We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 years on still great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marincanto to your Saves list
Hotel Marincanto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 40 Hotels in Positano
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“10 years on still great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We returned to the Marincanto for our 10 year aniversery, having stayed there on our honeymoon. The Hotel was just as we remembered only with the welcome addition of a pool, complete with pool attendant and resterant. Enjoyed many a glass of something cold whilst in the pool in the early evening! We had a great time, fab views, lovely wine and blue sea.

The only minor issue we had was the bed was a little short, the staff were great, offered us a choice of other rooms but we ended up staying put in our orginal room. We ended up joking with the staff - they said the bed was a standard Italian, my husband at 6'3" is not a standard Italian! It in no way affected our stay!

A special mention should be the breakfeast here - it is too die for. Every morning there was so much choice - cheeses, meats, eggs, tomatos, cereal, fruit, yougart and a whole table devoted to pastries and cake! Best breakfeast in any hotel I have ever stayed. We ate so well we only had lunch twice in the whole week we were there.

As others have said the staff are great, so helpful and friendly.

We love it here, best place in Positano.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    159
    28
    11
    8
See reviews for
116
615
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Hotel Marincanto completely exceeded our expectations. I couldn't have imagined a more friendly, welcoming (and English speaking!) staff. The room was very clean, the complimentary breakfast was so amazing that we would set our alarms to make sure we didn't sleep through it. Also, I have Celiac Disease so I can't tolerate any gluten. The staff was very responsive and remembered every meal without me even having to ask. The front desk staff happily helped with all of our requests for reservations for meals, day trips and excursions. Even when we were craving a certain meal within a certain distance with a certain dress code, the staff took time to consider our request...and then magically found the perfect restaurant (every time!)
The view was truly breathtaking: from the hotel room (we had the honeymoon suite- AMAZING) to the lobby to the sundeck where everyone sunbathes...and of course the infinity pool...each view was even better than the last.
The pool was pretty chilly but when you're sunbathing and drinking prosecco on the sundeck all day...a nice dip in the chilly pool was perfect (and we went in early June). It's great that there is a poolside food/drink menu available as well. The prices were reasonable and there's nothing better than eating Italian fare while lounging in a beach chair looking out onto the amazing ocean views.
There are two different options to get out sightseeing from the hotel: the beach (approximately 300 steps down...and up!!) or out the front where you can slowly wind down the sidewalks of Positano. The steps heading up from the beach are a haul...but the views and perfect location made it ALL worth it.
Overall, my husband and I agreed that this is the best vacation we have ever taken (and we have traveled a lot!) Positano is beautiful and Hotel Marincanto was exactly what we were hoping for- just do it ;)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Everything is beautiful in Positano, including hotel Marincanto. They lost our reservation, which was disappointing after the trek from Rome. They tried to sell us on a horrible jail cell of a room, but we complained. I mean, come on, this was our 10 year anniversary trip! So, for one night, they arranged a room for us at a near by hotel that we really enjoyed. They made transitioning seamless. The next day, back at Marincanto, we were given a room in the villa. We had stunning views from our balcony. Breakfast and coffee were yummy-we overindulged. The staff was helpful and we had a lot of questions. Had to find non beachy things to do as the weather was bad. Hiked, shopped, took a cooking class and drank a lot of Prosecco on our balcony. Easy beach access. If it wasn't for the one snafu this hotel would have been exceptional.

Room Tip: Pay up for a nicer room with a better balcony. We emailed to reconfirm reservation about a month bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

If visiting positano this is the place to be. Great location. Rooms are large, uniquely decorated, and have spectacular views. We were lucky enough to get a villa with a huge terrace overlooking the entire coast. Excellent staff. Front desk (Antonella) was very helpful in setting up reservations and transportation. Highly recommend it and I look forward to staying there again!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

So we had our wedding ceremony at Hotel Marincanto last weekend I can not say enough good things about the location, the beauty of this place and the staff. Antonella and her staff were so amazing and helpful. I was really nervous planning my wedding from the states basically blind, I had never been to the hotel or even Positano for that matter! Antonella answered all of my million emails and was so helpful in every way. The venue couldn't have been better. The terrace in my opinion is the best terrace in all of Positano and just has a presence about it with the way it hands over the ocean. The hotel rooms and the beauty of the exterior I think were better than Le Sirenuse which is 5x the price. Stay here you wont be disappointed! And if you are thinking of having your wedding here do it! You will be so happy.

Room Tip: junior suite is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Absolutely beautiful hotel in picturesque location! We spent four days of our honeymoon here and loved it- wish we had been able to spend longer here!

We ate at the restaurant for two of our nights and the food was delicious ! Having the option to have breakfast on the balcony of our room for no additional charge with the full selection of what was downstairs was divine!!

Enza, you made our stay incredible and sincere thanks for all your help with planning our little trips and your recommendations for Anacapri and the Pathway of the Gods! We loved it and will definitely be back one day!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I could have stayed in the room all week and watched the changing colors as they played out across the water, mountains and buildings of Positano. Also from the room you will see that there seems to be no end of boats of all sizes coming and going from Positano. But, there is so much more to this hotel than the view. The hotel staff were excellent. The breakfast was excellent and the servers made sure that our needs were met. The room was spacious which is surprising considering how valuable any space must be in Positano. Our bed was adequate, not the greatest, but OK.

The swimming pool was OK, good for a cooling dip, but not for any serious swimming. If you walk down the steps to the beach you reach a gate where you can buzz the desk and they will open the gate for you. The beach is covered with rounded stones which are hard on the feet. Suggest you bring water shoes for swimming. There is only a small area above and below the waterline where you can stand without footwear (depending on how hearty your feet are).

While at the Marincanto, take the Positano bus to the other side of town and walk back. Also, take the bus to Nocelle and walk along the path of the gods. You don't have to hike the whole path to have a wonderful experience. Any part of this path will leave you with a memorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Positano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Murat
Hotel Palazzo Murat
#2 of 40 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 679 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Sirenuse Hotel
Le Sirenuse Hotel
#6 of 40 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 648 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eden Roc
Hotel Eden Roc
#1 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albergo Punta Regina
Albergo Punta Regina
#3 of 40 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Buca di Bacco
Hotel Buca di Bacco
#7 of 40 in Positano
5.0 of 5 stars 934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Poseidon
Hotel Poseidon
#14 of 40 in Positano
4.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#9 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marincanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.