We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Positano!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Buca di Bacco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Buca di Bacco to your Saves list
Hotel Buca di Bacco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Certificate of Excellence 2014
dallas, texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best in Positano!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just returned from Italy trip.... needless to say, Positano was a highlight and Buca Di Bacco was superb! Everything...and I mean Everything at Buca is perfect! The staff is super friendly... the location is the best... great views, great rooms, access to the beach and ferry close by... great breakfast buffet... all exceptional quality! They upgraded our room free for our 40th anniversary.
I cannot say enough good things about the place and the price was very fair for the quality.
Famous folks have stayed here since the 60's and I can see why. Stay here and you will not be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    112
    16
    8
    0
See reviews for
126
524
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Excellent hotel with great staff. Very friendly and helpful.. Great views of the water from the rooms. Highly recommended. Surrounded by good restaurants and wonderful town. You can take a bus or a cab to Amalfi or Ravello. Transportation to Capri can be found below the hotel or you can take a cab to Sorrento and catch a boat if necessary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed in Buca di Bacco and must say it was one of the greatest hotels we have stayed in... the front staff were amazing right from the time we checked in to the time we checked out. The room was clean and had a cute charm with the shutters, the tiles and the beautiful terrace looking out at the beach. I would not hesitate to stay here again and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Positano.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Hotel Buca di Bacco, is located in Positano Italy. Getting there is half the fun. After a very exciting drive from thr Naples train station you end up in this beautiful town built on the side of "Nowhere", streets are cobblestone and stairs, very narrow 8-10 feet wide, the cab drops you about 1/2 mile away from the hotel ,porter takes your bags to tyhe Hotel, you take a walk.
Hotel is breathtaking, fantastic ocean view, great restaurant, great bar, the room was the nicest of the 12 day trip, which included a 7 night cruise on the Adriatic. We had a lovely dinner overlooking the Med. The Hotel offerers free internet throughout, for your computer or you may use their's . Definitely a five Star property.

Room Tip: Choose a Double Standard Room with Seaview, it includes a beautiful breakfast with all the trimmings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

It's been over 2 weeks since I've returned from 3 nights in Positano with a group of 20 at the Hotel Buca di Bacco. My clients cannot stop talking about the warm welcome as Lorenzo and Mario greeted us after a long plane ride and transfer from Naples Airport. We stayed 3 nights and the staff always seemed to be ready to answer questions, give directions, suggest the best places to eat, etc. We were supposed to leave at 6am on Sunday for a drive to Rome for a cruise we were taking. Upon learning about the early hour we were departing, Lorenzo offered to have a "Breakfast and Coffee to Go" box made up for us to take at that early hour. As it turned out, we changed the time to 9am and the hot and cold buffet was fully stocked for us to enjoy prior to departure. It's the little things that matter and this wonderful hotel with great views of the sea, is over the top for being helpful......Also internet worked perfectly in our rooms.

Room Tip: Third Floor requires taking 2 elevators.....rooms on 2nd floor (23-25) had great beach views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My fiancee and I stayed at Hotel Buca di Bacco for seven nights in July, 2012. As we were getting married in Positano, we decided to treat ourself to a wonderful hotel and aren't we glad that we relied on the wonderful reviews of this establishment on Trip Advisor!

We stayed in a Deluxe Room with sea view and a large terrace. Besides being spotlessly clean, large and spacious - the room had the most spectacular view of the water! The hotel is in the best position and we absolutely loved sitting in the lounge chairs on our balcony and watching the beach goers and boats directly below. Despite the hotel's proximity to the beach, we experienced no noise at night from the restaurants nearby.

All of our wedding guests enjoyed many nights at the "American Bar" (complete with a beautiful terrace overlooking the ocean") and meals at the Buca di Bacco restaurant (the zucchini flowers are a must try!). Hats off to the wonderful restaurant staff who welcomed us and our guests most nights. Their service was excellent and we were sad to say goodbye to them.

The breakfast had an excellent assortment of western and local options (cereals / toasts / eggs / bacon / fresh fruit and juices / croissants and pastries). There is no fitness room or pool however you don't need it with the beach at your doorstep and we enjoyed a few runs along the beachfront.

The front desk staff were also excellent and nothing was too much trouble for any of them.

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel. Positano is expensive yes, but this hotel is worth the little bit extra you pay to stay there. The location is perfect, the staff are lovely and the rooms just outstanding.

Thank you Buca di Bacco - we will be back!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms with sea view and large balcony are simply out of this world!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Again, I can totally understand why this hotel is listed as #1 after spending three great days there. While we were disappointed that we didn't get Room #10 that we thought we had reserved, we stayed in Room #48. Although we didn't see the other room, the room we had was fantastic - huge patio, great views, fantastic shower with view. In fact the room was so wonderful that on our last evening, we ordered room service and ate on our patio. The food was very good as was the breakfast, which was served either on the patio or the dining room. Enjoyed our stay very much. Great staff and location. We have to thank our friends for their recommendation of the hotel - they have stayed there for the past 4 years!

Room Tip: Loved Room #48 - great 180 views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Buca di Bacco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Buca di Bacco

Address: Via Rampa Teglia, 4, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#3 Family Hotel in Positano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Buca di Bacco 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
. Hotel Buca di Bacco is located in the heart of Positano in prime sea front position on the beach of Marina Grande, it is the ideal spot to experience the magical atmosphere of the place. It is an historical Hotel and Restaurant and dates back approximately to the 1920, today it looks very different from how it did at the beginning of the century. The hotel, which owes its origins to the old tavern is constantly keeping up with the changing times, the classic and plain decor was designed to offer a comfortable and pleasant atmosphere, the rooms have a sea view with either a small balcony or terrace, or a little garden. Among our services, Cooking Classes are available in our Restaurant and offers the opportunity to learn our regional cooking style. Once inside the hotel, the welcoming ambience will allow you to relax and unwind as the eager yet courteous hotel staff aim to please even the most demanding of customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Buca di Bacco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buca Di Bacco Positano
Buca Di Bacco Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Buca di Bacco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.