We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible views, incredible hotel, incredible town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buca di Bacco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Buca di Bacco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Buca di Bacco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 41 hotels in Positano
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Incredible views, incredible hotel, incredible town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice - once in 2006 with my family and more recently with my partner. It is absolutely breathtaking. The rooms are lovely but it is the views that are unmatched! Having breakfast on the balcony each morning, overlooking the beach, is an experience in and of itself. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. It is also the closest hotel to the beach, which is convenient considering the number of stairs in Positano. But don't let the stairs deter you - visiting the Amalfi Coast and particularly Positano is worth every step!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    625
    95
    14
    8
    0
See reviews for
114
456
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

When we checked into this jewel of a hotel the person that checked us in replied, "We were able to honor your wishes." (I had requested a room with a view) As soon as my husband and I got into the room, we pulled back the curtains to reveal a spacious balcony over looking the azure blue ocean sprinkled with boats along with the quaint hilltop houses and restaurants of Positano. Buca di Bacco is perfectly located on the beach near many fun shops and restaurants (remember the beach scene from "Under the Tuscan Sun"?). At night after an enjoyable dinner (their restaurant is good, but not the best in Positano), we would sit out on our romantic balcony and sip Limoncello while chatting with other guests sitting out on their balcony enjoying the surreal nighttime view. Everything from service to cleanliness to location would be 5 stars....would recommend making this your hotel of choice when visiting Positano!!

Room Tip: "Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Dominican Republic
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

It was perfect!!! The hotel, the little town, the beach!!! I wish to go back soon!!! The church!!! And the food!!! I can't find the words!!! Oh an the breakfast its very good!! My mother spend her honeymoon ther and she recommended to me. The night we arrived the hole town was celebreting something and there was fireworks and a concert that we were able to see and hear from the hole town.. Like i said, it was perfect!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a roon with balcon o the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. Ill start with the room...We stayed in a deluxe room with large terrace in August of 2012, to finish off a great honeymoon. The room and terrace were great. My only complaint was the air conditioning wasn't able to cool the room to my liking, but as an American I found that to be the case in every Italian hotel I stayed in so I guess I shouldn't of expected it to. Bathroom was nice and large, bed was very comfortable, room was clean with nice bells and whistles.

Lobby was nice. Small lobby with friendly staff. Breakfast was the best I encountered at an Italian hotel.

Most appealing part of this hotel in my opinion is location. Its a short, easy walk to beach area. Positano was the last 4 nights of a 2 week trip and we were looking to be lazy and eat gelatto on the beach, and this hotel has the best beach acces.

I highly recommend cooking class too. Instructor was a pro, food we feasted on was great, and of coarse they treated you like family. And if you like to drink wine while you cook, you wont go thirsty.

If and when I return to Positano, this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

As part of surprise 10th Anniversary Trip to Positano on the Amalfi Coast of Italy, with a brief stay in Paris just off the Champs-Elysées - I reserved a stay at the Hotel Buca di Bacco.

The hotel is very recommended. It sits in a great location, located right on Spiaggia Grande, just east and next to Positano's church Santa Maria Assunta. The rooms facing the Spiaggia have great views of the town the hills and the sea. It is quiet - with just a little of the (very pleasant) sounds of those on the beach and dining below - yet it sits right on beach and mere feet (steps) from several very nice restaurants.

We stayed in Room 10, with large, high ceiling room, with beds, sofa, chairs, windows in room and washroom for great breeze, and, best of all, a very large balcony with table, chairs, chaise lounges, and fantastic view mere feet above and from the beach – out across Spiaggia Grande… the balcony was very nice, and a great place to enjoy breakfast or a glass of wine in the evening. On that note, the breakfast provided each morning is outstanding, with great pastries, fruit, and meats & cheeses.

The hotel has a phenomenal staff - incl, particularly, Mario, Lorenzo, Roberta, Fiorella, Massimiliano, Chantal, Salvatore, Matteo, - and they helped make this a memorable and wonderful visit – they were uniformly helpful, friendly and professional.

Great boutique hotel, with a great staff, in an amazing location. Will return. Very reco’d.

See my trip list for a few ideas when staying in Positano at : "www.tripadvisor.com/GoListDetail-i34390-Positano_for_Two.html"

And, see our pics at "www.flickr.com/photos/daviddmoore/sets/72157629680287120/"

Room Tip: Room 10 is excellent - large, with high ceiling, nice bed, well furnished with very nice sofa, chair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This place deserves all the great reviews its got as it was amazing. The reception staff were so nice and upgraded us free of charge and presented us with a bottle of prosecco.


The breakfast was really good and offered so much, the hotel is in the prime spot for Positano and the restaurant was at a very high quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We went there on our honeymoon. The hotel could have charged triple what it did, and we still would go back. We had a beach-side balcony with a breathtaking view. The room was perfect. The town was perfect. The beach was perfect. In a word: perfect. The only complaint is that we did not stay longer.

Room Tip: Ask for top-floor room (I think it is rooms 10, 11 and 12) for a fantastic ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Address: Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buca di Bacco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.