crowds.
I wish we had had the opportunity to stay longer, and when we return to this area we'll book to stay at this special establishment again. (Website doesn't do it credit.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Address: Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buca di Bacco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.