We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have stayed in the room all week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marincanto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marincanto to your Saves list
Hotel Marincanto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Positano
Sacramento, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Could have stayed in the room all week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I could have stayed in the room all week and watched the changing colors as they played out across the water, mountains and buildings of Positano. Also from the room you will see that there seems to be no end of boats of all sizes coming and going from Positano. But, there is so much more to this hotel than the view. The hotel staff were excellent. The breakfast was excellent and the servers made sure that our needs were met. The room was spacious which is surprising considering how valuable any space must be in Positano. Our bed was adequate, not the greatest, but OK.

The swimming pool was OK, good for a cooling dip, but not for any serious swimming. If you walk down the steps to the beach you reach a gate where you can buzz the desk and they will open the gate for you. The beach is covered with rounded stones which are hard on the feet. Suggest you bring water shoes for swimming. There is only a small area above and below the waterline where you can stand without footwear (depending on how hearty your feet are).

While at the Marincanto, take the Positano bus to the other side of town and walk back. Also, take the bus to Nocelle and walk along the path of the gods. You don't have to hike the whole path to have a wonderful experience. Any part of this path will leave you with a memorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    609
    135
    22
    11
    7
See reviews for
97
544
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stayed in August 2013 with our two boys aged 10 & 12 as part of a 7 week trip. We had always wanted to visit Positano and wanted a cliff location with amazing views and a pool for the boys. This hotel certainly didn't disappoint. The views and pool were amazing, picture postcard perfect! The staff were so attentive and we were very lucky to receive a room upgrade which we were so grateful for. We had dinner the hotel restaurant on the terrace which was lovely, again with amazing views. Breakfast was same on the same terrace and the range and quality was excellent. The hotel is within a easy walk of the main shops and the beach below. We would highly recommend Hotel Marincanto and we cant wait to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband and I had done a lot of research before finally settling on a hotel that seemed right for our honeymoon. We had backpacked all over Europe for a month before coming to Hotel Maricanto and wanted somewhere that would allow us to relax and enjoy the serenity in being married. This hotel did exactly that; from the moment we stepped into the hotel, to the very moment we left, we were treated with respect and felt special.

Staff:
We found that the staff went well out of their way to provide us with anything that we needed, from answering multiple questions that we had, to providing some suggestions of places to see, things to do, and where to eat. There was one member in particular, I apologize I do not remember his name, that lives in Positano and was able to provide us with some insider suggestions. Our first night there we were given a bottle of wine as a welcome gift and congratulations, with a wonderful hand written note. The staff also helped my husband pick out an amazing array of flowers for our date night and had them delivered to our bedroom secretly.

Honeymoon Suite:
Our honeymoon suite was perhaps the best bang for our buck. We are both students who just graduated from university and had spent the previous month being very tight on our spending. Therefore, to spend that sort of money on a room was something we were concerned about; but the view and the setting was breath taking. Our room was always up kept and made to look like a palace. It was just steps (down a private stairway) to the beach below and was quiet. The room came with our own pool, which overlooked the coast/beach and made for a wonderful way to relax at any moment. This along with the balcony, the comfy bed, couches, fridge, and the many other things I could continue with made for a spectacular stay. Look at the pictures, as I believe images speak better than words, and you will understand how stunning the stay is.

Breakfast:
The breakfast was complementary and excellent. Fresh fruit, pastries, meats, and just about anything you could want was available to you. You did have to pay extra for coffees but their coffee was also very excellent and I think worth it.

Thank you to Hotel Maricanto and the staff. You managed to make our love stronger and more true than ever imagined and we are thankful that we were able to stay with you during this time.

- Jade & Sam

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Even better than the pictures. The scenery and views are breathtaking, as well as the beauty of this hotel, inside and out, And most importantly, the room was immaculately clean :)
Staff was very pleasant, helpful, prompt and friendly. We loved our room so much that we cancelled our dinner reservations our last night and ordered room service that we enjoyed on the balcony. Our favorite, most memorable and romantic evening. You will love it too.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Li Galli suite. If you want to splurge on a room somewhere during your trip, it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Hotel Marincanto is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Absolutely unbeatable views and service. Was upgraded upon arrival and the room was well appointed and had a stunning jacuzzi and balcony with lovely views of the village. You could really sit there the whole day admiring the beauty of Positano. Breakfast was good and the hotel is a 10-15 mins walk to the main shopping street. Be prepared for a good workout in Positano. Plenty of stairs!!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We took the train from Naples to Sorrento and got lost along the way, had to change trains at Pompei station which delayed our arrival by 3 hours. Ouch! We were tired sweaty and not in the greatest mood. Arriving late afternoon at Hotel Marincanto we were warmly welcomed and checking in was fast and easy. Our room had white crisp linen on the bed and the most beautiful view and we were a couples of steps down from the beach. The balcony was awesome as we had one morning breakfast there and the staff brought the whole buffet breakfast to us. The view took my breath away and still to this day I just fall in love with this hotel whenever I look through our photographs. We had supper at Bruno's the first night which is just a couple of steps from Hotel Marincanto and might I ad that the fish, calamari and prawn combo was amazing. The second night we had supper at the Marincanto. Wow wow wow! The service was excellent. They had a pianist playing and it just added so much more to the overall experience, sitting on the terrace having this fabulous food overlooking the most beautiful view in the world. The hotel was nice and central and just a short walk from the main shopping street. The breakfast buffet had a nice variety. Also another plus is the pool, if you decide to spend the afternoon at the hotel, the pool has a nice area you can relax and also over looks the ocean. We had a lovely lunch alongside the pool and the service was very good, we even had a bottle of bubbly recommended by the pool waiter which did not disappoint. I will definitely be back and the only place I will stay in Positano is at Hotel Marincanto.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed three nights in Positano and before booking a room at Hotel Marincanto, I did my research on places to stay and Hotel Marincanto appeared to be a great fit for us. We were not disappointed. I booked our stay well in advance and booked a junior suite with a view of the city and the sea. When we arrived at Hotel Marincanto, we received a very warm welcome from Antonella. Antonella informed us that we were had been upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite. I, of course, was concerned that I would not have the view of both the city and the sea that I had been anticipating for so long. I was not disappointed. Room 254, the Honeymoon Suite as they called it, was indeed a beautiful room. Upon entry, there is a room with a minibar, couch and desk with a door to the terrace that stretches the length of the living room and the bedroom. In the bedroom is a king size bed, table and another desk area as well as a second door to the terrace area. The terrace had two loungers on the living room side and a table and two chairs on the bedroom side. The view to the sea is unobstructed. To the right is the beautiful view of the beach and the town of Positano. The bed was a real king sized bed and not the usual two twins pushed together. I am not sure whether it was particularly comfortable or whether I slept like a log from all of the walking and steps! There is also a large walk-in closet with a safe and robes. The bathroom is beautiful with a large walk-in shower and a good sized plunge pool with Jacuzzi jets. There is a large arched shaped window that opens a few inches and looks out at the sea. We could not have asked for more! The breakfast buffet is an assortment of cold cuts, bagels, hard boiled eggs, yogurts, juices, cheeses and other items and the ladies that served coffee were so friendly. There was also a gentlemen who appeared to take care of the pool area that was always friendly to us when we passed by. I never learned his name, but he would always acknowledge us and ask about our day. Both Enza and Antonella at the front desk were so welcoming and friendly. We wanted to go to Ravello one day and they gave us suggestions for the best way to do that. They also arranged our car from the train station in Naples. Hotel Marincanto is built into the hillside of Positano. When you enter at the street level, it is four elevator flights down to the lobby. From the lobby, it was approx. 120 steps down to our room and from our room, approximately another 167 steps down to the beach. With beauty comes a bit of effort! You will work off all those wonderful meals you will be eating in Italy. If you do not want to do the steps down to the beach, the road will take you there as well. It is a 10-12 minute walk. There are lots of little shops to distract you along the way. The Amalfi coast and most of Italy, from what I could see, is not accessible for those with walking disabilities. Positano is beautiful and The Hotel Marincanto was an excellent choice for our stay! My only regret is that we didn't stay longer! I hope some day we can return to Positano and to Hotel Marincanto.

Room Tip: Splurge! There are some rooms with very little view or an obstructed view. Spend the extra money a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marincanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marincanto

Address: Via Cristoforo Colombo 50, 84017 Positano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Positano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Positano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Positano
#9 Luxury Hotel in Positano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marincanto 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Marincanto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marincanto Hotel Positano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marincanto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.